Jump to content



Photo
Answered Go to the full post

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 13 January 2014 - 16:27

Hello,

We made a overclocked PC and now would like to have multiple users connect to it. Ive found a patch that could do it (Windows 7 Professional) but it seems to have the limitation that if (domain wise) Im logged into PC one with user "Domain\Bob" and I try to login to the overclocked one called "Domain\Bob" it kicks me off.

Is there any way to bypass this? Thank you

Best Answer +BudMan , 13 January 2014 - 16:42

"Ive found a patch that could do it"

That is not a "legal" way of allowing more than 1 account into desktop OS.

There is no "legal" way of having more than 1 active session using windows desktop resources like you can with a terminal server, or windows server has 2 admin sessions that can be logged in, etc.

If you need more than 1 person to remote desktop to a machine at the same time, then you need to run server OS. If more than 2 then you need to be licensed for terminal server services. Go to the full post



#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 13 January 2014 - 16:42   Best Answer

"Ive found a patch that could do it"

That is not a "legal" way of allowing more than 1 account into desktop OS.

There is no "legal" way of having more than 1 active session using windows desktop resources like you can with a terminal server, or windows server has 2 admin sessions that can be logged in, etc.

If you need more than 1 person to remote desktop to a machine at the same time, then you need to run server OS. If more than 2 then you need to be licensed for terminal server services.

#3 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 13 January 2014 - 16:44

Hello,

"Ive found a patch that could do it"

That is not a "legal" way of allowing more than 1 account into desktop OS.

Ouch. I didnt know that.
 

There is no "legal" way of having more than 1 active session using windows desktop resources like you can with a terminal server, or windows server has 2 admin sessions that can be logged in, etc.

If you need more than 1 person to remote desktop to a machine at the same time, then you need to run server OS. If more than 2 then you need to be licensed for terminal server services.

Sorry about that BudMan and thank you for clearing it up.

Mods, close the thread and I apoligize. I didnt know the patch was illegal, thought it was a Microsoft limitation. Reporting my own thread now...