Jump to content



Photo

Router Pro/Con


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#31 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 18 January 2014 - 17:50

Yup I agree that is a box -- in the back of a closet? Yeah not going to be the best place for a wireless AP/Router to provide coverage ;)
Yea it's tucked in there behind my clothing. with a metal plate covering it.... I dont' think they meant for wireless stuff to be put in there. 

Antennas all crossing over themselves next to cables and metal.. Where are all these 15 connections to other rooms?
"so in mine, I got ~15is cable heads and this coax "switch/spliter"
Yea 1 of each cable going to every room. multiple for common areas. they go out towards the top of the picture. 

Most of the cat cables are not going anywhere. There is a splitter there for coax, but I don't see any sort of multiple cat ports.. So that could run to 1 other port, or to a switch?

I would NEVER put my wireless router in there.. Lets not forget temp, some routers/ap can get warm.. Putting them in a closed up box not going to be best for what temps they run at, etc.

I was hoping to leave the door open and have it be fine. but I see your point. this may not be a great idea. 

So question for you.. Does internet come in on the coax and that under the splitter is your modem, or is coax just for say TV and the internet comes in on cat, and you are just plugging in a wireless router here. that's usually how most buildings in seattle are built. Cat3 for older buildings and cat5/e for new buildings. ISPs often use Ethernet and put their switches in the telco closets. 

Again I would not put any networking equipment in that box be it wireless or not. Its closed up, no air flow..




#32 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 18 January 2014 - 18:12

"Yea 1 of each cable going to every room. multiple for common areas. they go out towards the top of the picture. "

Really? Looks like to me those are just cables that don't terminate to anything

box1.png

See the ends of cat cables just there not going to anything (red boxes around them)

I see what looks like 3 coax going out the top.. But don't really see cat cables other than some ends not connected and 1 in and out of that center of the box (green box around it)

If you think those cat cables out the top (red arrow) go to other rooms in the house -- what are the ends terminated too that that provide ethernet connection (switch/hub). Looks like they are just loose cables to me. You can not just split a cat cable and provide multiple connections like you can with a coax connection your splitter there.

While you can run say cable TV into a splitter and then have a coax connection in multiple rooms in the house.. You can not really do that with ethernet. Your connection would have to go into a network switch, and then sure you could have multiple connections off it. I am not seeing that in this box anywhere to be honest.

Again - IMHO, I would not put any sort of networking equipment in there.. Is there power inside this box even? To plug in your wireless router? I am not seeing any sort of electrical connection inside that box.. Which if designed for equipment you would think would be in there?

#33 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 19 January 2014 - 00:50

"Yea 1 of each cable going to every room. multiple for common areas. they go out towards the top of the picture. "

Really? Looks like to me those are just cables that don't terminate to anything

You see that punch card on the bottom right? The cat5 are usually attached to that thing. I ripped them out and am in the process of putting on those little rj-45 tips on the cables. 

 

You are right about the network switch, I believe it's kind of a bring your own switch situation. (I am quite ignorant of what the punch card thing is). it used to be the "splitter?" but I was told that if I want wired internet in every room, I would need to put a router in there. 

 

Otherwise, I can't think of any way to fire up the other 3 plugs in the apartment. 

 

here is a picture of one of the rj-45 jacks in a public area. I believe that is #4. it does say Voice-4 so maybe that punch card is good for voice applications and I need something more sophisticated for internet? 

 

 

2zi4l7q.jpg



#34 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 19 January 2014 - 02:10

Yeah voice wouldn't use all 8 wires in the connection.. Phone is just 1 twisted pair..

So better check the other end of the jack on the wall - highly unlikely they wired the cable pairs if it was just voice.. And normally if it was "voice" they would of put a rj11 jack on the wall, ie phone not rj-45

Sure if they have cat cable running through your walls, then by all means I would take advantage of using it. But I would not really put the switch in a box in the wall that you close up ;)

#35 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 19 January 2014 - 06:35

Sure if they have cat cable running through your walls, then by all means I would take advantage of using it. But I would not really put the switch in a box in the wall that you close up ;)

They do have Cat5 running through my walls. My router is currently in a different room and the wiring is exactly the same. Those cables I stripped to put tips on have 4 twisted pairs so it's all good. 

 

If you don't recommend I put network equipment in the box, how else can I fire up the rest of the ports?



#36 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 19 January 2014 - 12:15

Putting a piece of electronics that produces heat, be it however so little into a sealed box with no airflow just does not seem like the best of choices to me ;) Can just not put that cover on the box? That would be better.

#37 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 19 January 2014 - 19:50

Putting a piece of electronics that produces heat, be it however so little into a sealed box with no airflow just does not seem like the best of choices to me ;) Can just not put that cover on the box? That would be better.

oh absolutely, that's exactly how I would do it. closet doors are sliding doors so they allow sufficient airflow and are never shut all the way anyways.