Jump to content



Photo

Problem with flash using FireFox

flash firefox

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 18 January 2014 - 00:30

When playing flash videos on FF, the video often freezes/locks FF and the program says Not Responding.  After a few seconds, things are fine.  I looked online and disabled hardware acceleration, disabled protected mode, reinstalled, and updated drivers.  Chrome and IE are fine.  I have pretty much the same setup at work other than I am using Win8.1 at work, Win7 at home.  No problems at work.  Have not tried reinstalling FF yet.  Was hoping to avoid that but will if needed.




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 18 January 2014 - 15:12

And what version of flash is being used - are they the same.. I show 12.0.0.43 as latest for firefox.

#3 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 19 January 2014 - 22:42

12 must of just came out.  I checked not to long ago and only 11 was available. I  updated and it seems to be better.  To early to tell but I will keep posted.



#4 Trap

Trap

    Trap

  • Joined: 20-January 14
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:13

I've had this same issue with firefox....

Firefox doesn't play well with flash :/

  • Try Another Browser (Waterfox, Palemoon, Google Chrome, Opera)

Pale Moon works well for me and can be found : http://www.palemoon.org



#5 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:22

I've had this same issue with firefox....

Firefox doesn't play well with flash :/

To be fair, does any browser play well flash at this point? I've had various performance issues with the built in pepper flash in Chrome over the last year  :laugh: Not enough to drop it mind you though.



#6 Trap

Trap

    Trap

  • Joined: 20-January 14
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 20 January 2014 - 07:39

To be fair, does any browser play well flash at this point? I've had various performance issues with the built in pepper flash in Chrome over the last year  :laugh: Not enough to drop it mind you though.

Anything else but firefox would work.....



#7 Starbuck84

Starbuck84

    Would You Kindly?

  • Joined: 26-June 07
  • Location: Breda, Netherlands

Posted 20 January 2014 - 08:08

Had the same issue. I solved it by copying "*.*" from "C:\windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\browser\plugins" and uninstall the flash plugin.

 

In the "C:\windows\syswow64\macromed\flash" directory, create a file named "mms.cfg". Open this file and add the following line to it:

 

"ProtectedMode=0" without the quotes.

 

This disables the Flash plugin container, which is bull anyway in my opinion, as Firefox already runs every plugin in its own container. I know security is important, but running a plugin container within a plugin container...

 

You could always set the Flash plugin to "ask" before it's loaded / enabled. (So called "click to enable" -feature).

Open Firefox, click the "Firefox" button -> add-ons -> plugins. On the Flash plugin choose "ask to activate".

 

Solved all crazy slowdowns, sound stutters and everything for me.



#8 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 22 January 2014 - 02:40

And what version of flash is being used - are they the same.. I show 12.0.0.43 as latest for firefox.

 

Still had issues after ugrading to 12.  Not as many issues, but there were still lock ups when playing flash vids.  So I ininstalled FF, Flash, and all my addons/references and started from scratch.  Just watched a 18min flash vid and no issues.  So I think it was a combo of FF and F that was causing the problem.  Something got borked along the way.  FF seems to be running better as well.

 

I've had this same issue with firefox....

Firefox doesn't play well with flash :/

  • Try Another Browser (Waterfox, Palemoon, Google Chrome, Opera)

Pale Moon works well for me and can be found : http://www.palemoon.org

 

IE and Chrome worked fine. 

 

Had the same issue. I solved it by copying "*.*" from "C:\windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\browser\plugins" and uninstall the flash plugin.

 

In the "C:\windows\syswow64\macromed\flash" directory, create a file named "mms.cfg". Open this file and add the following line to it:

 

"ProtectedMode=0" without the quotes.

 

This disables the Flash plugin container, which is bull anyway in my opinion, as Firefox already runs every plugin in its own container. I know security is important, but running a plugin container within a plugin container...

 

You could always set the Flash plugin to "ask" before it's loaded / enabled. (So called "click to enable" -feature).

Open Firefox, click the "Firefox" button -> add-ons -> plugins. On the Flash plugin choose "ask to activate".

 

Solved all crazy slowdowns, sound stutters and everything for me.

 

Had already tried that.  That didnt work for me.



#9 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 22 January 2014 - 02:48

Still had issues after ugrading to 12.  Not as many issues, but there were still lock ups when playing flash vids.  So I ininstalled FF, Flash, and all my addons/references and started from scratch.  Just watched a 18min flash vid and no issues.  So I think it was a combo of FF and F that was causing the problem.  Something got borked along the way.  FF seems to be running better as well.

It's never simple with flash is it? You'd think by this point flash would be working in all browsers consistently. It's been almost a decade since adobe acquired it and NOPE! ;-)



#10 OP +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:00

You could always set the Flash plugin to "ask" before it's loaded / enabled. (So called "click to enable" -feature).
Open Firefox, click the "Firefox" button -> add-ons -> plugins. On the Flash plugin choose "ask to activate".
 
Solved all crazy slowdowns, sound stutters and everything for me.


This actually worked. Resetting FF and updating Flash to 12 seemed to work but the issue started again. Hopefully this holds up to.

thanks

#11 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:12

I'm having a similar problem, except mine is somehow related to my mouse + youtube. It only happens on Youtube....If I'm watching a video and press the back button on my mouse, it locks up FF for a moment then gives me the flash error.

 

On the flip side, if I use the back button in the upper left-hand corner of the screen, it always works fine. :/  Only happens in FF, I've tested with Chrome, IE and Opera and they all work flawless.

 

and I've checked that it's not any of my extensions by process of elimination.



#12 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:14

Quit Skype - it worked for me! I'm not kidding.

 

Skype was hogging the CPU on a family computer every 10 seconds or so (for about one second). Closing it (from the task tray) now results in smooth Flash video playback again.



#13 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:16

Quit Skype - it worked for me! I'm not kidding.
 
Skype was hogging the CPU on a family computer every 10 seconds or so (for about one second). Closing it (from the task tray) now results in smooth Flash video playback again.

 
I'll be damned, you are correct sir!  I exited Skype and the problem is non-existent. (Y)

#14 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:20

Had the same issue. I solved it by copying "*.*" from "C:\windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash" to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\browser\plugins" and uninstall the flash plugin.

 

In the "C:\windows\syswow64\macromed\flash" directory, create a file named "mms.cfg". Open this file and add the following line to it:

 

"ProtectedMode=0" without the quotes.

 

This disables the Flash plugin container, which is bull anyway in my opinion, as Firefox already runs every plugin in its own container. I know security is important, but running a plugin container within a plugin container...

 

You could always set the Flash plugin to "ask" before it's loaded / enabled. (So called "click to enable" -feature).

Open Firefox, click the "Firefox" button -> add-ons -> plugins. On the Flash plugin choose "ask to activate".

 

Solved all crazy slowdowns, sound stutters and everything for me.

The above didn't work for me, but it's good to set Flash to "ask to activate" anyhow - it will make browsing faster and significantly reduce CPU load.

 

 
I'll be damned, you are correct sir!  I exited Skype and the problem is non-existent. (Y)

Someone should report this to Microsoft!



#15 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:26

 
I'll be damned, you are correct sir!  I exited Skype and the problem is non-existent. (Y)

From what I've been hearing on forums, it sounds like firefox is rather racey (timing dependent) in its bugs these days. Is there major work in the multi-threading/processing implementation going on with it or something?