What's the main goal of Anti-Piracy Groups?

Question

Hi,

I have been developing using various technologies for at least 6 years now... and I have used all kinds of tools. Majority of the big name tools I used have a serial number activation system. But I noticed that there are small businesses out there... who puts too much effort and attention to anti-piracy.

The way I see it... the tools you make will be 'bought' by businesses rather than individuals. Obviously, it is a big generalization but I am pretty sure... the parent's of a 13 year old just didn't shell out $500 bucks, just so their little prince can doodle in Photoshop :p.

At the end of the day how much money do you make or lose? Or how do you even calculate all that?

Most of the tools I developed were bought by business users and I still find my own coded scripts or software floating somewhere on the web. If the tools I made have a good market I would still be making money off of them whether it was opensource or closed source.

I just never quite understood what is the main message the anti-piracy groups are trying to say. Is it to stop stealing or is it so that business don't lose more money.

Look at all these open source projects, people are practically downloading them, donating to them and some are way more successful than commercial closed sourced ones, if not financially successful as well :p

Basically I am trying to say that businesses need to focus on developing better tools and go after markets that will give them a good profit margin... not waste half a million dollar over some campaign. What are you planning to do... sue a 13 year old? lol

16 answers to this question