Jump to content



Photo

HP Mircoserver

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:50

Hi Guys

 

i dont know a lot about these so please excuse my ignorance

 

I have seen this

 

basically i want a box i can shove hidden away in the corner (would hopefully be able to remote into it either through teamviewer or ssh)

 

I seen this

 

http://www.ebuyer.co...uyer-704941-421

 

Now i see it has 4 drive slots what is LFF?

 

I will be looking at putting linux on it. anything you guys suggest?

 

Will be accessed by two linux laptops, a windows laptop (very occasionally) and an ipad

 

will there be any issues with this?

 

 



Best Answer philcruicks , 22 January 2014 - 13:21

I've got the N40L (just a slightly slower CPU in it) and it'll be perfect for your use. I have it running a teamspeak and Minecraft server for me and my friends aswell as Plex to stream media.

 

Yes i believe you can do 2x RAID1 on it, but you could look at software solutions to do RAID 5 as you have 4 drives (give you more capacity).

I'd also highly recomend getting a 5.25" caddy, there is a Optical drive bay in the top but no drive, use USB to load your OS and use the spare bay for an extra drive, I;ve got a 250GB drive for my OS in there, gives me all 4 bays for a storage array.

 

Yes you can plug USB drives in, also has e-SATA on that back which should be your 1st port of call for external drives.

 

Do not get the gen 8 for your needs, its a full blown server with HP ILO and dual NIC's, for home use the Gen 7's are more than enough.

 

I'm running Windows Server 2012 (because i get a free key from work for Home Lab setup) for you I'd go with a Linux distro you're happy with.

 

Also for remoting unless you're often going to be doing it from outside your network, just use RDP save installing extra software like teamviewer.

 

 

 

my god why did they not just say 4 * 3.5" drives lol

Because its a server not a desktop/laptop Server speak is SFF and LFF.

 

Accessing from an iPad maybe a small challenge, it would have straight network access like Windows/linux does using for eg windows explorer.

 

You'd need some application on the server than can give it access, like Plex then you can get teh Plex app for iOS or use the web interface to access the media.

 

100Mb network will be fine for streaming, I'd get it all up to 1Gb if you can (makes copying files and everything easier, but it'll stream fine on 100Mb).

 

...I think thats every question answered  :)

Go to the full post



#2 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:53

LFF = Large Form Factor (3,5"),

 

You will be good to go :)



#3 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:55

my god why did they not just say 4 * 3.5" drives lol

 

Sorry this again may be another stupid question

 

can you have two sets of raid 1?

 

so i could have two disks in raid1 and then another set in raid 1 too?

 

 

 

also it had 4 usb ports on the front so am i right in saying i could plug my externals into them and also access them across the network?



#4 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:06

Hello

can you have two sets of raid 1?

Well, hardware wise, I cant answer that but software wise, sure, why not?
 
If you are intrested, Im having a related topic here http://www.neowin.ne...ing-a-esxi-box/ except Im looking at the Gen8...

#5 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:13

Yes to both questions.  I have a memory-stick in one USB drive, that is always shared.



#6 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:14

I recently bought one of the N54L's .... great piece of kit! I used a custom firmware on mine though ... from here : http://terfmop.co.uk...-5th-sata-port/



#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:16

If you are intrested, Im having a related topic here http://www.neowin.ne...ing-a-esxi-box/ except Im looking at the Gen8...

But look at the difference in price there riah3.. Do you really need the gen8 for what your doing.. Its less than HALF of what your looking to spend. That buys you what for what your going to use it for.. You do NOT need a rocketship cpu to run pfsense nor a nas..

Oh just noticed
£139.99 after cashback

Dude you could get what 3 of them for less than your spending on the gen8, for what not sure.. As I told you in PM and your thread.. When you said you didn't have enough money at the moment, etc..

At OP -- yeah you will love the microserver line, I have the N40L and love the little box.. Very small, very quiet and uses like nothing for power..

#8 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:32

yeah was the £139 after cashback that caught my eye

 

Budman can you have two sets of raid or do you need two controllers?



#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:42

I have no reason to run raid on my setup.. I find it of no use in a home setup (0 could be of some use in home for performance - maybe), but if you want to waste drive space.. Then yes you can have more than one array.

I have never in my life seen a raid controller that only allowed 1 array. As long as you have enough disks, and the controller supports the raid level you want you can create as many as you have connections and disks.

#10 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:44

Hello,

But look at the difference in price there riah3.. Do you really need the gen8 for what your doing.. Its less than HALF of what your looking to spend. That buys you what for what your going to use it for.. You do NOT need a rocketship cpu to run pfsense nor a nas..

I was just pointing out in case he was intrested in discussion about the microservers but I guess in price they have nothing to do with each other.

Oh just noticed
£139.99 after cashback

Dude you could get what 3 of them for less than your spending on the gen8, for what not sure.. As I told you in PM and your thread.. When you said you didn't have enough money at the moment, etc..

I dont have that cashback option avaliable for me (either that or its impossible to search). I have to call HP and see what they offer me...

I wont post here any more just in case we mix up threads and/or steal your thread. Sorry Haggis. :)

#11 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:50

I have no reason to run raid on my setup.. I find it of no use in a home setup (0 could be of some use in home for performance - maybe), but if you want to waste drive space.. Then yes you can have more than one array.

I have never in my life seen a raid controller that only allowed 1 array. As long as you have enough disks, and the controller supports the raid level you want you can create as many as you have connections and disks.

 

Cool thank you

 

Would any of you have recommendations for OS?

 

I thought about Ubuntu Server just for easiness

 

All i want to use it for is storing Photos, movies that i have of the kids (my kids before we get any smart ass answers)

 

I want is accessible from any device

 

and hopefully once i get all my hardware up to 1gig network i can then stream from it too



#12 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:50

I have two of these. One is turned off at the minute as I need to figure out which HDD is vibrating ;)

I have them in an vCentre cluster running a number of 2003 servers, a linux web server and a few 2008 R2 boxes.  Mainly use it for testing or writing changes/implementation steps for my work servers.

 

*Edit*

 

Why not shove a hypervisor on it and have multiple Virtual Machines?



#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:54

Sure any linux distro would work.. Maybe look to OS for that purpose - freenas, nas4free, openfiler, openmediavault

I run esxi on mine, and then run whatever OSes I want under that, etc. But if all you want to do is store/serve some files that would overly complex.

#14 M1cky_B

M1cky_B

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 12
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8 / Windows RT / Windows 7 / Ubuntu
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 2 / Galaxy Nexus

Posted 22 January 2014 - 12:57

Should try here for info about the Gen8 microservers.. http://homeserversho.../forum/88-gen-8



#15 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 22 January 2014 - 13:02

The only reason Microservers were popular is they are amazing devices at a very cheap price.  The Gen8 versions added new stuff and increased the price way above what people were hoping to pay. I hope they reduce them again as they really are great little boxes.  The double up as heaters in my new office ;)





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!