Jump to content



Photo

Chrome sign in query


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 The Teej

The Teej

    Also known as The Tjalian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 23 January 2014 - 15:44

Just recently purchased a second hand laptop, but someone's chrome details were already logged in. I'm not the sort to pry, so I just logged out straight away. I went to sign into mine and Chrome said "User <x> was once logged into Chrome on this device, linking your account will merge your bookmarks with his. If you do not want this, create a new chrome user." (or something to that extent). 

 

However, I logged out and removed the whole account from Chrome, meaning I am the only (unlogged) user, meaning surely when I log in my details will not be merged? Is this the case? Just needed some clarification before I sign into Chrome. Thanks.




#2 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 23 January 2014 - 15:49

Hello,

Just recently purchased a second hand laptop, but someone's chrome details were already logged in. I'm not the sort to pry, so I just logged out straight away. I went to sign into mine and Chrome said "User <x> was once logged into Chrome on this device, linking your account will merge your bookmarks with his. If you do not want this, create a new chrome user." (or something to that extent). 
 
However, I logged out and removed the whole account from Chrome, meaning I am the only (unlogged) user, meaning surely when I log in my details will not be merged? Is this the case? Just needed some clarification before I sign into Chrome. Thanks.

Obvious question is obvious: Why havent you formatted before you even began to touch that PC?

Unless I know the person who had that second hand laptop was a hot chick that used Facebook to take stupid "selfies"....

#3 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 23 January 2014 - 15:50

My first reaction was childish. "Fill your bookmarks with grotesque porn links and merge the bookmarks!"

If I'm understanding right, Chrome asks you before it goes ahead and merges the bookmarks, so why not try logging in again and seeing if the message appears? If it doesn't I would assume that to mean that there is no merging happening between the two accounts.

I would probably just reinstall the whole thing anyway. Who knows what the person before you was using the computer for, or if they've gone and put some background software in place (although if he wasn't clever enough to remove his account details I would imagine he hasn't done anything intentionally malicious).

#4 OP The Teej

The Teej

    Also known as The Tjalian

  • Joined: 03-October 05
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 24 January 2014 - 03:32

My first reaction was childish. "Fill your bookmarks with grotesque porn links and merge the bookmarks!"

If I'm understanding right, Chrome asks you before it goes ahead and merges the bookmarks, so why not try logging in again and seeing if the message appears? If it doesn't I would assume that to mean that there is no merging happening between the two accounts.

I would probably just reinstall the whole thing anyway. Who knows what the person before you was using the computer for, or if they've gone and put some background software in place (although if he wasn't clever enough to remove his account details I would imagine he hasn't done anything intentionally malicious).

 

The person who sold it was so computer illiterate she sold it as "broken" for insanely cheap (£40). Literally all it needed was a system restore back to the first system restore and remove all the spyware that her kids installed which stopped the machine from booting (or, I assumed that was the reason it wasn't booting, anyway). She only got the laptop a few weeks ago from a guy who sold it on to her, and that guy seemed to have done a complete re-install before selling it on, so... yeah, I didn't see much of a need.

 

The only real thing stopping me from doing a re-format is that it's a serial OEM key and the key's faded off of the Microsoft license sticker. Unless anybody knows a way of getting the actual serial key from the computer itself reformatting would leave me without a copy of windows to reinstall (plus, it's an Ultimate version, which is a disc I don't have).



#5 Kussie

Kussie

    Bazinga

  • Joined: 19-August 02
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 07 March 2014 - 03:10

It's not referring to bookmarks that are stored in the Google Cloud, it is referring to bookmarks stored locally, signing in and out via Chrome sync will do nothing. 

 

You need to make a new browser profile (Not a Google account or anything like that).  If you go to Settings -> Users and click the Delete this user button.  That will create a new profile when you restart chrome, blowing away those bookmarks and such.