Jump to content



Photo

How to use dual networks on Windows XP?

Answered Go to the full post dual network;winxp

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 23 January 2014 - 18:27

Dell Optiplex Windows XP system with on-board ethernet and add-on PCI wireless card.

The PCI wireless is connected to the Internet via ISP provided wireless router.

The on-board ethernet is connected to the LAN.

Only one connection works at a time, i.e. when I plug in the ethernet cable, the wi-fi stops working, and vice versa.

How can I get both to work simultaneously?

Wi-fi Adapter:
IP: 192.168.1.10
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

Ethernet Adapter:
IP: 192.168.0.2
Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

 

Googling this turns up a plethora of conflicting advice.

Hopefully, someone here can straighten this out.

 



Best Answer Roger H. , 23 January 2014 - 18:45

Not my forte but do you want the LAN to only work for local file transfers or is it another ISP connection?

 

You could proably remove the default gateway from the LAN (i think) or set some priorities in the properties of the WLAN connection?

Go to the full post



#2 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 23 January 2014 - 18:45   Best Answer

Not my forte but do you want the LAN to only work for local file transfers or is it another ISP connection?

 

You could proably remove the default gateway from the LAN (i think) or set some priorities in the properties of the WLAN connection?



#3 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 23 January 2014 - 18:51

Not my forte but do you want the LAN to only work for local file transfers or is it another ISP connection?

 

Yes. The LAN is only used to share files locally.



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 January 2014 - 18:57

Then as Roger correctly stated already just remove the gateway from that network interface, since it has no "gateway" off the 192.168.0.0/24 network.

#5 1ON

1ON

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 12
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 820

Posted 23 January 2014 - 18:57

When you say stop working - What exactly do you mean?

 

NIC / WLAN adapter show as disconnected? or pings drop to devices on each subnet?



#6 ShadowMajestic

ShadowMajestic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-April 10
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 23 January 2014 - 18:59

Bah had to login on firefox to be able to paste links in this WYSIWYG editor >.>

 

http://superuser.com...t-the-same-time



#7 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 23 January 2014 - 19:08

When you say stop working - What exactly do you mean?

 

NIC / WLAN adapter show as disconnected? or pings drop to devices on each subnet?

 

It doesn't disconnect. There is simply no response when trying to access shared folders on the LAN, and Firefox says "Page cannot be found"


Then as Roger correctly stated already just remove the gateway from that network interface, since it has no "gateway" off the 192.168.0.0/24 network.

 

OK, will try this a.s.a.p.


Bah had to login on firefox to be able to paste links in this WYSIWYG editor >.>

 

http://superuser.com...t-the-same-time

 

Seems to be what Budman and Roger says. Will try and report.

It's at one of my client's office.



#8 Top Qat

Top Qat

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 09-July 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 and Server 2012 R2u1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S 3

Posted 23 January 2014 - 19:08

Are the computers on the LAN side connected to the internet?

 

If not, use could use Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) on the Win XP machine.

That way your internet access will work and the LAN side will have access to your PC and the internet.



#9 +theblazingangel

theblazingangel

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 25-March 04
  • Location: England, UK

Posted 23 January 2014 - 19:16

Then as Roger correctly stated already just remove the gateway from that network interface, since it has no "gateway" off the 192.168.0.0/24 network.

 

Precisely (Y)



#10 froggyliver

froggyliver

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-September 11
  • Location: Montana

Posted 23 January 2014 - 19:29

The faster connection should be the connection Windows uses. This is usually the Ethernet connection. I "think" you need a server OS to use both.



#11 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 23 January 2014 - 19:31

Are the computers on the LAN side connected to the internet?

 

No. It's purely for file sharing.



#12 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 23 January 2014 - 20:15

Remove the Gateway and DNS on your LAN. I have this setup for one of my servers at home (two internet connections)

 

Wireless - DHCP

LAN - Static IP address and Subnetmask (No Gateway and DNS)

 

While im not using Windows XP. I think you should be fine with this setting.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!