Jump to content



Photo

Replacement for WRT150N


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2014 - 11:17

A friend of mine has a Linksys WRT150N that bricked overnight. It has the power led blinking and reading here and there it means corrupted firmware. I can ping it, but no web interface and ssh/telnet. I also tried tftp but the device is not responding.

 

So he's now looking for a replacement. Since I have little experience with network devices (I bought a netgear dgn2000 several years ago :rofl: ) I'd like some suggestions for a solid yet not so much expensive device from a good brand. Price range is about 40-50€ (55-70$)

 

Thanks!




#2 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 28 January 2014 - 11:31

Are you sure you cannot manage to get it working again with the reset button? Brands you should look at are Buffalo, Asus or the much cheaper Tp-link.



#3 +Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 7 X64 Ultimate Edition
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 Compact

Posted 28 January 2014 - 11:34

Seconded, can you hold reset for 10 seconds and try to reboot it?

Also, if in the offchance this actually works, you might be able to flash it's firmware if you can find the correct version for it from cisco's website



#4 OP +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2014 - 11:47

Seconded, can you hold reset for 10 seconds and try to reboot it?

Also, if in the offchance this actually works, you might be able to flash it's firmware if you can find the correct version for it from cisco's website

 

I tried resetting but nothing, as soon as you power it on the power led starts blinking and you can only ping it.



#5 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 28 January 2014 - 12:38

I tried resetting but nothing, as soon as you power it on the power led starts blinking and you can only ping it.

If you can put your hands on 3V TTL USB serial adapter you can fix that (only use TX/RX and GND, no PWR). The WRT150N just like the WRT160N and other models has a defective bootloader that will download the flash file through TFTP but won't flash it. If you have a serial adapter however you can stop the boot and start the flashing manually with different parameters that work. You can find the adapter for a couple dollars on ebay or dealextreme.



#6 xrobwx

xrobwx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-June 03
  • Location: Panama City Beach, FL USA
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note II

Posted 28 January 2014 - 13:02

I own a Buffalo router both at home and work and love its performance and it's many options. 

 

http://store.buffalo...1200/quantity.1



#7 OP +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2014 - 14:02

If you can put your hands on 3V TTL USB serial adapter you can fix that (only use TX/RX and GND, no PWR). The WRT150N just like the WRT160N and other models has a defective bootloader that will download the flash file through TFTP but won't flash it. If you have a serial adapter however you can stop the boot and start the flashing manually with different parameters that work. You can find the adapter for a couple dollars on ebay or dealextreme.

 

Sadly i don't have the skills to do it

 

I own a Buffalo router both at home and work and love its performance and it's many options. 

 

http://store.buffalo...1200/quantity.1

 

It's slightly outside price range, is this good as well? http://store.buffalo...uctID.278999800



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 January 2014 - 14:08

How exactly did he brick it, or did it just stop working?

#9 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 28 January 2014 - 14:29

Sadly i don't have the skills to do it

 

 

It's slightly outside price range, is this good as well? http://store.buffalo...uctID.278999800

Yes, that router has a pretty high transmit power (if your state/country allows that) plus it can run the official DD-WRT builds (it ships with a customized version) so if you are having any problem you can simply update to a newer firmware.



#10 OP +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2014 - 14:45

How exactly did he brick it, or did it just stop working?

 

He said it just stopped working. He's not a technical so he doesn't know how to flash or do stuff like that. I tried the router myself and i was only able to ping it setting manually my pc's ip as the router's dhcp is not working. I got no response either trying to connect with ssh.

 

Yes, that router has a pretty high transmit power (if your state/country allows that) plus it can run the official DD-WRT builds (it ships with a customized version) so if you are having any problem you can simply update to a newer firmware.

 

Reading on amazon.com i saw that many are complaining about some flaw in wifi, like this one: http://www.amazon.co...ore=electronics



#11 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 28 January 2014 - 14:59

Reading on amazon.com i saw that many are complaining about some flaw in wifi, like this one: http://www.amazon.co...ore=electronics

 

Aren't those reviews from another model? You linked the WHR-300HP above but those reviews are for the WHR-G300N-HP.

 

Also remember that even when the model is the same there can be different revisions with completely different hardware (including different wifi chipsets/SoCs as well), a version can have stellar reviews while all the others despite having the same exact model name could be complete garbage. Router manufacturers really have no shame in selling cheaper and often worse hardware with the same exact name.

 

An easy way to find a decent router is starting from the user reviews on Amazon like you did so you can rule out hardware with known issues, if the router also allows installing custom firmwares (dd-wrt/openwrt) it's an huge plus because most routers stock firmwares with only a few exceptions (AVM/Fritz!Box or some Dlink/Asus models) are often unreliable garbage. Another website to check is smallnetbuilders that has reviews and wireless coverage/price graphs of most recent/popular wireless routers.



#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 January 2014 - 15:04

"He said it just stopped working. He's not a technical so he doesn't know how to flash or do stuff like tha"

Then its prob just dead and time to replace I agree, not like he flashed it with some bad firmware that could be fixed like with the cable mentioned, etc.

I recently picked up a TPLINK TL-WDR3600 for $42 dual band 600N router, put dd-wrt on it and its been working great.. Very low budget device that has been stable with dd-wrt on it. The native firmware was a complete and utter joke - would replace within minutes of getting it to make it useful product..

I would think that should be in the price range your thinking..

#13 francescob

francescob

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 08

Posted 28 January 2014 - 15:18

"He said it just stopped working. He's not a technical so he doesn't know how to flash or do stuff like tha"

Then its prob just dead and time to replace I agree, not like he flashed it with some bad firmware that could be fixed like with the cable mentioned, etc.

 

Sometimes router firmwares just become corrupted, when the router blinks like that it's because it can't boot. Reflashing the firmware could be a permanent fix if it's not an hardware issue, but the routers belonging to that series can't be reflashed in any way without a serial or jtag connection so it really becomes an huge problem. Too bad because Broadcom routers (the WRT150N is a true WRT model with a broadcom SoC) may have a poor range but they're the most compatible and usually the ones with the most stable wireless drivers, no wonder why Apple still uses Broadcoms in their airport access points.



#14 OP +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2014 - 15:48

Aren't those reviews from another model? You linked the WHR-300HP above but those reviews are for the WHR-G300N-HP.

 

Also remember that even when the model is the same there can be different revisions with completely different hardware (including different wifi chipsets/SoCs as well), a version can have stellar reviews while all the others despite having the same exact model name could be complete garbage. Router manufacturers really have no shame in selling cheaper and often worse hardware with the same exact name.

 

An easy way to find a decent router is starting from the user reviews on Amazon like you did so you can rule out hardware with known issues, if the router also allows installing custom firmwares (dd-wrt/openwrt) it's an huge plus because most routers stock firmwares with only a few exceptions (AVM/Fritz!Box or some Dlink/Asus models) are often unreliable garbage. Another website to check is smallnetbuilders that has reviews and wireless coverage/price graphs of most recent/popular wireless routers.

 

Ops, I totally missed that difference. I'll check some reviews of that specific model to make sure it doesn't have flaws.

 

 

"He said it just stopped working. He's not a technical so he doesn't know how to flash or do stuff like tha"

Then its prob just dead and time to replace I agree, not like he flashed it with some bad firmware that could be fixed like with the cable mentioned, etc.

I recently picked up a TPLINK TL-WDR3600 for $42 dual band 600N router, put dd-wrt on it and its been working great.. Very low budget device that has been stable with dd-wrt on it. The native firmware was a complete and utter joke - would replace within minutes of getting it to make it useful product..

I would think that should be in the price range your thinking..

 

Yes even tough it's sold for 60€ (about 80$) here in Italy. However is it hard to flash dd-wrt on that device? Amazon reviews also says that the hardware is great but the firmware is junk... Also, does it void the warranty?



#15 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 January 2014 - 15:53

dd-wrt took all of couple of minutes to install, flash it once with special that dd-wrt provides and then using webgui flash it to the latest and greatest version.

As to warranty - you can put the factory back on it if you had to send it back with RMA or anything.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!