Jump to content



Photo

Xbox One - Does it matter if I connect to 2.4GHz or 5.0GHz?

Answered Go to the full post xbox one microsoft wireless networking support

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 01 February 2014 - 17:20

Does it matter if I connect to 2.4 or 5.0 wireless with my XBOX One?

Is 5.0GHz going to provide an overall better performance on the console, or is 2.4GHz sufficient?

 

 



Best Answer trooper11 , 01 February 2014 - 17:24

The 5Ghz band for 802.11 N connections does offer the best signal quality/throughput, but over a shorter distance vs 2.4Ghz.

If your wireless router is fairly close to the console, I would try using the 5Ghz option first. Go to the full post



#2 trooper11

trooper11

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 21-November 12

Posted 01 February 2014 - 17:24   Best Answer

The 5Ghz band for 802.11 N connections does offer the best signal quality/throughput, but over a shorter distance vs 2.4Ghz.

If your wireless router is fairly close to the console, I would try using the 5Ghz option first.

#3 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 February 2014 - 17:27

Well as mentioned, if you have the option for 5Ghz then use that.

 

 

Wired is Best

5Ghz is Good

2.4Ghz is if you must :p



#4 AngryOldPerson

AngryOldPerson

    all hail pirate minion

  • Joined: 10-November 01
  • Location: VT, USA

Posted 01 February 2014 - 17:44

My one is about 2 feet from my router so I connect to 5ghz and have no issues

#5 benthebear

benthebear

    Doin' manly things

  • Joined: 19-July 02
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 01 February 2014 - 18:31

Another plus for connecting to the 5GHz band is that there's less interference. So if a microwave is turned on, or a cordless phone goes off, it won't knock you off of the network.



#6 +Fractalizer

Fractalizer

    Cupcakes!

  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional x64 Service Pack 1

Posted 01 February 2014 - 18:45

Another plus for connecting to the 5GHz band is that there's less interference. So if a microwave is turned on, or a cordless phone goes off, it won't knock you off of the network.

 

That can actually happen? I thought it was a myth xD!



#7 benthebear

benthebear

    Doin' manly things

  • Joined: 19-July 02
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 01 February 2014 - 18:49

That can actually happen? I thought it was a myth xD!

 

:p

 

I had the unfortunate experience of living in an apartment with a microwave in between my wireless router and my computer. If the roommate decided to cook what seemed to be a Thanksgiving meal in the microwave, the network would be down the whole time. So I went out and invested in a dual band 5GHz set up and it did the trick. After that, he could have left the thing on for all eternity.



#8 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 04 February 2014 - 00:25

If you have good signal strength then 5ghz is the better option.



#9 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 04 February 2014 - 00:29

My one is about 2 feet from my router so I connect to 5ghz and have no issues

 

Why not just plug it in directly?



#10 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 04 February 2014 - 01:10

Another plus for connecting to the 5GHz band is that there's less interference. So if a microwave is turned on, or a cordless phone goes off, it won't knock you off of the network.


You can get 5Ghz cordless phones, they moved for the same reason (Microwaves)

#11 AngryOldPerson

AngryOldPerson

    all hail pirate minion

  • Joined: 10-November 01
  • Location: VT, USA

Posted 05 February 2014 - 02:09

Why not just plug it in directly?

pure laziness..plus the console travels frequently so i can't be bothered to use an ethernet cable



#12 compl3x

compl3x

    Space coyote

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 05 February 2014 - 12:52

Isn't there something with fluorescent lights interfering with 2.4ghz? Or is that part the myth?



#13 JonnyLH

JonnyLH

    I say things.

  • Joined: 15-February 13
  • Location: UK
  • OS: W8, W7, WP8, iOS, Ubuntu
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 February 2014 - 13:44

Another plus for connecting to the 5GHz band is that there's less interference. So if a microwave is turned on, or a cordless phone goes off, it won't knock you off of the network.

If anything, 5Ghz is way less tolerable to interference than 2.4Ghz. There's tons of consumer devices on the 5Ghz range.

 

To summarise:
- Higher Speed

- Less Range

- Can't penetrate walls and solid objects as well



#14 OP BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 06 February 2014 - 23:26

Seems like 5GHz is working great, so I will stick with that. Thanks for the replies



#15 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 06 February 2014 - 23:32

If anything, 5Ghz is way less tolerable to interference than 2.4Ghz. There's tons of consumer devices on the 5Ghz range.

 

To summarise:
- Higher Speed

- Less Range

- Can't penetrate walls and solid objects as well

 

I think you got some of that backwards but yes to the rest of that :p. My place is only 1100 sf so no Greenwich mansion here :p Once i'm in the 2500sf range i'll just have 2-3 APs all over the houe to handle the 5Ghz needs :)