Jump to content



Photo

Site (domain) outage update


  • Please log in to reply
155 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 56
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 02 February 2014 - 12:58

Nothing to report yet. The domain was pulled due to one of the many email addresses attached to our account not working and it relates to this http://community.dis...ain-name.21196/ it was an email address I used to create the account in 2000, but it wasn't used as a technical or administrative contact address for the whois, it is however the contact address for the account, which is where ICANN had an issue with :/

 

Changing the email address is not an easy thing to do where our domain is located, due to all the safeguards added to the account as well, but I have initiated a change of email request and am currently waiting on documents from our accountant that prove to them who we are, because it's the weekend this isn't going to be resolved until the working week starts. I have been contacted by our domain registrar but haven't received a response since I contacted them back yesterday morning with the information they requested to get the domain moved back into our account and unsuspended.

 

Hopefully they will unsuspend the domain quickly without the need for the change of email on our account (which takes between 5 and 7 days) because those two things are separate, so it could happen today but it might not.

 

I don't know anything more than that, and when I do I will post it on Twitter/Facebook and here, in the meantime you'll have to be patient, just like me.




#2 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:07

Thanks for the update, Steve! (Y)



#3 +LimeMaster92

LimeMaster92

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Location: On a laptop
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro RTM with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:11

Thanks for keeping us posted. :) It's kinda weird that ICANN never warned anyone about the changes before implementing them. :/



#4 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: NYC & Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:20

Crazy but at least there is some hope of normalcy soon. Keep up the good fight (Y)

#5 Charisma

Charisma

    e-1337-ist

  • Joined: 02-May 10
  • Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:24

thanks for the update. Oddly, I've had zero interruption of anything here. Then again, I don't go to the front page as often, usually just the forums. But I understand this is a big problem for a lot of our users :/  Hope it's sorted out very soon!



#6 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:25

I think... It's a good chance for the site devs to fix anything that is hard-coded to neowin.net.  Like the front page logins, etc make them all relative.. then domain issues don't affect regular function.


thanks for the update. Oddly, I've had zero interruption of anything here. Then again, I don't go to the front page as often, usually just the forums. But I understand this is a big problem for a lot of our users :/  Hope it's sorted out very soon!

The issue is on the forums too.  Can't access neowin.net or neowin.net/forums... basically anything with neowin.net in the url.



#7 Semtex

Semtex

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • Location: Europa/Poland

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:36

thanks for the update. Oddly, I've had zero interruption of anything here.

Maybe some VPN? I don't know how this looks here, but I know that few forums use VPN for Mods/Admins.

 

I use Hosts method to get forum on normal adrress.



#8 Charisma

Charisma

    e-1337-ist

  • Joined: 02-May 10
  • Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:41

Maybe some VPN? I don't know how this looks here, but I know that few forums use VPN for Mods/Admins.

 

I use Hosts method to get forum on normal adrress.

Hmm, possibly. I'm sure it will stop working tomorrow, now that I've mentioned it and jinxed myself ;)



#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 75
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:57

"It's kinda weird that ICANN never warned anyone about the changes before implementing them"

 

Oh I am sure they sent many an email to the email account listed on the account that if hey you don't answer this email you domain will be taken down ;)



#10 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 02 February 2014 - 13:57

Hello,

Just to add some things:

http://neow.in does work but it has issues:

1: Login does not work or fails:
ldqHoH8.png

The login system's certificate seems to be for "neowin.net" so wont work correctly.

2: Images broken.

Images rely on domain name that you visit ( As a example (even if it works) http://neowin.net/im...egasus/logo.png may work but http://neow.in/images/pegasus/logo.png wont ). There are very few of these so thats thanks to the great coding of the staff.

The solution right now is editing the hosts files by adding this line (besides flushing DNS entries on your PC):
 
74.204.71.245		neowin.net
I would make this frontpage as it affects us in waves (it didnt affect me yesterday but today its down for me)

#11 +LimeMaster92

LimeMaster92

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • Location: On a laptop
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro RTM with Media Center x64
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 02 February 2014 - 14:55

Maybe some VPN? I don't know how this looks here, but I know that few forums use VPN for Mods/Admins.

It isn't that as Marshall apparently had trouble getting onto Neowin.



#12 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 02 February 2014 - 16:05

^ yes. The only reason I am not having trouble is thtat I logged in yesterday and haven't logged out since (Y).



#13 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 02 February 2014 - 16:51

if you add the line to the hosts file you will be able to login fine



#14 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 02 February 2014 - 16:54

The login will work fine if you accept the certificate mismatch. This happens because for obvious reasons, the certificate is for neowin.net. We're not going to buy a new one just for a couple of days of downtime. If you go to the forums, then login (accepting the certificate), it will work fine. There is no need to add anything to the hosts file, and doing so is a bad idea for a number of reasons.



#15 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 02 February 2014 - 17:30

Hello,

Accepting just reloads the page but you are not signed in.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!