Jump to content



Photo

Site (domain) outage update


  • Please log in to reply
155 replies to this topic

#31 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 03 February 2014 - 00:18

Hello,
Went to that page, logged in, it too kme to the main forum page (logged in), I clicked on this thread in the minispy and again it showed the login button.

I am glad it is a problem on my side, not on Neowin's

It isn't just you. I have the same issue and I'm sure others do as well. Interestingly, people who can't log in (and who neglect to do dns modifications) aren't going to be able to say it doesn't work for them.




#32 +ians18

ians18

    Neowin's Best

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 17-May 12
  • Location: On The Blue Marble
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1/8.1u1 RT, WP 8.1, OSX Mav.
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 & Lumia "Black" firmware

Posted 03 February 2014 - 00:42

Well, on neow.in I got the SSL certificate error, member images didn't show up, and the login on neow.in took me to a page that said Sorry, you do not have permission to view that. Logging in through the dedicated login page (not the popup) would only stick for one page, after going into this thread, it would have the login button again. Plus the member images would disappear on every other post or so. I had to result to modifying the hosts file in order to post this comment.

This is what I got: Seems to be a new SSL error page in chrome.

ssl error.PNG



#33 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 03 February 2014 - 01:47

SSL error was obvious due certificates are designated for www.neowin.net and not neow.in
the same hosts measures can be used for user images, if you can get to know the IP adresses for it.

#34 DaveLegg

DaveLegg

    Coderator at heart

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 31-October 04
  • Location: Oxford, UK

Posted 03 February 2014 - 02:38

Logging in through the dedicated login page (not the popup) would only stick for one page, after going into this thread, it would have the login button again.

 

I've checked, it looks like the setting for the cookie domain got reverted, and that's what was causing the logins not to stick when using neow.in.

 

I've changed it to how it should be, and tested again, logins are working properly from neow.in again.



#35 +JTA

JTA

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-July 05
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • OS: Win 7/8
  • Phone: GNex

Posted 03 February 2014 - 02:56

FWIW, OpenDNS evidently has it cached. I never noticed a hiccup trying to access the site. Might change when the TTL expires on the dns entry, though.



#36 Unrealistic

Unrealistic

    Laughter is all we have.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 03 February 2014 - 03:28

I've checked, it looks like the setting for the cookie domain got reverted, and that's what was causing the logins not to stick when using neow.in.
 
I've changed it to how it should be, and tested again, logins are working properly from neow.in again.


Thanks. I can finally login. :)

#37 LoR*Evanescence

LoR*Evanescence

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-February 05

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:02

Not sure if this is just Windows 8.1 users but I had to put www. in front of neowin.net or it doesn't work - can finally get onto the forums! (was going mad as pinging the site worked but dns didn't resolve!) .  So it's:

 

74.204.71.245        www.neowin.net

 

 

Good luck to getting the site back up quickly :)

 

 

I had the same is you on Mac OS 10.9 using Safari.  It also does not work without putting http:// in front of it. If I only typed neow.in it wouldn't work for me either.  Only http://neow.in works when I type that in the address bar, it took me a few tries to get it right. 

 

I also had some issues logging into the forum.  I would log in, then it would tell me I don't have permission to view this page.  I click forum home and I was logged out again.  I figured out that logging in 2 times in a row worked for me.  



#38 Tha Bloo Monkee

Tha Bloo Monkee

    Da Ba Dee Da Ba Die

  • Joined: 03-July 04
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 03 February 2014 - 04:34

Neowin.net is still down for me.  You guys must be cheesed, missing out on all this time when you could be collecting ad revenue and such. :/ Hopefully the problem is resolved soon.



#39 SnoopZ

SnoopZ

    Resistance is Futile

  • Joined: 02-December 04
  • Location: The Twilight Zone

Posted 03 February 2014 - 09:28

I wasn't able to login to neow.in yesterday using the login from the forums as it just put me back at the login page, but this morning i can do it fine.



#40 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:05

Hello,

I've checked, it looks like the setting for the cookie domain got reverted, and that's what was causing the logins not to stick when using neow.in.
 
I've changed it to how it should be, and tested again, logins are working properly from neow.in again.

Thank you for looking into the issue. I can confirm that logins now work.

Even though this is Neowin's fault, I think ICANN should have a way better and faster response time.

Im surprised there isnt anything on the frontpage about this yet.

#41 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:18

There isn't anything on the frontpage because people who can already connect to Neowin already know the deal.



#42 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:22

There isn't anything on the frontpage because people who can already connect to Neowin already know the deal.

 

"If you can read this.. you can connect to neowin.. and are aware it's not working properly."   Yea.. I don't see that being very beneficial.



#43 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:23

Hello,
Thank you for looking into the issue. I can confirm that logins now work.

Even though this is Neowin's fault, I think ICANN should have a way better and faster response time.

Im surprised there isnt anything on the frontpage about this yet.

 

 

If people can access the front page there is no real need for them to read why they cant access the main page

 

There are notifications on Facebook and Twitter

 

:)

 

also if you google Neowin down it will also tell you why :)



#44 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Novorossiya
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:26

Ola amigos!

 

I've been missing you all! <3

 

I'm curious, will the new posts (made @ neow.in) carry over to the normal site?



#45 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 61
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:28

I'll do an update once the domain is back in our account.


Ola amigos!

 

I've been missing you all! <3

 

I'm curious, will the new posts (made @ neow.in) carry over to the normal site?

Yep.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!