Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 2014 Update Leaked To Web

win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 03 February 2014 - 05:46

As anticipated by many people, a X64 version of the Win8.1 2014 Update has been leaked from a European site(pretend that we won't notice the watermarks, LOL :laugh: )

 

9600.16596.WINBLUES14_GDR_LEAN.140114-0237

 

Changes in build:

 

- Pinning metro apps to desktop taskbar.
- Classic taskbar in ModernApp (Bugged).
- Link to classic Control Panel in PC Settings.
- Shutdown button on the start screen.
- Search button on the start screen.
- Context Menu appears when you right-click on the ModernApp (Tiles).
- Tittle on the ModernApp and close button.
- Sorted App list in Apps screen (all programs) by default.
- Update Internet Explorer to 11.0.3.
- Hidden "Enterprise Mode" in Internet Explorer (in develop).
 
 
 
FHHa.png
FHHc.png
FHHb.png
FHHd.png
FHHe.png
FHHf.png

 

 

 




#2 ians18

ians18

    Where Unprofessional Commenting Looks Better.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-May 12
  • Location: On The Blue Marble
  • OS: Windows 8.1 August Update (RT/Standard/Pro), OSX Yoesmite
  • Phone: Microsoft Lumia 521 on T-mo w/ WP 8.1 Update (DEV) "Lumia Black" Firmware

Posted 03 February 2014 - 05:48

Yay! I'm excited! 

 

Edit: Found a Video

 

 

All Apps is Alphabetically sorted. Hopefully we can disable the top bar with the close button, I was fine with dragging it down to the bottom even with a mouse.



#3 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 03 February 2014 - 05:59

So confirmed NO boot to desktop in this leak?



#4 AsherGZ

AsherGZ

    【=◈︿◈=】

  • Joined: 30-June 11
  • Location: Karachi, Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 820, 520

Posted 03 February 2014 - 07:39

So confirmed NO boot to desktop in this leak?

It's been confirmed since 8.1. You can already boot to desktop in it.



#5 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:10

It's been confirmed since 8.1. You can already boot to desktop in it.

Awesome, didn't see that in 8.1. So they haven't removed that feature at least.

 

Thanks for the heads up.

 

 

Just seemed odd it was a touted feature in update 1 that I thought it was a 'new thing'.


Edited by Raa, 03 February 2014 - 08:45.


#6 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:39

I thought you could already boot to dekstop in regular 8.1

No

t that I see the big deal anyway, you don't start a computer to sit on the desktop, at some point you have to start an app anyway, and the start screen is a good place to keep shortcuts ;)

 

videos seem to go a lot back and forth on useless stuff and not show off a lot of the actual new stuff though...



#7 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 03 February 2014 - 10:53

This build looks pretty buggy so at the most i'd say to use it in a VM till something newer leaks or March comes and it goes final.



#8 Ironman273

Ironman273

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 26-October 01
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (Home & Work)
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:42

So confirmed NO boot to desktop in this leak?

As others have said, this is already an option in 8.1

windows-8-boot-to-desktop-100044314-orig



#9 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:34

Again: taskbar in metro apps is a dumb idea.

#10 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:41

Again: taskbar in metro apps is a dumb idea.

 

Again, full screen apps you can't window is a dumb idea.



#11 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:52

Again: taskbar in metro apps is a dumb idea.

Don't see why it wouldn't be useful, if all you're using is the Modern side of things you wouldn't see the taskbar anyway, nothing's changed, but if you're switching between Modern and desktop programs you can switch/etc just like before. 

 

But yea, by that video anyway it looks fairly buggy yet.. toy with it in a VM but will wait for the final release before it goes on a real install.



#12 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 03 February 2014 - 13:04

Just seemed odd it was a touted feature in update 1 that I thought it was a 'new thing'.

I think what you are referring to is boot to the desktop as being on by default. it was like that in one build,so that's why you heard about it, but I don't believe its in the recent build or will be in the final build.



#13 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 03 February 2014 - 13:27

The taskbar vanishing when you click on a metro app and not coming back is by design I bet. Until you have metro apps in windows the taskbar gets in the way with the app bar at the bottom.  The buggy bit is the new app title bar for mouse users as the video shows.

 

Also saying "full screen apps are a dumb idea" is a dumb comment. Even on the desktop, lots of apps work best when they're full screen, specially any creative tools. I've never used PhotoShop windowed, it's always full screen. Same with others, hell some even extend the apps to multiple monitors.



#14 +Chris123NT

Chris123NT

    Win8 Master

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: New York

Posted 03 February 2014 - 14:07

I installed this quick last night and from what I saw I like the improvements.  Context menus on the start screen are AWESOME.  Finally don't feel like I have to move my mouse across the screen 500000000000000 times to do simple resize/rearrange tasks.  I also like the titlebar on metro apps, makes it much more convenient to use with a mouse.

 

Last but certainly not least, the shutdown button right on the start screen is a VERY welcome change, something myself and others have been advocating for since the Windows 8 Developer Preview.  Glad the folks in redmond finally realized we were right,



#15 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 03 February 2014 - 18:39

I installed this quick last night and from what I saw I like the improvements.  Context menus on the start screen are AWESOME.  Finally don't feel like I have to move my mouse across the screen 500000000000000 times to do simple resize/rearrange tasks.  I also like the titlebar on metro apps, makes it much more convenient to use with a mouse.

 

Last but certainly not least, the shutdown button right on the start screen is a VERY welcome change, something myself and others have been advocating for since the Windows 8 Developer Preview.  Glad the folks in redmond finally realized we were right,

Chris123NT - it's only useful if the Power button on your hardware is nearly-inaccessible or inaccessible, for the simple reason that Windows 8 and later have improved massively at handling cold shutdowns.  (A cold shutdown is simply powering off.)  Some of those improvements HAVE filtered back to earlier versions of Windows - even XP; still, because too many of those earlier versions of Windows are still woefully out of date (regardless of why), it's far LESS likely that I would give the cold-shutdown treatment to any PC that is running a version of Windows earlier than 8.


Yay! I'm excited! 

 

Edit: Found a Video

 

 

All Apps is Alphabetically sorted. Hopefully we can disable the top bar with the close button, I was fine with dragging it down to the bottom even with a mouse.

All Apps (the AppScreen) have been sorted first by Group, then alphabetically within each group, since 8.1 - not news.  (Server 2012/R2 acts the same way.)