Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 2014 Update Leaked To Web

win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#61 Brian Miller

Brian Miller

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-December 10

Posted 04 February 2014 - 05:51

No thanks.




#62 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 04 February 2014 - 05:51

Looking over how I organize papers on my desk, I see that many documents overlap. Still, while I'm working, I lay things out so that the content that I'm working with or comparing against one another doesn't overlap. You don't work with anything that's buried three papers deep.

Metro still needs more freedom to optimize layout to content. For many things, snapping doesn't cut it, and obstinately wastes screen space to display absolutely nothing of use other than the app's background color.

#63 Kaze23

Kaze23

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Calgary, AB
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64 w/Update 1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 04 February 2014 - 05:55

That was what I asked when someone gave me a snarky reply. Thank you for clarifying the exact situation. :)

 

So possibly this leak isn't final, and the "by default" feature may be implemented... Hmm.

 

Exactly why I'm going to hold off on it, despite the improvements.



#64 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 04 February 2014 - 07:12

some more changes in IE 11.0.3:

Depth / Stencil Bits changed from [24, ] to [24 , 0]
Posted Image

DOM Explorer also got two changes:
Posted Image

"Changes" highlights changes made to CSS.
:a symbol enable pseudo states panel

Debugger got two new button:
Posted Image

Second last one is for "Debug all code" and last one is for "Toggle Source Map"

Debug all code also appear in Debugger in here as well:
Posted Image

Another button appear in Console:
It is "clear on navigate enabled"
Posted Image

Emulation mode also got small change:
its link which leads to article explaining stuff.
Posted Image

UI Responsiveness and Memory Profiling got new text with shortcut indication:
Posted Image


http://test262.ecmascript.org/ failures on 5.1 test suite:
11.0.2
Posted Image

11.0.3
Posted Image

Good improvement!!!

#65 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 04 February 2014 - 17:16

 They added new disk info/options in the PC Settings menu. You now get more info about disk space and what is using what. There is also the ability to empty the recycle bin now but IMO they should add the recycle bin itself to metro some way. Making it a tile/app is one way but maybe it could be better as a entry in the user menu under logout or something.  You could drop it into the settings charm as well, take the power button out since it's now on the start screen itself and put a recycle bin button there.



#66 +DConnell

DConnell

    Madman with a blue box

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Honey Brook PA
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1, Win RT 8.1u1
  • Phone: Lumia 1520 running Windows Phone 8.1

Posted 04 February 2014 - 20:19

That was what I asked when someone gave me a snarky reply. Thank you for clarifying the exact situation. :)

 

So possibly this leak isn't final, and the "by default" feature may be implemented... Hmm.

Just as long as it can be turned off if it is the default.



#67 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 04 February 2014 - 21:55

Just as long as it can be turned off if it is the default.

And vice-versa, hopefully.



#68 +DConnell

DConnell

    Madman with a blue box

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Honey Brook PA
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1, Win RT 8.1u1
  • Phone: Lumia 1520 running Windows Phone 8.1

Posted 04 February 2014 - 22:10

And vice-versa, hopefully.

 

Agreed. Choice is a good thing.



#69 OP FaiKee

FaiKee

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-January 09

Posted 07 February 2014 - 01:42

New feature in 2014 Update: "Disk Footprint Tool", it shows in system32, but could only be launched in CMD. :)

screen_208_zps4b555b9e.jpg

screen_209_zpsd43a83a8.jpg

 
 


#70 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 07 February 2014 - 18:02

It should be interesting to see how it works and what OEMs do with it. The more they can reduce the disk footprint of the OS the better for tablet users.

#71 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 08 February 2014 - 14:39

It should be interesting to see how it works and what OEMs do with it. The more they can reduce the disk footprint of the OS the better for tablet users.

Or what technical users can do with DFP - it can also be used to spot space pigs, swapfile growth, etc.  Because of the number of switches, the usage possibilities for DFP are many.



#72 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 08 February 2014 - 16:39

Thread moved to the Beta subforum for discussion of pre-release/unfinalized Windows versions.

#73 Syanide

Syanide

    From here to infirmary.

  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: /home

Posted 08 February 2014 - 16:50

Why are you trying to work in Photoshop, then want windows over top of it? If you have windows over top of Photoshop, then you are not working in Photoshop...

 

Except if you're drag/dropping stuff from one window into another, a common action for both Photoshop itself when having several document windows open, and other programs used in combination with Photoshop.

 

Drag and drop -- another thing to add to the long list of things wrong with Metro apps in general.