Jump to content



Photo

SSD and Large System Cache


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 04 February 2014 - 02:40

Hi,

 

I have seen conflicting suggestions on both turning large system cache on and/or off when using an SSD. What is the general consensus?

 

Cheers,

 

 




#2 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 04 February 2014 - 02:52

Hi,

 

I have seen conflicting suggestions on both turning large system cache on and/or off when using an SSD. What is the general consensus?

 

Cheers,

Defaults, in win7 or 8.  Tweaking generally doesn't help anymore except for the TRIM stuff in 7.



#3 Buzz99

Buzz99

    Formerly Buzz98...

  • Joined: 08-May 02

Posted 04 February 2014 - 12:10

I assume that you're talking about the swap file, wright ? If so, all my computers that using a SSD, I disabled the swap file. I also have 8Gb of RAM on all theese computers, some runing W8 and W7. In fact it is only set like this to lower the I/O on the SSD. All my computers run fine without a swap file.



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 04 February 2014 - 13:00

If you ask me the general consensus would be your wasting your time playing with this stuff.. I would ask one question are you using this box as a server - do serve up lots of files to lots of people?
 
No LargeSystemCache is not the swap file, and turning yours off, yet another person with too much time on their hands wasting it doing nonsense to their computer that I assume they use many hours a day for enjoyment and or productivity. Your not doing yourself any favors not running a swap file.. If you want to size it correctly for your use - that would be time better spent I guess.

I would really suggest you read this article
http://blogs.technet...17/3155406.aspx

I would really suggest you google pagefile swapfile myth, etc. And read some of the info before you go turning yours off.

Generally speaking as a user just using your system as any normal user you have no reasons to go messing around in the inner workings. 99 out of 100 times you going to dick something up vs making anything better -- that I can tell you from years and years of experience having to deal with users ;)

#5 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 04 February 2014 - 14:56

If you ask me the general consensus would be your wasting your time playing with this stuff.. I would ask one question are you using this box as a server - do serve up lots of files to lots of people?
 
No LargeSystemCache is not the swap file, and turning yours off, yet another person with too much time on their hands wasting it doing nonsense to their computer that I assume they use many hours a day for enjoyment and or productivity. Your not doing yourself any favors not running a swap file.. If you want to size it correctly for your use - that would be time better spent I guess.

I would really suggest you read this article
http://blogs.technet...17/3155406.aspx

I would really suggest you google pagefile swapfile myth, etc. And read some of the info before you go turning yours off.

Generally speaking as a user just using your system as any normal user you have no reasons to go messing around in the inner workings. 99 out of 100 times you going to dick something up vs making anything better -- that I can tell you from years and years of experience having to deal with users ;)

BudMan,

 

Thanks for the link. Yes that is exactly what I wanted to find out. While I do use my PC for video encoding and image rendering as well as HD Gaming it just seemed no matter where I went, such as the Adobe forums or gaming forums, people are saying they changed this or that to get more performance out of their SSD. To be honest compared to a mechanical HD it's like night and day. Even with my WD Raptor SATA 3 10,000 RPM drive the SSD of course out performs it considerably and the one I am talking about is the Samsung 840 Pro that we've talked about. Also I was not referring to the swap file, we have discussed this in detail before, this was mostly just a question about what, if any, changes effect an OS installed on an SSD.

 

Suffice it to say I am not going to make any changes I was just wondering what are myths and what are actual working suggestions, if any, to make on a new SSD OS install.

 

Thanks,



#6 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 04 February 2014 - 15:22

Also can you give me some information about over provisioning? Samsung recommends it. What is it and what does it do?

 

Thanks,



#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 February 2014 - 17:57

Here is a good write up

 

http://www.edn.com/d...er-provisioning

 

Its kind of given that you would do this.. I just use the recommended setting - you might tweak it down a bit if you were really short on space..  But with the price of SSDs as they are, I would think a few gb should be easy enough to spare..  Shoot if you have a hibernation file and any sort of ram you are wasting more than the OP space ;)

 

Here is my 840 Pro

 

recommenedop.png