Jump to content



Photo

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 07 February 2014 - 06:53

Hello,

Im not sure if this is a Windows issue or a hardware issue so...

My laptop has a very poor battery that lasts at most 5 minutes after it is unplugged. After that it just shuts down. Lately when this has happened, the CMOS RAM is also reseted and I have to enter the BIOS setup to reconfigure everything.

Well, lately, after the last time the previous happened, I boot into Windows 8.1 and try to start to work. After a minute or two, my mouse moves, freezes in a position, I try to move it again, but it doesnt move. In a few seconds, it moves to another position (of course, depending where I originally intended to move the mouse) but freezes again.

At first, and since my HDD was blinking every few seconds, I thought it was a HDD issue. I ran the HDD thru SeaTool's but it detected nothing.

Maybe a RAM issue? Same thing. MemTest didnt show anything.

Today, before I leave work now, Im gonna run the long "Fix" test on SeaTools and see how that goes. Also, Im gonna loadup a Ubuntu LiveCD and see if it is Windows oriented or not.

Any other suggestions or tips? And why the... ... is it so hard to enter the safe mode menu in Windows 8.1?


#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 07 February 2014 - 07:51

At first guess, it does sound like failing hardware, the main battery shouldn't be an issue even though it is in need of replacing, the bios battery also needs replacing, but these are usually easy to replace, depending on make and model of laptop, they're usually behind the keybaord.

The slow down on the other hand does sound like it could be a failing hardware component, but before you decide this is the case, I would suggest making sure the drivers are all up to date, (my old clevo d9t was written off by everyone who tried to repair it, until I spent a few hours googling it, and it turned out that a driver was at fault.

Once you eliminate these, and there's no improvement, I'd look at hardware, I'm guessing it's probably not the ram as you mentioned it does load up, but that's just a guess based on a few laptops I have seen with failed ram, they just simply refure to boot past the bios screen (or windows throbber using 7, usually they'll just sit there, or try to bsod/reboot)

#3 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 07 February 2014 - 08:19

Hello,

At first guess, it does sound like failing hardware, the main battery shouldn't be an issue even though it is in need of replacing, the bios battery also needs replacing, but these are usually easy to replace, depending on make and model of laptop, they're usually behind the keybaord.

The slow down on the other hand does sound like it could be a failing hardware component, but before you decide this is the case, I would suggest making sure the drivers are all up to date, (my old clevo d9t was written off by everyone who tried to repair it, until I spent a few hours googling it, and it turned out that a driver was at fault.

Once you eliminate these, and there's no improvement, I'd look at hardware, I'm guessing it's probably not the ram as you mentioned it does load up, but that's just a guess based on a few laptops I have seen with failed ram, they just simply refure to boot past the bios screen (or windows throbber using 7, usually they'll just sit there, or try to bsod/reboot)

I didnt update any drivers on this laptop.

If it was something I installed, then yes, its understandable but nothing.

#4 winrez

winrez

    Chronic Master Debater

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-March 07
  • Location: Manitowoc, WI
  • OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit, Windows 8 64-Bit, Windows RT 8.1 (Surface)
  • Phone: Samsung Focus WP7.8/ Nokia Lumina 520

Posted 07 February 2014 - 09:12

I've seen this before on a few computers, one the wireless mouse battery was low, the others had background software either loading after booting to the desktop or requesting max CPU at different times 

 

example:  a virus scanner locking a program file during a program start



#5 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 07 February 2014 - 11:20

Hello,

I've seen this before on a few computers, one the wireless mouse battery was low, the others had background software either loading after booting to the desktop or requesting max CPU at different times 
 
example:  a virus scanner locking a program file during a program start

No wireless mouse here.
I didnt install anything new that would have background software loading.
It says like this for minutes. It isnt a one time thing.

Nothing about a virus scan popping up or a virus scan or anything.

I would check in safe mode but it is IMPOSSIBLE to enter safe mode without "msconfig" (and since it freezes up, I cant call msconfig)

#6 winrez

winrez

    Chronic Master Debater

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-March 07
  • Location: Manitowoc, WI
  • OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit, Windows 8 64-Bit, Windows RT 8.1 (Surface)
  • Phone: Samsung Focus WP7.8/ Nokia Lumina 520

Posted 07 February 2014 - 13:47

I would give Process Explorer a try maybe it can show something the task manager isn't :)

 

http://technet.micro...s/bb896653.aspx



#7 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 07 February 2014 - 13:54

The jerky mouse movement definitely sounds like the CPU pegging out. If the hard drive is running a lot too it's probably paging memory excessively.

I would definitely look into replacing the CMOS battery first. That can cause all kinds of weird issues.

It's possible also that the HDD is running in PIO mode. Have you checked in the device manager to make sure it's running in DMA?

EDIT: Windows 8+ uses Shift-F8 instead of F8 for the boot menu.

#8 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 07 February 2014 - 13:56

Does this happen in safe mode?  If not, then probably software/driver related.



#9 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:01

As said by Eric:

"I would definitely look into replacing the CMOS battery first. That can cause all kinds of weird issues"

 

Otherwise,

It definitely sounds like something loading in background that is sucking everything.

 

How old is this machine?


Does this happen in safe mode?  If not, then probably software/driver related.

 

OP has already stated twice it's impossible for them to get into safe mode in Windows 8!



#10 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:05

As said by Eric:

"I would definitely look into replacing the CMOS battery first. That can cause all kinds of weird issues"

 

Otherwise,

It definitely sounds like something loading in background that is sucking everything.

 

How old is this machine?


 

OP has already stated twice it's impossible for them to get into safe mode in Windows 8!

 

Can still get in to Safe Mode.  Not as easy, but it works...

http://pcsupport.abo...8-safe-mode.htm

 

Other than that, go in to MSCONFIG/TASKMANAGER and  disable startup items/services until you find the one causing the problem.  Assuming that is the problem.

 

and if you cannot do much because the system freezes, toss in another HD and redo the system.  Then restore your data from the old system. Sucks, but sometimes starting over is easier/quicker.



#11 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:08

Hello,

I would give Process Explorer a try maybe it can show something the task manager isn't :)
 
http://technet.micro...s/bb896653.aspx

I cant even get msconfig open, much less any other program.
 

EDIT: Windows 8+ uses Shift-F8 instead of F8 for the boot menu.

I know this thats EXACTLY why I mentioned it...

http://pcsupport.abo...-safe-mode.htm:

In fact, even the widely publicized SHIFT+F8 option, which supposedly works to force Advanced Startup Options to appear (and ultimately Startup Settings and Safe Mode), only works on very slow computers. The amount of time that Windows 8 looks for SHIFT+F8 is so small on most Windows 8 devices and PCs that it borders on impossible to get it to work.

 
 

Does this happen in safe mode?  If not, then probably software/driver related.

Cant get into safe mode.
 
 

As said by Eric:
"I would definitely look into replacing the CMOS battery first. That can cause all kinds of weird issues"

Yeah. Im gonna see where exactly it is in this laptop, then Ill problably order one.
 
 

How old is this machine?

I would estimate about 4-6 years. Core 2 Duo. More than enough to stream 1080 movies to it while on my bed :)

#12 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:25

Just keep hitting shift-F8 after you turn on the computer. It's a short time window because of the hybrid sleep mode.

#13 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:28

Hello,

Just keep hitting shift-F8 after you turn on the computer. It's a short time window because of the hybrid sleep mode.

Is there a reason that makes you think I have not tried this multiple times?  :/



#14 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:35

Hello,
Is there a reason that makes you think I have not tried this multiple times?  :/


Yes. You didn't mention it and you're using about.com as a source. :)

#15 falcon291

falcon291

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-February 14

Posted 07 February 2014 - 14:40

Step by step,

1. You need to change the BIOS battery. The problem behind might be BIOS related, after changing the battery, please check the BIOS and if there is anything uncommon.

2. You need to change the battery if you do not want to use plugged all the time. If you can find a suitable battery is a question mark.

3. For Windows Safe mode for Windows 8 please see the link: http://www.7tutorial...ws-8-windows-81

4. Check the task manager if CPU peaks and which application makes it peak.

 

Hope this helps,