Jump to content



Photo

Post your DirectCompute benchmark score!


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 08 February 2014 - 05:44

I got the idea for this thread after stumbling upon this one from 2009. I found my old benchmark results and it made me wonder what my score would be with my new gaming PC. As I suspected, the difference is huge. The Radeon R9 270X is an overclocked version of the Radeon HD 7870. I'll post a link below so run it and show us your score. The benchmark only takes a couple of minutes to complete.

 

Link: http://www.ngohq.com...veme&dwn_id=937

 

 

Steps:

  1. Download the benchmark
  2. Run the benchmark with the "all" button.
  3. Take a screenshot and upload it to imgur.com.
  4. Bonus: You can use Shotty to take high quality screenshots of the window, as shown below.

 

 

Old:

F0jxoI9.png

Fq6QhEh.png

 

New:

 

bY6Jx9G.png

 

3HlsXcA.png




#2 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, BSD Unix, Occasionally OSX or Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 08 February 2014 - 14:05

The system I'm on at the moment is an older system that gets upgraded every so often, consider it a healthy mid-range frankenbuild, nothing spectacular but it games reasonably well all things considered. Mostly used as a development workstation, most of my gaming is done on a different system which I'll benchmark later.  GPU is just a single HD 7870, it's not overclocked either, using the stock GPU cooler so not going to mess with it on this system. CPU (AMD Vishera 6300) is overclocked to 4.1GHz (not bad with the stock cooler), looking at Yusuf's shot above it shows the difference between an Intel and AMD CPU's performance.. but for the price (dirt cheap) I'm not complaining.. Visual Studio 2013 and IntelliJ flies on the thing, good enough for me. This time last year it was running a Core2Duo as well, those guts are now running a WAMP/Rails/Django/etc server.

 

Benchmark2.png

 

Benchmark1.png



#3 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 08 February 2014 - 14:11

Yrbwbj5.png



#4 MindTrickz

MindTrickz

    That's no way to treat a lady!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 03
  • Location: Europe:

Posted 08 February 2014 - 14:23

It would appear that this benchmark favors AMD cards as evident by how much better overall score the above Radeon 7900 series card did over my GTX 780 (unless it's actually a dual GPU 7990 he has in there), AMD cards have always had the edge when it comes to OpenCL.

 

 

P17WY90.png

 

 

 

hQJ4O1a.png



#5 OP Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 08 February 2014 - 15:42

The system I'm on at the moment is an older system that gets upgraded every so often, consider it a healthy mid-range frankenbuild, nothing spectacular but it games reasonably well all things considered. Mostly used as a development workstation, most of my gaming is done on a different system which I'll benchmark later.  GPU is just a single HD 7870, it's not overclocked either, using the stock GPU cooler so not going to mess with it on this system. CPU (AMD Vishera 6300) is overclocked to 4.1GHz (not bad with the stock cooler), looking at Yusuf's shot above it shows the difference between an Intel and AMD CPU's performance.. but for the price (dirt cheap) I'm not complaining.. Visual Studio 2013 and IntelliJ flies on the thing, good enough for me. This time last year it was running a Core2Duo as well, those guts are now running a WAMP/Rails/Django/etc server.

 

Benchmark2.png

 

Benchmark1.png

The fact that mine is clocked higher than yours makes a difference too. As for your CPU, it isn't that big of a deal with a game like Battlefield 4. I've noticed a trend where the performance of the CPU matters less and less.

 

Anyway, here are the speeds. Stock is 30 GPixel/s (vs. 35.8) and 80 GTexel/s (vs. 89.6).

 

4pdV3ET.png

 

Yrbwbj5.png

HD 7950 or 7970?

 

It would appear that this benchmark favors AMD cards as evident by how much better overall score the above Radeon 7900 series card did over my GTX 780 (unless it's actually a dual GPU 7990 he has in there), AMD cards have always had the edge when it comes to OpenCL.

 

 

P17WY90.png

 

 

 

hQJ4O1a.png

That seems to be the case with GCN cards and up (e.g. Radeon HD 7K series and R9 series). I'm wondering if NVIDIA's push for CUDA is burning them.



#6 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows, BSD Unix, Occasionally OSX or Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 08 February 2014 - 15:53



The fact that mine is clocked higher than yours makes a difference too. As for your CPU, it isn't that big of a deal with a game like Battlefield 4. I've noticed a trend where the performance of the CPU matters less and less.

Ahh was referring to the CPU when I mentioned the differences between these two systems.  This system's FX6300 4.1GHz 6 core is just a hair under (benchmark wise) your Core-i5 3.2GHz 4 core CPU, even with 2 extra cores and almost 1GHz faster.   Even noticed the difference on other systems here, the Intel CPU's just seem to have more horsepower versus the AMD's, at least with the particular ones I have.. but like I said it was picked for it's price, saved a couple hundred and this one isn't for gaming primarily anyway but a workstation that I happen to occasionally game on.  I agree though about gaming and CPU's, most of them don't really notice a big difference anymore.. there's a few exceptions though, GW2 seems to be very CPU bound, just not optimized very well i guess.  Video card didn't change but the CPU upgrade made a huge difference.. it's actually playable at max settings at a passable framerate now versus having to scale it way back (and still pokey) from the old C2D.  All the other games that are on this one just fly at max across the board, pretty happy with it for what it is.



#7 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 08 February 2014 - 23:28

HD 7950 or 7970?

 

 

7990, how else can it get such a massive OpenCL score ;)



#8 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 08 February 2014 - 23:37

I can't complete the benchmark, I get some weird GPU / CPU checksum failed error

 

Well I got it to go by pressing "All", but I don't think the CPU test even does anything, when it was running I had 0 load on the CPU and CPU temp did not change at all.

 

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 @ 1058 MHz (10DE / 1180 / 26803842)
Intel® Core™ i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz (8 logical CPUs)
 
Benchmark version: v0.45
DirectCompute: D8991.2
OpenCL: C12630.7
CPU: M84.6
 
 
nvlddmkm 
x64  (build 9200)


#9 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 08 February 2014 - 23:38

I can't complete the benchmark, I get some weird GPU / CPU checksum failed error

 

Yep, same here.



#10 Maverick2k2

Maverick2k2

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09
  • Location: UK

Posted 09 February 2014 - 02:47

GPU is at stock overclock for a Asus Direct CU II 6970, however this is a Direct CU II 6950 I flashed with the bios from the better card to unlock the extra shaders and boost the core and ram clocks.  CPU is running at 4.3GHz (43*100)

 

ENelcDe.png

 

x2J3uef.png

 

Then after overclocking the GPU to 960MHz.  This card was clocked at 810MHz when I bought it and that was slightly overclocked from the reference speed of 800MHz

 

iyhlasR.png



#11 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 09 February 2014 - 03:20

I can't complete the benchmark, I get some weird GPU / CPU checksum failed error

Yep, same here.

Same here.



#12 Maverick2k2

Maverick2k2

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09
  • Location: UK

Posted 09 February 2014 - 03:31

Ok one more, see how variable the results are for each test, however the OpenCL score can be exactly the same many times in a row

 

ri3B0ur.png



#13 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 09 February 2014 - 03:40

7970 with 3570k

 

1.jpg

 

2.jpg

 

And here is with updated GPU drivers

 

3.jpg



#14 Maverick2k2

Maverick2k2

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09
  • Location: UK

Posted 09 February 2014 - 03:46

If you cannot complete the benchmark without errors then you either have faulty hardware or you have overclocked your rig a bit too far or just could have the wrong config for what you are trying to achieve 



#15 Athlonite

Athlonite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location: New Zealand

Posted 09 February 2014 - 03:54

45b.JPG
 
post-216168-0-42540500-1391917895.jpg
 
here yee go 

 

Attached Images

  • 45b.JPG