Jump to content



Photo

Keeping dust out of my console?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,432 posts
  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:17

What are some things I can do around the house / console area that will ensure less dust build up on my consoles? I am specifically referring to my Xbox One & Xbox 360, but they both have the box-top vents. I assume covering them is a bad idea, blocking ventilation, but does anyone have any suggestions?

 

Also, I really wasn't sure where to place this thread, so I apologize if this is not the best location.




#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • 8,527 posts
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:22

Compressed air, do it every so often, it's the best thing you can do other than put it in a dust-free room.



#3 OP Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,432 posts
  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:24

Compressed air, do it every so often, it's the best thing you can do other than put it in a dust-free room.

Would using a handheld Dyson vacuum over the top vents help too? Until I can grab some compressed air tomorrow.



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • 8,527 posts
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 10 February 2014 - 03:51

That would create too much suction, I would think that's too powerful. Just wait till tomorrow. It's not going to break because of a little dust.



#5 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • 1,563 posts
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:39

I just gave this advice in another thread, but vacuums generate a lot of static electricity.

 

Also, you also want to be careful to not cause any fan in the system to spin because you can cause it to generate electricity via electromagnetic induction.



#6 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • 7,684 posts
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:00

Hello,

Also, I really wasn't sure where to place this thread, so I apologize if this is not the best location.

Should be placed in the console area :)

#7 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • 20,117 posts
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:20

I just gave this advice in another thread, but vacuums generate a lot of static electricity.

Also, you also want to be careful to not cause any fan in the system to spin because you can cause it to generate electricity via electromagnetic induction.

That's never been a problem for me :s

#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • 1,563 posts
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:36

That's never been a problem for me :s

I'd think the former would be less of an issue if you aren't vacuuming exposed electronics. It's probably not really an issue if you are vacuuming shielded/non-exposed things. But, I'd definitely not be sticking one around anything that's exposed.

 

As for the latter, I've never tried it myself :laugh: Feel free to let me know if it burns out anything :shifty: To clarify the latter a bit though: by spinning the fan you are moving a magnets on the fan motor through a wire coil that is shaped into a solenoid: so this can induce a current on the wire coil. I've never actually tested myself, but I've heard advice against doing it. 



#9 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • 12,557 posts
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:55

Keeping it sealed in an airtight ziplock bag will guarantee no dust gets inside it. (Y)



#10 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • 1,563 posts
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:00

I wonder if there is some form of thin filter that won't obstruct airflow (much) that could be used over the vents. hmm

 

EDIT: something like this: http://www.xoxide.co...r-xbox-360.html



#11 Andrew

Andrew

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • 24,869 posts
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 11 February 2014 - 12:56

Would using a handheld Dyson vacuum over the top vents help too? Until I can grab some compressed air tomorrow.

 

Don't vacuum any fan unless you can stop the blades turning. You'll **** the bearings as well as the point Snaphat mentioned.

 

Compressed air is only really useful if you can open it up. Otherwise you'll just be blowing dust around inside the top case. Both the 360 and X1 have enclosed chassis so compressed air simply won't do anything.

 

Best thing you can do is just clean the immediate area more frequently than the rest of your home. Or make sure there is at least more air flow in that area so dust can't settle easy.



#12 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • 16,919 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 11 February 2014 - 14:07

May I recommend this bad boy...

Metro Vaccuum ED500

 

The word Vacuum is misleading as it does not suck anything. It is just like a can of compressed air except it is powered.

 

Warwagon actually made a thread about it awhile back, how he used it to clean all his computers, etc., so I was getting frustrated with all my dogs hair, and damn, does it NO DOUBT replace compressed air cans. Thing is a beast for cleaning any electronics, comes with multiple attachments so you can get small stuff as well. The one and only downside is it is pretty damn loud. But that is it. Everything else about it is nearly perfect, and I could not live without it now.



#13 Colicab

Colicab

    DGDesign

  • 4,182 posts
  • Joined: 25-May 03
  • Location: Glasgow Scotland

Posted 11 February 2014 - 14:13

May I recommend this bad boy...

Metro Vaccuum ED500

 

The word Vacuum is misleading as it does not suck anything. It is just like a can of compressed air except it is powered.

 

Warwagon actually made a thread about it awhile back, how he used it to clean all his computers, etc., so I was getting frustrated with all my dogs hair, and damn, does it NO DOUBT replace compressed air cans. Thing is a beast for cleaning any electronics, comes with multiple attachments so you can get small stuff as well. The one and only downside is it is pretty damn loud. But that is it. Everything else about it is nearly perfect, and I could not live without it now.


Kinda sucks that on Amazon USA its $60 (£36)

Yet on UK site is £104 = $171



#14 Andrew

Andrew

    Once More 'Round the Sun

  • 24,869 posts
  • Joined: 14-September 03

Posted 11 February 2014 - 14:14

May I recommend this bad boy...

Metro Vaccuum ED500

 

The word Vacuum is misleading as it does not suck anything. It is just like a can of compressed air except it is powered.

 

Warwagon actually made a thread about it awhile back, how he used it to clean all his computers, etc., so I was getting frustrated with all my dogs hair, and damn, does it NO DOUBT replace compressed air cans. Thing is a beast for cleaning any electronics, comes with multiple attachments so you can get small stuff as well. The one and only downside is it is pretty damn loud. But that is it. Everything else about it is nearly perfect, and I could not live without it now.

 

I've been after one of those for years but the shipping cost is just as much as the item and they don't sell it over here (N)

 

Like I said above though, unless you can open the console you'll just be blowing dust around inside. The Data-Vac is great for PCs though (Y)



#15 vetDirtyLarry

DirtyLarry

    ®®\vers.12.vis.13.u.03.al\DL

  • 16,919 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: dirty jersey
  • OS: Win 8 | OS X 10.8.5 | Android 4.2.2
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 11 February 2014 - 14:17

I've been after one of those for years but the shipping cost is just as much as the item and they don't sell it over here (N)

 

Like I said above though, unless you can open the console you'll just be blowing dust around inside. The Data-Vac is great for PCs though (Y)

It gets dust out of consoles. Believe me.  :laugh: It gets dust out of everything, honestly. It is almost to good. The thing is a beast. I have to pretty much bring everything outside when I do it.

 

That is crazy it is so much overseas though. Really is. Hell I can probably buy it for you guys and ship it much cheaper.