Jump to content



Photo

Preparing a slipstream Windows 7 disc for network installs


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 10 February 2014 - 10:25

Hello,

Im getting a bit tired of formatting and installing so lets do this the right way: A semiautomatic installation.

It needs to ask me only the following questions:

PC name
User name
Domain the PC or not*

* - With this, a pop screen stating the mac address of all currently connected media would be nice. Some IP addresses get reserved via MAC address so I want to assign itduring setup.

All else should be automatic. Also I want to slipstream all possible updates to date to avoid all those restarts.

I pretty much know how to do PXE setups since Ive read some tutorials and they look pretty easy.

Whats the best way to do this? nLite existed a long time ago but Im not sure if there is better alternatives now...

Thank you


#2 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 10 February 2014 - 14:42

You could use the Windows Automated Installation Kit. It's available here.

#3 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 10 February 2014 - 15:27

Hello,

You could use the Windows Automated Installation Kit. It's available here.

Thank you Eric. Ive read about this but Im not sure if it can be customizable to exactly what I want...

Im gonna check it out and any doubts Ill post. Thank you.

#4 Grunt

Grunt

    Golden Boy

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-March 02
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 10 February 2014 - 15:33

Could set up WDS on a server and get MDT going as well for LiteTouch Deployment.

Then WSUS as well for fun.

 

 

I'm setting this up at home but more of a lab thing for figuring out issues at work.



#5 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 10 February 2014 - 16:35

Hello,

Installed both WAIK and MDT.

It seems I have to make a WIM so Im extracting the files from the ISO.

It seems I can make a 32 and 64 bit image so Im going that route.

#6 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 10 February 2014 - 17:24

Hello,

Im trying to use the Windows System Image Manager as it allows me to mount a WIM file.

Ill have to ask later how to integrate updates.

BTW, it asked me, when I mounted the WIM file, what versión did I want (Pro, Ultimate, etc). What happens when I want to mount a universal disc?

#7 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 10 February 2014 - 17:27

I'm not exactly sure. If it didn't install help files you should be able to find that information on TechNet. Their docs do not require an account.

#8 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:35

Hello,

Hmm...can't seem to get it to work. Windows System Image Manager fails when I try to load a Windows image (WIM).

#9 OP +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:33

Hello,

 

Since I couldnt get it to work, Ill just make a image with Clonezilla after sysprop with everything updated...





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!