Jump to content



Photo

Really bad FPS


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 DidiGG

DidiGG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 14

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:57

So, lurker for a very very long time, but I am in need of your assistance.

 

MOBO: AsRock Z87 Extreme3

CPU: i5 4670k

GPU: Gigabyte GTX 760 DirectCU OC

 

These are the components of my rig that I build this weekend. It started as little bad performance ( most likely GPU ), but in some games I just have low fps.

In games like LoL ( sometimes they drop to 30 ) with Vsync and Aliasing off. Guild Wars 2 runs smooth is some places with high settings, CS:GO has occassional fps drops, usually have it around 100, but they drop  to like 30. With the stuff I have, I think I shouldn't have these issues. I have an SSD Samsung Evo 840, which is my only storage. 

Could it be a bad Windows and maybe putting bad performance like that? Anything I need to enable in BIOS or any tweaks to boost performance?

 

Temps are perfect 35C on all, and nothing went wrong with the build.

 

Just want it to run smooth, since I barely saved money for this, and I don't have money for other parts, since these work fine, just dunno why they dont perform.

 

Please, I need help with this.

 

 

Thanks all!




#2 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 07:58

Hello,

 

Check that all your drivers are up to date. All of them.



#3 OP DidiGG

DidiGG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 14

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:09

Hello,

 

Check that all your drivers are up to date. All of them.

I have the latest GPU drivers, none for CPU as far as I know, have latest drivers for MOBO ( Intel RST, and random stuff like that ), just not BIOS update.

Is there a program to see which drivers I'm missing and are critically needed?

 

And just now did a benchmark with a unigine engine. Lowest FPS 7 Highest FPS 76...but did run on avarage on 30/40 and movement looked smooth. It was all max settings and full screen.



#4 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:51

Hello,

 

What PSU do you have?

 

Run MemTest.

 

I know my suggestions are random but it could be anything if you updated all drivers.



#5 OP DidiGG

DidiGG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 14

Posted 11 February 2014 - 08:57

Antec HCG-620M 620W ATX12V Modular SINGLE-RAIL 48A 80PLUS Bronze 135mm Fan Active PFC Power Supply 

 

http://products.ncix...-67325-1363.htm

 

Or a link if u prefer.

 

Would re-install with new Windows ( not the same ones as now ) possibly help?

 

For the memtest u said, I can't find a DL on main site, and it says to run from bootable ISO? Can you explain a bit about the program?



#6 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:06

Use LatencyMon and make sure you don't see randomly high DPC all of the time (misbehaving driver?). 



#7 OP DidiGG

DidiGG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 14

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:19

REPORTED DPCs
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DPC routines are part of the interrupt servicing dispatch mechanism and disable the possibility for a process to utilize the CPU while it is interrupted until the DPC has finished execution.
 
Highest DPC routine execution time (µs):              628.31980
Driver with highest DPC routine execution time:       ndis.sys - NDIS 6.20 driver, Microsoft Corporation
 
Highest reported total DPC routine time (%):          0.03470
Driver with highest DPC total execution time:         nvlddmkm.sys - NVIDIA Windows Kernel Mode Driver, Version 332.21 , NVIDIA Corporation
 
Total time spent in DPCs (%)                          0.106749
 
DPC count (execution time <250 µs):                   45967
DPC count (execution time 250-500 µs):                0
DPC count (execution time 500-999 µs):                41
DPC count (execution time 1000-1999 µs):              0
DPC count (execution time 2000-3999 µs):              0
DPC count (execution time >=4000 µs):                 0
 
 
 
 
 
One was really high in the link, dunno if normal.  And Highest reported hard pagefault resolution time went all the way to red.


#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:41

 

REPORTED DPCs
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
DPC routines are part of the interrupt servicing dispatch mechanism and disable the possibility for a process to utilize the CPU while it is interrupted until the DPC has finished execution.
 
Highest DPC routine execution time (µs):              628.31980
Driver with highest DPC routine execution time:       ndis.sys - NDIS 6.20 driver, Microsoft Corporation
 
Highest reported total DPC routine time (%):          0.03470
Driver with highest DPC total execution time:         nvlddmkm.sys - NVIDIA Windows Kernel Mode Driver, Version 332.21 , NVIDIA Corporation
 
Total time spent in DPCs (%)                          0.106749
 
DPC count (execution time <250 µs):                   45967
DPC count (execution time 250-500 µs):                0
DPC count (execution time 500-999 µs):                41
DPC count (execution time 1000-1999 µs):              0
DPC count (execution time 2000-3999 µs):              0
DPC count (execution time >=4000 µs):                 0
 
 
 
 
 
One was really high in the link, dunno if normal.  And Highest reported hard pagefault resolution time went all the way to red.

 

High pagefaults in the red is normal. None of that appears to be an issue (the high one is the link the latencymon driver). It was just a hunch since you said you were getting spikes (huge low spikes) in the FPS. I thought it might correspond to spikes in DPC, but nope.

 

A re-install could help if something is mucked up on the software side and causing the issue. Have you disabled as much running software as possible during gaming just to see if fixes the issue?



#9 AStaley

AStaley

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-August 04
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64, OSX Mavericks, Elementary OS, Server 2008 R2/2012 R2, CentOS.
  • Phone: iPhone 6 (IOS8)

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:44

I assume the benchmark you ran was Heaven 4.0, what settings did you use?  Average FPS of 30-40 for the 760 is about right, minimum seems a little low so might be worth doing a couple of runs.  How much RAM do you have installed?  You could also try doing a clean install of the Nvidia drivers, download the latest from their website and select custom (think it says advanced) install, remove the 3D items as you won't need them and tick the option for clean install.  Reboot once done.  Also what version of Windows are you running, is this a clean install or you have restored a clone copy from a mechanical drive?



#10 OP DidiGG

DidiGG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 14

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:50

I think it was Heaven 4.0  yes and use all max settings, just not 3D ones. I have 8gb RAM, and am running W7 64Bit / Clean install all. Maybe it could be Windows? Don't I need 3D components in drivers for gaming? Everytime I write in google for example...I write it, but it delays a bit and comes like a second after. Dunno why that is there.

I run Chrome, if that is connected in some way.

 

And disabling other programs doesnt help, since I barely have any, apart from essentials.



#11 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 09:55

Hello,

Maybe it could be Windows?

Why would it be Windows? The Windows you use is the same Windows used by millions and the hardware you used is also used by millions...unless your copy is not legal and original.

#12 OP DidiGG

DidiGG

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 14

Posted 11 February 2014 - 10:01

Hello,
Why would it be Windows? The Windows you use is the same Windows used by millions and the hardware you used is also used by millions...unless your copy is not legal and original.


Maybe some files are bad on it, or the CD is damaged and doesn't install properly. They are legit.

#13 AStaley

AStaley

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-August 04
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64, OSX Mavericks, Elementary OS, Server 2008 R2/2012 R2, CentOS.
  • Phone: iPhone 6 (IOS8)

Posted 11 February 2014 - 10:10

If you are worried about the state of your Win7 install try running "sfc /scannow" in an elevated command prompt.  This will check the major system files and tell you if there are any problems found.  Also just as a thought what anti-virus are you running if any?



#14 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 10:38

Hello,

Maybe some files are bad on it, or the CD is damaged and doesn't install properly. They are legit.

Then make a image of it if you feel the CD is a bit damaged before you damage it more :)

Another thing, I imagine Linux has a benchmark similar to Heaven. Try it there :)

#15 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 11 February 2014 - 10:46

Hello,

For the memtest u said, I can't find a DL on main site, and it says to run from bootable ISO? Can you explain a bit about the program?

http://www.memtest.org/#downiso

You either burn it to a disk or install it on a booting USB. Start your PC up from that media and see if it gives any errors.