Jump to content



Photo

Run a program while computer is locked on secondary monitor


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Jonathan Lucas

Jonathan Lucas

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 13

Posted 11 February 2014 - 16:01

Ok,

I have a laptop that is located in a restaurant. It is located in a employee only area. It is for serving advertisements that are piped out onto a large screen via VGA. The screen is located in a public place where foot traffic passes all day and night. 

 

I want to be able to run my slideshow of advertisements onto the LCD outside, while securing the laptop inside. In a perfect world I would want to lock the laptop to keep employees from doing anything with the laptop while no one is around...

 

This laptops only role is to serve these ads.

 

Should I look for Kiosk software for this? I am only using the secondary monitor for this..

 

Please help me..

 

TIA




#2 +LambdaLambdaLambdaFn

LambdaLambdaLambdaFn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 13

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:11

I don't think that can be done in Windows, but you could do what you want to do very cheaply on a Raspberry Pi.



#3 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Copyright Withheld

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:20

Im wondering if you can set up password protected screen saver on the laptop and still output to the second monitor.



#4 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:22

You can get an app that can lock a mouse and/or keyboard while you run ads on the monitor... so no one can mess with it.

 

I made an app for my PC years ago that my family can not do a thing on the keyboard...    I have it somewhere...  I laughed at them. 

 

Their face expressions were priceless... lol   like 'WTF?'



#5 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:26

You can get an app that can lock a mouse and/or keyboard while you run ads on the monitor... so no one can mess with it.

 

I made an app for my PC years ago that my family can not do a thing on the keyboard...    I have it somewhere...  I laughed at them. 

 

Their face expressions were priceless... lol   like 'WTF?'

Yea, something like this would be best (Mouse/KB Locker).  I made something similar.  It turned the screen black and removed the ability to input anything (unless a code was typed in exact sequence). It would then connect to a server where I could send messages to the locked PC and display them on the screen (think matrix).  Could not ctrl+alt+delete or anything.  



#6 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:52

Two more options:

 

1) you can run rotating ad-images in the screensaver with lock enabled.  If you run a loop video, you can get video screensaver and install it... if you prefer to run ads in order... you can untick the "shuffle" option.

 

or

 

2) you can get laptop tray with lock/key like this: (cost more)

 

 

I like mouse/keyboard lock app better which is cheaper... If I knew where my app is, I get you a copy with updated (up to code) for Windows 7 or newer.. My projects that I developed years ago are in the storage somewhere. I was a big time programmer back in Windows 95 days.

 

Edit: Not sure why the link gets disappeared...  If you want a link for laptop tray, send me PM.



#7 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Copyright Withheld

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:57

I was just thinking before about the possibility of making the video/images as a screen saver Im sure there software available to do that



#8 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:58

You haven't said what OS it is, but Windows 8 has kiosk mode if that is an option.



#9 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Copyright Withheld

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 11 February 2014 - 20:59

Here an MS product that allows such

http://www.microsoft....aspx?id=23504#

 

 

The Microsoft Video Screensaver includes sample movie footage that gives you a surprisingly new view of countries all over the world. Every language release has its own video that shows you in a new and surprising way what living in these countries may look like. This international version represents a compilation of some of the best scenes from several country-specific releases.

You can either choose to play the default video or your own private selection of your favourite home videos. Simply point the Microsoft Video Screensaver in the configuration dialog to a custom video folder and you can play your own video files or links to these video files from that folder - either randomly or in sequential order.



#10 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 11 February 2014 - 21:08

I was just thinking before about the possibility of making the video/images as a screen saver Im sure there software available to do that

 

No need to get alternative screensaver... you can use default screensaver... for example:

 

WindowsVista32LivePhotoGalleryPhoto.jpg



#11 theslam08

theslam08

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-November 08

Posted 11 February 2014 - 21:33

I'm not sure if I understand 100% because no one mentioned this, so I probably don't know exactly what you're going for but,

 

In windows, you know you can Right Click on Desktop > Screen Resolution > Then choose which display you want it to show. You have the option of choosing only either display, extend them or only laptop (with extended screen connected, it will just be black). Choose to only show on the extended display (only, not extend or duplicate).

 

That will make your laptop screen black with no way to get out of it BUT to view the extended display and navigate to set it back up. You could then run anything/everything on that.

 

That is 100% free and part of Windows (wVista I think/w7/w8). Its just a suggestion as you probably already know about this but incase you don't, it might be worth a try before 'buying' anything extra. Might be enough of what you need.



#12 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 11 February 2014 - 22:11

I'm not sure if I understand 100% because no one mentioned this, so I probably don't know exactly what you're going for but,

 

In windows, you know you can Right Click on Desktop > Screen Resolution > Then choose which display you want it to show. You have the option of choosing only either display, extend them or only laptop (with extended screen connected, it will just be black). Choose to only show on the extended display (only, not extend or duplicate).

 

That will make your laptop screen black with no way to get out of it BUT to view the extended display and navigate to set it back up. You could then run anything/everything on that.

 

That is 100% free and part of Windows (wVista I think/w7/w8). Its just a suggestion as you probably already know about this but incase you don't, it might be worth a try before 'buying' anything extra. Might be enough of what you need.

 

I suggest that you re-read OP's post. 

 

OP was talking about securing a laptop from other employees messing it up.  Such as lock a laptop or lock a keyboard with an app... like an app I made many years ago..



#13 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 11 February 2014 - 22:20

I suggest that you re-read OP's post. 

 

OP was talking about securing a laptop from other employees messing it up.  Such as lock a laptop or lock a keyboard with an app... like an app I made many years ago..

I sort of agree with theslam08

Some sort of Power Point Presentation running automated, or the screensaver might work, (might)

 

OP as for the laptop, you could get someone to build, unless it's available to buy, a cage for the laptop and secure it in the closed position.

(might need to adjust it's power options, personally I'd get a desktop if you plan on running said program for long periods of time, with a desktop, you could simply remove the keyboard and mouse, and if the tower is in a vented glass cage that needs to be opened in order to gain access to the ports to connect peripherals.....)

 

(Or with an Rpi as suggested above)



#14 OP Jonathan Lucas

Jonathan Lucas

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-February 13

Posted 12 February 2014 - 04:12

Hmm. very interesting..

 

Thanks SO much for the replies everyone..

 

One thing about the screensaver solution is... what if someone touches the mouse or keyboard? The presentation stops, then the user is presented with a login screen.. the login screen stays, and I believe the screensaver would not resume correct?

What if i simply disabled the inputs within the BIOS and administrated the laptop locally with USB KB / mouse?

I do add new ads to the rotation remotely, so there is no need to actually be physically in front of the machine... but I know there will be a time if there is a power surge, or some kind of unforeseen situation where someone would have to be there to get it up again.. if the inputs were disabled.. well. 

 

If only there was a way to lock the primary screen, and still output an application through the second monitor? We all know programs still run under a lock screen ( using win7 pro ) .. instead of the secondary screen turning black, why not just show whats running instead??? Just a thought... 



#15 giantpotato

giantpotato

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-January 04
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Posted 12 February 2014 - 04:21

I'm not sure if I understand 100% because no one mentioned this, so I probably don't know exactly what you're going for but,

 

In windows, you know you can Right Click on Desktop > Screen Resolution > Then choose which display you want it to show. You have the option of choosing only either display, extend them or only laptop (with extended screen connected, it will just be black). Choose to only show on the extended display (only, not extend or duplicate).

 

That will make your laptop screen black with no way to get out of it BUT to view the extended display and navigate to set it back up. You could then run anything/everything on that.

 

That is 100% free and part of Windows (wVista I think/w7/w8). Its just a suggestion as you probably already know about this but incase you don't, it might be worth a try before 'buying' anything extra. Might be enough of what you need.

 

Someone could just hit <windows key>+P a couple times to get out of that.