Jump to content



Photo

Unable to install programs

Answered Go to the full post mwb

  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 11 February 2014 - 21:05

Just got windows installed and updated, now when I try to install certain program like Cowon JetAudio, or Wincdemu, they will not install. Jetaudio launches the install shield and the progress bar moves, but then it freezes and eventually fails to install. With Wincdemu, as soon as I click ok to install it says install failed. It does prompt for admin privileges to install. I have run a SFC/scannow and it reports nothing wrong. The HDD is brand new, and SMART status shows that everything is OK... what could be causing this issue?



Best Answer +BudMan , 15 February 2014 - 16:02

"I just now changed the ownership..."

 

So you had the problem before you changed ownership?  If so then yeah my bad, you didn't tweak any other permissions you felt were wrong?

 

Lets start clean!!  And document ANY changes you do to system files, registry, etc..

 

Then as your installing your apps - lets see after what app you fall into a problem.  To save time, since you seem to be very prone to computer issues ;)  You have a large number of threads with odd issues if I am recalling your nick correctly ;)  You ###### off the computer karma gods at some point ;)

 

After your CLEAN install and windows updates, take an image so you can start fresh at nice and clean box without have to run through windows update again, etc.  Then when you have your base software installed, take a different image and now you can roll back to either spot in only a few minutes.

Go to the full post



#2 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 11 February 2014 - 21:13

What version of Windows?

Any security/anti-virus software installed that could be causing a problem?

Can you install other programs, or is it just these you're having problems with?

 

edit: And something simple, which I'm sure you've tried, but have you tried restarting and trying again?



#3 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 11 February 2014 - 21:21

right click on installer>Run as Admin...have you tried that? I mean, that's if you're running Vista/7/8, with XP, that option isn't there. Knowing which version of windows, though, would help tremendously.



#4 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 12 February 2014 - 01:10

I tagged this thread win7. Yes I have tried restarting windows. I've tried running as admin. I do have kaspersky installed, but it is not blocking the install. As for other programs, so far others have installed fine.

#5 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 12 February 2014 - 01:35

Whoops, didn't notice the tag. My apologies. I'm mobile right now, but that's definitely strange. I will be back at my comp soon, I'll see if I can come up with a solution then. Unless someone beats me to it anyway.

#6 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 12 February 2014 - 02:33

^Thanks!

This is what happens:

jet audio.PNG

jet audio1.PNG

wincdemu.PNG

Even checking the box does nothing...



#7 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 12 February 2014 - 02:48

Have you tried running "sfc /scannow"? - you did this :p

Also, check your services and see if Windows Installer service is running and still running after the failure.

It may also help to check "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\InProgress" when there are no installations running at all and see if there's a failed one that got stuck.

#8 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 12 February 2014 - 03:04

Few thoughts...  

Check to see if you have the latest Windows installer. ( I actually ran into an issue where the default one failed that was installed with Windows 7 but once I updated it then it installed.)  

 

Try the program in compatibility mode.... VISTA or XP

 

Also another thought - Try the following:

Run program in ADVANCED mode where you can specify the directory where it saves it to. 

Also check the properties of the installer ... It is also possible that there may need the "Unblock" and also Check the permissions of the File... it is possible that you may need to add it so that for example it can install for all users. 



#9 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 12 February 2014 - 03:36

In terms of the InstallSheild setup, something is preventing the COM component InstallSheild uses during setup to be registered.

 

Add the installer to the DEP exclusion list and try again.

 

edit: corrected atrocious grammar.



#10 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 12 February 2014 - 03:53

In terms of the InstallSheild setup, something is preventing the COM component InstallSheild uses during setup to be registered.

 

Add the installer the DEP exclusion list and trying again.

Your post got me thinking: maybe he is using EMET and that's causing the issues.



#11 +Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan Kenobi

    "You were the chosen one!"

  • Joined: 11-November 02
  • Location: West-Central Texas

Posted 12 February 2014 - 04:24

have you checked that all of the .Net features are all up to date too? Edit: EMET may VERY well be causing the problems as well....I hope that's all it is! At the very least....hmm...COMM components...are you sure everything is registered correctly reguarding COMM components? Maybe a rogue DLL that hasn't been registered correctly? I mean I have never had any problems after a clean install, but you never EVER know what might happen....



#12 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 12 February 2014 - 15:08

What is EMET? Also I went ahead and disabled DEP just to rule that out. I have attempted to run the file in compatibility mode, still nothing happens. @Redvamp, it was indeed blocked, I unblocked it but it does nothing, how do I prevent files that I download from being blocked? @Eric, nothing showing in the registry.



#13 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 12 February 2014 - 16:07

Even though you allow the program to install, sometimes these installs need to be ran as an administrator. 

shift + right click on the install

run as Administrator



#14 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 12 February 2014 - 18:06

What is EMET? Also I went ahead and disabled DEP just to rule that out. I have attempted to run the file in compatibility mode, still nothing happens. @Redvamp, it was indeed blocked, I unblocked it but it does nothing, how do I prevent files that I download from being blocked? @Eric, nothing showing in the registry.

This: http://support.micro....com/kb/2458544 It could cause problems with misbehavior in applications. If you aren't running it, it isn't the problem though ;-)

 



#15 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 12 February 2014 - 19:36

Have the installer generate a log file and see if that offers more information:

 

If the installer is MSI (aka Windows Installer) based (which includes modern InstallShield installations):

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/223300

 

If it's an older InstallShield installation:

http://serverfault.c...ng-installation