Jump to content



Photo

Have you ever hooked your console up to a computer monitor?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

Poll: Console gaming

This is a public poll. Other members will be able to see which options you chose

How many times have you hooked your console up to a computer monitor in the last 6 months?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.

If you have, was it ever sitting at a desk in place of your computer?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • 4,371 posts
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:02

Curious about how many people have used their gaming console in place of their computer.  Or having them both hooked up to an HDMI switch?  




#2 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • 33,984 posts
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:06

I have a PC as well as my 2 consoles and satellite receiver into an amplifier (essentially the same as your HDMI switch) into my TV.  Why?  What you wanna know? :)



#3 +Tech085

Tech085

    Neowinian

  • 865 posts
  • Joined: 23-July 13
  • Location: United States
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:19

My old xbox 360 elite did it once hook up to my computer monitor with hdmi since my monitor had built in speakers I know I could also hook it up through the computer speakers don't own a console right now might consider a ps4 or xbox one for my next console in the future not in a rush to get one right now.



#4 Xilo

Xilo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,311 posts
  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:20

I used to do this in college and before I got a TV. My monitor has a boatload of inputs. I also use the optical to my computer speakers.

 

Right now I have 2 cable boxes and one is hooked up to one of my monitors (sport triple monitors) since I don't have a 2nd TV in the house.



#5 trek

trek

    7 / X

  • 2,916 posts
  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:21

Yes to play through the story of GTA 5 in the middle of the night on my 360 :p

 

My monitor has HDMI and a soundbar below so the audio outputs right there with one cable



#6 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,750 posts
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:25

When my friend comes over to play, I hook his Xbox up to one of my monitors (out of 3) via HDMI. I have his sound come through my computer speakers. That way I get my big TV and my surround sound all to myself :p



#7 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • 1,563 posts
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:36

I had to vote: not in the last 6 months, but my Wii is hooked up via a wii2hdmi at my computer desk under normal circumstances... I just haven't played it in the last 6 months so it isn't plugged in.

 

EDIT: in addition, if I ever get around to playing the PS3 that's sitting around here, I'll bring it up and hook it to the monitor.



#8 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • 7,995 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:41

used to have my ps3 plugged into my hdmi computer monitor could switch from dvi (pc) to hdmi (ps3). Then the PS3 was stolen.. so it wasn't anymore.



#9 KingCracker

KingCracker

    I am your huckleberry.

  • 4,287 posts
  • Joined: 23-February 12
  • Location: Knoxville,TN

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:44

Yes I do.



#10 madd-hatter

madd-hatter

    Crazy Hat Salesman

  • 1,408 posts
  • Joined: 17-January 07
  • Location: World Citizen

Posted 14 February 2014 - 14:20

I have 2x 24" on a desk. As for the second monitor, I'd say that 80% of the time it's hooked up to the PC, 20% to a console. It is always connected to both.

I have to use an external audio source when playing the console on the monitor. (Not a problem for me.)



#11 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,337 posts
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 14 February 2014 - 14:24

I use my 5.1 receiver to switch between my laptop and games consoles (Xbox 360, PS3, Raspberry Pi) currently.

 

Since my PlayStation 2 though I've ran my console to my computer monitor on an alternate input (Dell ultrasharp, S-Video in).



#12 JonnyLH

JonnyLH

    I say things.

  • 1,175 posts
  • Joined: 15-February 13
  • Location: UK
  • OS: W8, W7, WP8, iOS, Ubuntu
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 14 February 2014 - 14:29

Back in the day when the 360 first launched, I used to game through a 19" monitor which had a 16:10 res of 1440x900. 

 

I picked my X1 up at work so I hooked it back up to my desk which has two Samsung 1080p monitors on it. Way prefer it through the big TV though.



#13 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,712 posts
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 14 February 2014 - 14:34

I used to have the 360 and PS3 go through my PC monitor at one point.

 

Mainly because i wanted to play GT5 with my G25 and at my desk was the best spot for it.

It wasn't ideal and setting up the audio was pain in the backside.

 

I'm sure i had my Dreamcast setup to an old CRT at one point too.



#14 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,654 posts
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 14 February 2014 - 14:36

Used to have a 360 connected to my monitor back when I used an AVR with my PC.



#15 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • 5,907 posts
  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 14 February 2014 - 14:37

I currently have my XB1, PS4 and PS3 hooked up to my 27 inch Ultrasharp. It's a 1440p monitor but consoles look ok on it.

 

2014-01-23 16.08.17.jpg





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!