Jump to content



Photo

Win7 backup problems

windows 7 backup

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Alley Moose

Alley Moose

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-September 12

Posted 15 February 2014 - 08:35

I have been running a Windows 7 desktop for a year now, and manually backing up files about once a month to an external HDD.

 

Today however, back up would not complete.  I do not understand why.




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 February 2014 - 14:00

And going to need a bit more more to go on if you want someone to even guess to what the problem was.

 

What error did you get, when you say you manually backup files - do you just pick a file an windows file copy it to your external HDD, do you run some backup software that you manually run with a backup set defined in it. Are you using the built in backup solution of windows that you run manually?

 

Going to need something to work with here to even make a guess.



#3 OP Alley Moose

Alley Moose

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-September 12

Posted 17 February 2014 - 16:13

I have been making backups to the same external HDD, for the last 12 months.  Now this attached error pops up, and backup will not finish.

 

omg I hate windows7.jpg



#4 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 18 February 2014 - 03:15

Is your hard drive some how mounting as a removal device instead of a hard drive? have you tried unplugging and plugging your drive back in?



#5 OP Alley Moose

Alley Moose

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-September 12

Posted 18 February 2014 - 21:41

Windows recognizes the backup External HDD, as a Hard Drive but not as Removal Storage.

I have been using this External HDD for over a year to do manual backups, since it is not plugged in when not in use.

 

Image2.jpg



#6 daorbed9

daorbed9

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-May 13
  • Location: NC

Posted 18 February 2014 - 21:48

You can try deleting the partition and recreating it on the external.  You will of course lose anything on it but it will probably fix it.



#7 OP Alley Moose

Alley Moose

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-September 12

Posted 22 February 2014 - 02:34

Drive G is not a partition.  But a separate Hard Drive, and External.



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 22 February 2014 - 14:53

All hard drives have partitions ;)  So you could remove the partition and recreate it.

 

Can you post screen of your disk manager showing this disk - did it get marked active somehow?  Is the partition listed as system?  Did you try changing the drive letter of the drive to something other than G?  Make it H for example, does it work then..  If so change it back to G.



#9 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 22 February 2014 - 15:08

Maybe you need to manually remove some of the oldest Back-ups to allow room.



#10 OP Alley Moose

Alley Moose

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-September 12

Posted 01 March 2014 - 02:11

I reformatted the Hard Drive.  950 GB free, previous back up size of 460 GB.  Ran backup again, and the error remains.



#11 devobtch

devobtch

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-February 14

Posted 01 March 2014 - 03:05

its saying you can not schedule a back up on a removable drive

try a manual backup

 

devobtch





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!