Jump to content



Photo

Intel® ICH8 Belongs To Which Intel Chipset Series?

intel chipset ich8

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 17 February 2014 - 11:10

Intel download site is confusing.

I have a Dell laptop circa 2008 and it has the ICH8 but when looking for a driver I never know which chipset series it is.

 

Dell Studio 1525.

 

Thanks




#2 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 17 February 2014 - 11:31

965 Series Chipsets. Thats old its actually PATA



#3 srbeen

srbeen

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-November 11

Posted 17 February 2014 - 12:13

Try this. I had 0 luck when I used it, maybe you will be luckier. I believe the 965 is correct, but I can only find desktop board info - nothing mobile.

 

https://downloadcent...cation Utility"



#4 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Pax Orbis
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 17 February 2014 - 12:33

Intel download site is confusing.

I have a Dell laptop circa 2008 and it has the ICH8 but when looking for a driver I never know which chipset series it is.

 

Dell Studio 1525.

 

Thanks

 

You can download all the stock drivers directly from Dell.



#5 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 17 February 2014 - 12:52

this should work:

https://downloadcent...tility&lang=eng



#6 OP flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 17 February 2014 - 13:46

Thanks to all. Yes I could download from Dell which is an alternate but I was hoping to get a newer version at Intel's website. Dont know if it makes a difference or not



#7 OP flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 17 February 2014 - 14:34

Thanks for the link. I just downloaded and tonight after work I will install it. One question though.

Sometimes when I have installed this type of software the install takes it's time which is a good thing and sometimes it goes by very fast and that concerns me. Usually happens with older chipsets.

Why would it not be the same? Is it because Windows already has the built in driver?



#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 17 February 2014 - 20:10

^ Installing Intel chipset drivers will do that if you've already installed them previously. The updated driver packages don't necessarily contain many updates, so the install will finish quickly. Remember, these are bulk packages with a lot of drivers, so when they deliver a new package it probably just has only a few updates.



#9 OP flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 17 February 2014 - 20:11

Thanks for the information but what if it is a fresh install of Windows?



#10 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 17 February 2014 - 20:22

Thanks for the information but what if it is a fresh install of Windows?

This is an older machine, so it's possible that most (if not all) of the up-to-date drivers are already distributed and installed automatically. So it may just be extraneous to install the chipset drivers manually. I'd still do it in any case.



#11 OP flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 17 February 2014 - 20:25

OK will do



#12 vetRadishTM

RadishTM

    Neowinian Racer

  • Joined: 28-November 01
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 7 x64

Posted 17 February 2014 - 23:40

You can run the Intel chipset setup via the Run command with "setup.exe -overall -overide" (no quotes). This overwrites the previous install and updates all the files as well.



#13 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 17 February 2014 - 23:59

You can run the Intel chipset setup via the Run command with "setup.exe -overall -overide" (no quotes). This overwrites the previous install and updates all the files as well.

Very cool tip!



#14 OP flynempire

flynempire

    It's called the bat and yes Mr. Wayne it comes in black :)

  • Joined: 19-January 10
  • Location: Sunny - Miami, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro SP-1, Windows 8.1 (RT) Android 4.1.2, 2.3.6, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Exhibit (Latest Model)

Posted 02 March 2014 - 21:26

Wow never knew that. Will add to my bag of tricks!

 

Thanks  :)





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!