Jump to content



Photo

download speed halved! cause?

router speed download internet speed connection

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 papercut2008uk

papercut2008uk

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-June 13

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:17

my internet download speed has dropped significantly in the last few days from 650-700Kbps, which has been pretty constant since i got it 8 years ago, now its a little over 300kbps.

 

i'm pretty sure my ISP isn't throttling the connection. (i'm with Sky)

 

so i'm at a loss as to what it could be because i've checked pretty much everything.

 

what has been ruled out.

 

1 Computer to router - speed is the same through Wifi (laptop) and Network cable (desktop), 

 

2, Router overheating, although i've had issues with this in the past, the router has been off on many occasions over night and then on, the speed is the same.

 

Router status shows:

 

Connection Speed 3067 kbps

797 kbps

Line Attenuation 33 db 18 db Line Attenuation 33 db

18 db

 

 

i've already reset the router (with the reset switch for 30 seconds) a few times, makes no difference.

 

3, checked the phone socket to see if that could be an issue, there was some corrosion on one of the pins inside which i cleaned, made no difference. 

 

 

 

Setup is like this:

 

Computer -> network Cable -> Router -> DSL to Phone cable -> Phone extension -> Phone line/wall

 

 

 

 




#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:21

Ageing network cable? rj45 cat 5e?

 

If I may be so bold, I would suggest a new cable might help (I upgraded my wired connections to cat6 even though I don't need it)

I only mentioned the cable as I once had a devil of a time trying to figure out why my vm set up slowed down, and after a week of troubleshooting, I discovered changing the cable helped



#3 OP papercut2008uk

papercut2008uk

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-June 13

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:23

network cable is about 2 years old, it's a 50m Sheilded Cat5E, which i ruled out becuse it's the same speed over WiFi from my laptop.

 

the rest of the stuff i should add is atleast 8 years old. 



#4 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:24

other than suggesting full resets and clearing caches, I got nothing bud

 

(and you did mention you've tried a hard reset)



#5 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:24

Someone tapping in to your wireless ?

 

 

Another router using the same channel ?

 

Try switching.

 

I had a similar DSL problem once -- turns out it was a bad board at the phone office.



#6 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:38

That's strange... I'm with TalkTalk and my speeds have literally been slashed from just over 1.2MB/s to ~250KB/s in the past week. I'm putting it down to weather although my area hasn't been hard hit at all (bit of wind never hurt anybody). If it doesn't pick back up I'll be spending a considerable amount of time getting it back to those speeds.

 

I'd expect throttling if I'd been hitting the old tpb, but I haven't :/



#7 OP papercut2008uk

papercut2008uk

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-June 13

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:40

might have to replace all the ageing cabling. but stuck with the old sky router i've got :/



#8 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:43

Another thing I might mention as the storm have hit the UK badly

there might be outages and isp's are probably shunting customers onto other networks due to no coverage in some areas (happened in wolves when they were setting up the new servers)



#9 exotoxic

exotoxic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 04
  • Location: England

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:59

Try a different ADSL filter.



#10 Praetor

Praetor

    ASCii / ANSi Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-June 02
  • Location: Lisbon
  • OS: Windows Eight dot One dot One 1!one

Posted 19 February 2014 - 02:09

Try a different ADSL filter.

my first advice would be calling your ISP and have them check the connection and reported speeds so they can see the line from their gateway into your house if everything is ok.

 

Also about the ADSL filter: i had an similar issue a few years ago when using ADSL and the speed dropped like a rock; turn out to be the filter was dying so changing it would return the speeds and stability back to normal.

 

also this isn't a WIFI issue, since OP reports low speeds even on cable.



#11 OP papercut2008uk

papercut2008uk

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-June 13

Posted 19 February 2014 - 02:18

I dont use any filters!

 

i bypassed the filters completely for the router by using a DSL to Phone line cable, the router connects directly into the main phone socket in the house, all the phones are in the filters though.

 

i'm suspecting that there might be an issue with some of the cabling, so i'm going to wait a week to rule out the weather being an issue since there was a lot of flooding (not in my area though) in UK,



#12 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 February 2014 - 16:12

Hello,

How exactly are you measuring these speeds?

#13 OP papercut2008uk

papercut2008uk

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-June 13

Posted 19 February 2014 - 23:35

download speed is taken from Windows Gadget Network Meter and Speedtest.net

 

the connection speed is from the router it's self by logging in and checking connection status/stats.

 

http://www.speedtest...sult/3318278697

 

 



#14 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 19 February 2014 - 23:41

Without a lot more information it can be anyone's guess why your connection has slowed. Could be interference, a thief, router being on too long, a broken peering connection, ISP throttling, etc.

might have to replace all the ageing cabling. but stuck with the old sky router i've got :/

Aging cabling? Network cables are made out of copper. Unless you've bent it to the point of internal breakage the cable will last longer than both of us electrically (if not entirely).



#15 Ultravires

Ultravires

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-September 08

Posted 19 February 2014 - 23:44

Not sure if this is related to your situation; however, i have had an issue once where my internet speeds was really slow and it turned out to be the power supply of the modem. So if you do try to swap out the power supply make sure you use a similar voltage type, etc.