Jump to content



Photo

[windows 8.1]

Answered Go to the full post win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 leesmithg

leesmithg

    The Major!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.

Posted 19 February 2014 - 20:38

I purchased a new PC for my son today.

 

It came with Windows 8.1 installed.

 

He is happy so won't be installing 7.

 

Two things, It recognised home group when I tried to join to mine, I entered correct PW, however it said, needs permission, so help with this please.

 

I also need to know how to get to Windows Updates.



Best Answer John.D , 19 February 2014 - 21:00

Turn password protected sharing off. Install something like classicshell. At least it'll give you  a menu

Go to the full post



#2 Studio384

Studio384

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8.0 GDR3

Posted 19 February 2014 - 20:58

You can find "Windows Updates" in the PC-Settings App > Update and repair, you can also search for "Windows Update" with the search charm. For your permission issue: what exactly do you mean UAC?



#3 John.D

John.D

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 10-November 09

Posted 19 February 2014 - 21:00   Best Answer

Turn password protected sharing off. Install something like classicshell. At least it'll give you  a menu



#4 +DConnell

DConnell

    Madman with a blue box

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Honey Brook PA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 (and loving it!)
  • Phone: Windows Phone 7

Posted 19 February 2014 - 21:14

I purchased a new PC for my son today.

 

It came with Windows 8.1 installed.

 

He is happy so won't be installing 7.

 

Two things, It recognised home group when I tried to join to mine, I entered correct PW, however it said, needs permission, so help with this please.

 

I also need to know how to get to Windows Updates.

 

What kind of account did you set up for him? Microsoft account or local?

 

And if it's a local, is he an admin or regular user. I'm wondering if you need admin privileges to join a homegroup.



#5 OP leesmithg

leesmithg

    The Major!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.

Posted 19 February 2014 - 21:42

What kind of account did you set up for him? Microsoft account or local?

 

And if it's a local, is he an admin or regular user. I'm wondering if you need admin privileges to join a homegroup.

It was pre-instelled, however I will check this out.

 

Thanks for other replies.



#6 xplatinum

xplatinum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-July 02

Posted 19 February 2014 - 21:46

I prefer the traditional GUI for getting updates. Right-click the start-menu, select System. Click on Windows Update on the bottom left of the window.



#7 OP leesmithg

leesmithg

    The Major!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-August 04
  • Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.

Posted 20 February 2014 - 14:10

Thanks for everyones help.

 

I realised the answer for HomeGroup once I went through HomeGroup settings, but was clued so thanks.

 

Windows updates, I created a shortcut via search and it's now pasted to start menu and is sorted too.

 

Thanks to everyone for their input, so everyone solved it.

 

:ninja:



#8 Jarrichvdv

Jarrichvdv

    Not all who wander are lost

  • Joined: 14-November 10
  • Location: Belgium, Asse
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Windows Phone 8 GDR3

Posted 20 February 2014 - 14:16

Turn password protected sharing off. Install something like classicshell. At least it'll give you  a menu

Why do you force others to change the way they use their PC? He said his son is happy with it.



#9 +DConnell

DConnell

    Madman with a blue box

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Honey Brook PA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 (and loving it!)
  • Phone: Windows Phone 7

Posted 20 February 2014 - 14:23

Why do you force others to change the way they use their PC? He said his son is happy with it.

 

Does Classic Shell always disable the Screen, or can that functionality be turned off? I can see where he might prefer to have a familiar menu to make supporting the system easier for him. If the addon menu and Start Screen can coexist, I don't see the harm in installing it.

 

His son can use the Screen for his everyday use, and leesmithg could have the familiar menu to use when fixing stuff. If he chose to install it.





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!