Jump to content



Photo

GPU making system shutdown?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 24 February 2014 - 21:53

Yesterday I was playing crysis2 and left the game running while I left the room. When I came back, the monitor was in standby, and when I reset the system, as soon as I log in, the screen goes blank and no matter what mode (safe, etc) the same thing happens. My gpu is a GTX260 and I have pulled it out, blew it out as well as the motherboard. My friend who had the same card told me that he had the same issue and was only able to get it to run in windows he had to under clock it using ntune, however I can not get into windows long enough to do that. The card is an xfx, so it's got a lifetime warranty on it.


#2 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 24 February 2014 - 22:02

Take a look at the card physically for any capacitor issues or visible surface problems. Although not directly the same, I got a RMA back from Gigabyte on a GTX 580 where it looks like they replaced a capacitor and the new capacitor is faulty. So the result was the same as you. The card would force the system to halt (shutdown) without any warning.



#3 OP jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 24 February 2014 - 22:21

I've looked it over with a flashlight and I don't see anything broken or burned.

#4 MillionVoltss

MillionVoltss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 04

Posted 04 March 2014 - 21:38

Use safe mode, install Afterburner or similar and see if a tiny decrease of speed helps.

Or RMA card



#5 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 05 March 2014 - 06:50

Use safe mode, install Afterburner or similar and see if a tiny decrease of speed helps.

Or RMA card

read post again - screen goes black in safe mode.

jnelson - gonna have to send that back.



#6 Decebalvs Rex

Decebalvs Rex

    Transylvanian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 12
  • Location: Romania

Posted 05 March 2014 - 10:22

You could remove the GPU and check it in another system. It could be your MOBO, PSU or any other component.

Check your BIOS settings and default them, restore your settings as you like.

Run a linux live CD and check if it boots up, it could be your drivers at fault.

RMA it if no choice.



#7 68k

68k

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 20-January 10
  • Location: Australia

Posted 05 March 2014 - 10:35

Can you boot into the OS fine via onboard graphics? If so, it's most likely the card. I unfortunately went through a lot of issues with Nvidia 8000/9000 series cards back in the day.