Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

poll Is Milk Veg or Non-Veg?

Is Milk Veg or Non-Veg   49 votes

  1. 1. Is Milk Veg or Non-Veg


Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

33 posts in this topic

Posted

Vote and Explain your theories, beliefs, and philosophies about this. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Everyone I know that identifies as 'vegetarian' consumes dairy products, and those that identify as 'vegan' don't.

 

My beliefs and philosophies? Don't care, tastes good.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

It's not meat (e.g. poultry, seafood), animal flesh or the by-product of animal slaughter so yes, it's vegetarian.

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Of course vegetarians can have milk, why wouldn't they?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

As long as it has chocolate in it

I would think it is veg. i love chocolate milk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Of course vegetarians can have milk, why wouldn't they?

 

Quoted from Dictionary.com:

 

veg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Vegetarians can eat dairy products. Vegans don't eat dairy products. If that's what floats your boat.

I eat anything that tastes good and doesn't make me throw up.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Milk is milk.  It is an animal product.  Vegetarians should have no issue with consuming it, though, because taking milk from an animal does not require the animal to be injured or killed.  But whatever, I'm not a vegetarian.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

neither, it's dairy :p

3 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Vegetarians can. Vegans however omit all animal products from their diet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

In my opinion milk from cows and goats is non-veg since it was produced by an animal. Coconut milk on the other hand would be pure vegetarian as it is from a plant.

 

That said, I enjoy anything as long as it doesn't make me barf. I don't let religion or other people's opinions dictate what I should or should not eat/drink. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Quoted from Dictionary.com:
 
 
As silly as it is, some take things a little too seriously. :)
 
Edit: Whole milk ftw!


They'd be vegans then, that said there's also vegetarians who eat meat so it basically comes down to what terms people like to call themselves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Darrian, on 28 Feb 2014 - 07:05, said:

Milk is milk.  It is an animal product.  Vegetarians should have no issue with consuming it, though, because taking milk from an animal does not require the animal to be injured or killed.  But whatever, I'm not a vegetarian.

It does actually require killing, it's not like mammals just decide to give milk without a cause you know ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Really?  When is the last time you tried to get milk out of a dead cow?

4 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Darrian, on 28 Feb 2014 - 09:48, said:

Really?  When is the last time you tried to get milk out of a dead cow?

sigh, let me explain

 

Before a mammal starts giving milk it needs to be pregnant and give birth to offspring. In the case of a cow it needs a calf ;). So they need to get a calf at a rate of one per year (more or less) to keep producing milk. The farmer only needs a small percentage of offspring to keep his herd at the same size, so most of the calfs are slaughtered when the milk production is good and going. When a cow is too old it also goes to the slaughterhause. So yes, to produce milk you have to kill animals, I kind of thought that was common knowledge ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Not that I worry about it by the way, I like both veal and milk :p. But keep in mind you can't make milk without producing veal ;)

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Quoted from Dictionary.com:
 

 
As silly as it is, some take things a little too seriously. :)
 
Edit: Whole milk ftw!


I thought Vegetarians only didn't eat the flesh of the animal? Vegans don't eat any product of an animal. If that's the definition of vegetarian what's the difference between that and a vegan?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Vegetarians can drink milk. Non-vegetarians can drink milk. Vegans choose not to drink milk.
1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

All of us probably had our mother's milk as babies so where is the veg or non-veg issue with it? Secondly no animal is killed for its milk so doesn't it make it vegetarian. Actually vegetarians are eating plants which have been killed so is it not a bilt like eating the cooked flesh of dead animals?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

OP is confusing Vegetarian with Vegan. :/

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

it's vegetarian; not vegan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

sigh, let me explain

 

Before a mammal starts giving milk it needs to be pregnant and give birth to offspring. In the case of a cow it needs a calf ;). So they need to get a calf at a rate of one per year (more or less) to keep producing milk. The farmer only needs a small percentage of offspring to keep his herd at the same size, so most of the calfs are slaughtered when the milk production is good and going. When a cow is too old it also goes to the slaughterhause. So yes, to produce milk you have to kill animals, I kind of thought that was common knowledge ;)

That's irrelevant.  It is the farmer's choice to kill the calves; it isn't a necessity.  In any case, they gotta get hamburger from somewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Anyone who thinks milk is non-vegetarian either doesn't understand the meaning of vegetarian and the difference between them and a vegan or is just wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Anyone who thinks milk is non-vegetarian either doesn't understand the meaning of vegetarian and the difference between them and a vegan or is just wrong.

so what is the difference my friend eats fish but no dairy or anything else

just veg what do you call him

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Not a vegetarian, since he eats fish.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.