Jump to content



Photo

Repairing PC's For Friend


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 March 2014 - 21:22

I'm stumped on this, so I want a little input from you guys.

 

I have 2x Dell Optiplex GX280 Series that I am repairing for him. One is a full-sized desktop, the other is the more compact size. These are both P4 systems, 1GB RAM, XP Pro, etc.

 

1st (smaller one) seems to have been going to desktop with no windows bar or icons. What I did is make a new account, and everything seemed to be right as rain again. (besides the slowness) But, it cannot find the sound driver. I look it up on Dell's site, it's not there.  I looked on Windows updates, nothing. Any pointers?

 

http://www.dell.com/...rieveState=True

 

2nd one (full desktop) will boot into Windows, but just sits at the Welcome Screen. I tried getting into safe mode, no dice. I tried booting an old version of HirenCD that I had laying around. CD-ROM is borged. Won't open. Even after I force opened it with a paperclip, wouldn't read it. I have no replacement IDE CD/DVD-ROMs. I tried using my USB external DVD-RW, but the system that old, won't pick it up.

 

Basically, this crap is so old, it belongs in a dumpster. But as he said, he mainly uses these for when his grandkids come over. (He's in his early 70s, btw)




#2 MillionVoltss

MillionVoltss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 04

Posted 04 March 2014 - 21:32

http://www.dell.com/.../optiplex-gx280

 

Use the ram in Pc number two in Pc one and trash two.

 

Or You could use PC one to clone Pc twos hardisk.



#3 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:01

For the the sound drivers, take a look at the motherboard and see if you can see the sound chip on it, not many to look for really

 

As for the CD Drive, why don't you take the working one from the other computer and use that to fix it......



#4 AR556

AR556

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 03

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:09

You mean these:

http://www.dell.com/.../optiplex-gx280



#5 i_was_here

i_was_here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 29-October 08

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:11

But, it cannot find the sound driver. I look it up on Dell's site, it's not there.  I looked on Windows updates, nothing. Any pointers?

 

http://www.dell.com/...rieveState=True

 

If you look up the drivers for a GX280 (without service tag) it will show an audio driver:

 

http://www.dell.com/.../optiplex-gx280



#6 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:21

As for the audio driver go here.

http://www.neowin.ne...card-driver-cd/

 

The thread I made was about Ethernet drives, but the same can be useful for any category of hardware including sound cards.



#7 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:22

http://www.dell.com/.../optiplex-gx280

 

Use the ram in Pc number two in Pc one and trash two.

 

Or You could use PC one to clone Pc twos hardisk.

 

Yeah, I was thinking on that. I know he has at least 3 other PC's in his home. So, really, he doesn't need 2...

 

For the the sound drivers, take a look at the motherboard and see if you can see the sound chip on it, not many to look for really

 

As for the CD Drive, why don't you take the working one from the other computer and use that to fix it......

 

Yea, I can't see any chip. Unless Broadcom uses both the sound and NIC

 

It's a slim CD-ROM model. It uses different connectors.

 

 

 

If you look up the drivers for a GX280 (without service tag) it will show an audio driver:

 

http://www.dell.com/.../optiplex-gx280

 

Yeah, but i thought the exact product number would've helped though. If I can get the sound working on one, I can trash the other one.



#8 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:30

As for the audio driver go here.

http://www.neowin.ne...card-driver-cd/

 

The thread I made was about Ethernet drives, but the same can be useful for any category of hardware including sound cards.

 

Oh, thanks, I'll try that.



#9 vetRadishTM

RadishTM

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-November 01
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 04 March 2014 - 22:30

Sound driver - http://www.dell.com/...n&categoryId=AU



#10 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 04 March 2014 - 23:48

OK, I got sound working, all good. Noticed it had a speaker in the case. Could hear Windows beep up. Ran a malwarebytes, found a few things, not too bad. Also did a msconfig and took off a lot of wtf startup programs.

 

Anyway, should I just tear down this other system? Where the CD-ROM and HDD is borked? I guess I could test his HDD, but that would be way stupid... Take the RAM, put it in working desktop. Crap everything else.



#11 AR556

AR556

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 03

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:19

OK, I got sound working, all good. Noticed it had a speaker in the case. Could hear Windows beep up. Ran a malwarebytes, found a few things, not too bad. Also did a msconfig and took off a lot of wtf startup programs.

 

Anyway, should I just tear down this other system? Where the CD-ROM and HDD is borked? I guess I could test his HDD, but that would be way stupid... Take the RAM, put it in working desktop. Crap everything else.

You mentioned something about him using for his grand kids....If all they do is browse net, Facebook and email, I'd see if there is a lightweight Linux distro that would run decent enough. XP is all but dead and you wouldn't have a need to run extra crap like AV. Beats the hell out of have to clean malware every other day!

 

Maybe Linux Mint with XFCE?



#12 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:34

I suggested that to him last time, when I was repairing a different system. Said I didn't have any XP licenses left, I'll gladly put Linux on it. He said no. So, that's the end of that.

 

Edit: BTW, both systems have 2x RAM slots. 2 x 256MB or 2 x 512MB. That's it.



#13 AR556

AR556

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 03

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:41

I suggested that to him last time, when I was repairing a different system. Said I didn't have any XP licenses left, I'll gladly put Linux on it. He said no. So, that's the end of that.

 

Edit: BTW, both systems have 2x RAM slots. 2 x 256MB or 2 x 512MB. That's it.

Pretty crap hardware. I know this first hand because we have even older crap (gx240s, 260's) still being used at work. I'll say this though, stuff has run like a champ. Modern hardware sold these days won't make it this far. No bad caps, only swapped CD drives.



#14 OP Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:47

It's what I have to deal with. I don't care if it's from the stone age. My vision is to make something work again, not it's age. Although I have the latest and greatest, not everyone can afford that.



#15 AR556

AR556

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 03

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:52

It's what I have to deal with. I don't care if it's from the stone age. My vision is to make something work again, not it's age. Although I have the latest and greatest, not everyone can afford that.

I can appreciate that, just making light of the fact you're not working with much. Limits what you can do with it. Maybe if he saw linux running on it, he'd change his mind. He probably just needs to see its not that bad and the kids can still play with it.