Jump to content



Photo

DD-WRT Bandwidth Monitoring for TP-Link routers


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 malania

malania

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 09 March 2014 - 07:58

Hey guys,

I have a TPlink WR841N wireless router and got DD-WRt on it up and running like a charm.

I installed this mainly for bandwidth control/check and i want to find out what all devices have utilized how much bandwidth in a month.

I did go through a couple of options like rflow, bwlog but couldn't find much info on it.

Which is the best module to install to keep a check on bandwidth usage?




#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 09 March 2014 - 12:36

I do believe tomato does a much better job of this out of the box.. my wireless routers are only used as AP, so they don't show anything to be honest.  But tomato has lan IP monitoring out of the box - you can set how long the data is stored and where and you can even back it up with a download, etc.



#3 OP malania

malania

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 16 March 2014 - 12:02

Ok guys, I did setup a bandwidth monitoring script however in DD-WRT (linux) I need to know 1 thing:

 

What command is there to auto-upload a file to my ftp server after every 15 minutes?

 

I am able to auto-download the files on startup, and I need to take a backup of these files every 15 mins and upload back to my ftp server.

 

I tried wput, ftpput but Putty says "Not Found" when I enter these commands.

 

Is there any other solution for the same?



#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 March 2014 - 13:29

can't you just install wput via optware package?

 

http://www.dd-wrt.co...dex.php/Optware

 

http://www.dd-wrt.co...ptware_packages

wput - 0.6.2-1 - A command-line ftp-client that uploads files or whole directories to remote ftp-servers.



#5 OP malania

malania

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 17 March 2014 - 05:42

can't you just install wput via optware package?

 

http://www.dd-wrt.co...dex.php/Optware

 

http://www.dd-wrt.co...ptware_packages

wput - 0.6.2-1 - A command-line ftp-client that uploads files or whole directories to remote ftp-servers.

I did go through that part however it requires lots of storage which sadly, my router doesn't provide.

Which is why I'm looking for a FTP command to auto-upload the file every other 15 minutes.



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 March 2014 - 11:05

Use cifs storage?  Just mount your storage..



#7 OP malania

malania

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 17 March 2014 - 13:01

Hmm screw it. I'll get it replaced with a USB inclusive router. Thanks for the help anyway.



#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 March 2014 - 13:29

Did you try tomato - if supported its bandwidth reporting is bit more full featured and believe.  You can have it save the data directly to a cifs mount, etc.  And have it create backup, etc. etc..



#9 OP malania

malania

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 17 March 2014 - 17:12

My router is on Atheros and that hardware isn't supported with Tomato.