Jump to content



Photo

No video on boot *desperate*

graphics card

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 casacase

casacase

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 14

Posted 09 March 2014 - 15:26

Dear all,

First of all, I am new member and have been reading through these forums for all kinds of technical advice. This community has been of great help. This is why I turn to you guys with a challenge which I haven't been able to find the answer for after 4 days of googling and testing.

I am working to apply a minor upgrade to my brothers system so he can reach acceptable framerates on his favorite games (still not done though). I have replaced the mobo, graphics card, ram, cpu + decent heatsink (for OC purpose after this problem).
_______________________________________________________________
My problem is the following:
I get no display on boot, the system is booting fine I just don't get any video signal. The monitor is aware of the cable being connected but still I only get a black screen. With the graphics card which he had running on his original configuration everything is working fine.

steps taken:
- Checked all cables for damaged connection.
- Updated BIOS to the latest version +modded bios hoping for improved compatibility.
- Reset CMOS
- Tested GTX275 in my friends + old system.. in both cases it worked. The card works fine.
- de-install windows drivers of GT7800 (I know it doesn't have anything to do with no video on boot but I got desperate)
- Disconnected all devices except the necessary ones to rule out insufficient power
- Screwed with every PCI-e related BIOS setting to no avail (I still feel the problem lies in the BIOS settings, but don't know where to look for it anymore)
_______________________________________________________________
specs:
MB:   P5QL-pro
CPU: E8400 @3ghz
GPU: Geforce GTX 275 1GB (old "working" card = Geforce 7800GT)
Ram: 2x2gb DDR2 800mhz
PSU: 500W Coolermaster RP-500-PCAP (This will be upgraded for optimized efficiency on PSU)

I am really desperate to get this thing running. I go to bed trieing to see the big picture on my missing step and I wake up in the same "problem isolating" state of mind.

HELP ME PLEASE!




#2 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 09 March 2014 - 15:30

How are you navigating the BIOS without a display? Also, how do you know it is booting fine? Do you have a system speaker connected to the MB to verify POST status? Or does the board have diagnostic LEDs to inform you of the POST status?

 

I would recommend you take a clean rubber eraser to the PCIe contact pins and see if that helps any. The eraser is a a good way to clean the contacts without damaging them.



#3 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 09 March 2014 - 15:31

this might sound like a stupid question. But do you have the aux power cable plugged into the Graphics card? its usually on the top or back of the card.

 

power.jpg



#4 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 09 March 2014 - 15:35

this might sound like a stupid question. But do you have the aux power cable plugged into the Graphics card? its usually on the top or back of the card.

 

That was going to be my suggestion, I don't even want to think about how many times I've done it. 



#5 OP casacase

casacase

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 14

Posted 09 March 2014 - 15:47

Thanks for the quick reply men!

 

@LogicalApex:

I navigate through the bios while my older GT7800 is connected to change bios settings, saving, re-entering bios and then shutdown to switch graphics cards. I am currently on this forum running on the old card as well.

 

@LittleNeutrino:

Yes both 6 pins power cables are connected properly. The small 2 pins connector is not connected but from what I understand that 1 is for HDMI sound. I am connected through both DVI and VGA to my monitor anyway



#6 OP casacase

casacase

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 14

Posted 09 March 2014 - 16:06

any more suggestion? ANY help is welcome, please!



#7 mastercoms

mastercoms

    Expert Microsoft Fanboy & C# Coder

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 21-May 13
  • Location: Marietta, Georgia
  • OS: W8.1U1 + Debian 8 (Jessie)
  • Phone: Lumia 928 Black + WP8.1 Black

Posted 09 March 2014 - 16:07

Can you use integrated graphics, and then clear drivers with http://treexy.com/pr...fusion/download



#8 OP casacase

casacase

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 14

Posted 09 March 2014 - 16:08

no integrated graphics on the P5QL PRO... would clearing drivers help? I had a feeling thid problem wasn't windows related but if it helps I could re-install the OS.



#9 OP casacase

casacase

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 14

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:04

Is there anyone online who can help me with this?



#10 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:12

Casa, please wait 24 hours to bump. Not everyone is on 24/7

 

What system did you test the 275 on? Do you have enough amperage/wattage on your PSU?



#11 Tha Bloo Monkee

Tha Bloo Monkee

    Da Ba Dee Da Ba Die

  • Joined: 03-July 04
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:12

Have you used this card in another computer before to verify that the card works?  Are you sure the system is getting adequate power?



#12 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:15

Have you used this card in another computer before to verify that the card works?

 

 

 

Tested GTX275 in my friends + old system.. in both cases it worked. The card works fine.


#13 OP casacase

casacase

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-March 14

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:16

yes the gtx275 works.. and no... Trieing to rule out the power matter I disconnected everything except the graphics card and the hdd... to no avail... The same PSU got the graphics card going on a different mobo.



#14 Circaflex

Circaflex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-August 02
  • Location: California
  • OS: 8 x64, 7 x64, Mountain Lion, Ubuntu
  • Phone: hammerhead

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:20

what os? could this be a secureboot issue? I had this problem when upgrading a friends gpu from an oem tower that was running windows 8



#15 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1

Posted 09 March 2014 - 20:21

Do you get any video at all. Like a BIOS splash screen or anything and then black going into windows or just nothing from the start? Is is entirely possible that the graphics card simply won't work in that system board. Or if it blanks out when windows loads you need to install the drivers first.