Jump to content



Photo

Internet not available even though Wi-Fi is connected.

internet android

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 HoodiBoY

HoodiBoY

    Core i7+Core i5 User...

  • Joined: 22-November 07
  • Location: Banglore,IND
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Sola

Posted 12 March 2014 - 07:58

Guys need some help.

 

I am not getting internet on my Android phone.I have connected to a Wi-Fi network at my home and it is showing connected in phone.

But Internet is not available.I am sure that i have given correct security key for wi-fi,I am connected to same Wi-Fi from my laptop where it is working fine.

Please help.

 




#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 12 March 2014 - 07:59

What happens if you connect it to a different wifi network?

Are other computers on your wifi network having connection issues?

EDIT: Nevermind the second question, you already answered it. Time to go get my coffee. :laugh:

#3 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:11

You need to check the Android device by connecting it with different WiFi,

maybe you need to soft-reset to factory setting.



#4 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:16

I would call  your ISP.

 

Reboot modem and wifi router.

 

This often fixes my wifi problems.



#5 OP HoodiBoY

HoodiBoY

    Core i7+Core i5 User...

  • Joined: 22-November 07
  • Location: Banglore,IND
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Sola

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:25

I would call  your ISP.

 

Reboot modem and wifi router.

 

This often fixes my wifi problems.

 

It is a local issue not an ISP related cos I am getting internet on my lappy from that Wi-Fi connection.



#6 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:28

It is a local issue not an ISP related cos I am getting internet on my lappy from that Wi-Fi connection.

 

Check your DNS settings on your Wifi Settings for the Android. It may be a DHCP problem.



#7 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:29

It is a local issue not an ISP related cos I am getting internet on my lappy from that Wi-Fi connection.

 

^ I have had exactly that happen.

 

One device is running fine, the other stuffs up.

 

Reboot fixed all.

 

Good luck to you.



#8 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:39

Hello,

Wow, some of you guys are over the top.

HoodiBoY, download a terminal (Terminal Emulator comes to mind)

Type "ping 8.8.8.8" without quotes and enter.

Lets see if it replies or not.

Check your DNS settings on your Wifi Settings for the Android. It may be a DHCP problem.

Finally someone has good advice...

#9 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:41

Also, I assume you've already tried rebooting the device?

Is it running a custom ROM, or stock?

Which Android device in particular is it?

I would try all of the home stuff before phoning your ISP. In my time of dealing with home connections, I don't think I've ever had to ask my ISP to do something on their end. :unsure:

#10 OP HoodiBoY

HoodiBoY

    Core i7+Core i5 User...

  • Joined: 22-November 07
  • Location: Banglore,IND
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Sola

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:41

Check your DNS settings on your Wifi Settings for the Android. It may be a DHCP problem.

 

Tried changing DNS address.I gave DNS 1: 8.8.8.8, DNS 2: 8.8.4.4

Still no luck. :(



#11 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:42

Hello,

How to check that DNS Settings.??

If you do my post, we can more or less figure your DNS settings ourselves: 
 

HoodiBoY, download a terminal (Terminal Emulator comes to mind)

Type "ping 8.8.8.8" without quotes and enter.

Lets see if it replies or not.

Before anyone gets inteligent, he would have to download it using his cell data connection.

#12 jasondefaoite

jasondefaoite

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02
  • Location: Ireland - Singapore

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:50

As already mentioned ... DNS ... or else some wrong info could be added into the proxy settings of the connection.



#13 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:53

Hello,

As already mentioned ... DNS ... or else some wrong info could be added into the proxy settings of the connection.

He mentioned this:

Tried changing DNS address.I gave DNS 1: 8.8.8.8, DNS 2: 8.8.4.4
Still no luck. :(

But I still want to see a ping...Once that is out of the way, we can move on.

#14 OP HoodiBoY

HoodiBoY

    Core i7+Core i5 User...

  • Joined: 22-November 07
  • Location: Banglore,IND
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Sola

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:54

Also, I assume you've already tried rebooting the device?

Is it running a custom ROM, or stock?

Which Android device in particular is it?

I would try all of the home stuff before phoning your ISP. In my time of dealing with home connections, I don't think I've ever had to ask my ISP to do something on their end. :unsure:

 

Device : Sony Xperia Sola

ROM : Stock ROM



#15 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 12 March 2014 - 08:59

Device : Sony Xperia Sola
ROM : Stock ROM

And what version of Android is running on it? ICS, Jelly Bean, Kit Kat?

I notice that there was a bug in ICS for the Sony Xperia Sola that caused the wifi to hang. I don't know if they fixed the issue themselves, but a workaround was offered so long as people's phones were rooted. Link. It may be completely unrelated to this issue though, especially if you're running a more updated version of Android than ICS.