Jump to content



Photo

Still issues with IE 11


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 14 March 2014 - 18:09

I'm not using IE under any abnormal conditions other than simple surfing the net.

 

the issue: I'm still getting IE locking up websites, mostly my banking website. I kind of goes like this, I might be able to access and close out the tab with no issues about 8 out of 10 times. When the nagging issues does hit, I cannot close out ANY tabs nor IE itself and have to resort to ctl+alt+del and through the taskbar Taskmanager, shutting down the process and IE closes just fine. Naturally I get the "your last session did not close properly" message at the bottom when I start IE 11 up or restart IE 11.

 

Is anyone else aware or have the same issue? It appears there may be some issue with the way IE 11 works with the OS (I'm no IT pro mind you) but it simply locks up for no apparent reason with reasonable usage.

 

update just moments later: Neowin stopped responding and had to find a solution to the issue dialog came up and restarted the website...




#2 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 14 March 2014 - 18:40

Have you checked which plugins are loaded?



#3 xrobwx

xrobwx

    Leave the gun. Take the cannoli.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-June 03
  • Location: Panama City Beach, FL USA
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note II

Posted 14 March 2014 - 18:47

Or try loading without plugins and see if the problem goes away. If so, then enable plugins one at a time and if the problem comes back with the plugin most recently enabled then chuck that plugin.

 

How to deal with plugins/add ons ---> http://windows.micro...dd-ons#ie=ie-11



#4 OP chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 14 March 2014 - 23:44

No add ons. clean...



#5 zhangm

zhangm

    Just bitter.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 23
  • Joined: 21-August 02

Posted 15 March 2014 - 02:35

What video card do you have? Have you tried running IE with hardware acceleration disabled (Internet Options > Advanced > Use software rendering~?

#6 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 15 March 2014 - 02:38

At the risk of asking a potentially silly question...

 

Have you tried forcing websites into compatibility mode?

 

(failing that, an alternative browser or a rollback to ie 10 is about all I have to offer)



#7 +macoman

macoman

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 25-December 13

Posted 15 March 2014 - 02:49

At the risk of asking a potentially silly question...

Have you tried forcing websites into compatibility mode?

(failing that, an alternative browser or a rollback to ie 10 is about all I have to offer)

Compatibility mode is the only way i found to work pretty well, unless the website has not been updated in more than 10 years ago, this mode will work.

#8 OP chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 15 March 2014 - 18:34

update: Ok switched on the software rendering.. I'll run it for a time to give a fair assessment

 

when I did switch the software render on in the advanced tab it locked up my browser. but upon reinstating last session, it is on so it worked.

 

give me a few days to give a "fair assessment" and I'll report back.

 

thanks for the advice. I don't use add-ons since they basically have no value to me.



#9 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 15 March 2014 - 19:11

This is what you get for using IE, it is crap, we collectively need to move away from it



#10 Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.1 Ubuntu 14.10 64-bit

Posted 15 March 2014 - 19:21

This is what you get for using IE, it is crap, we collectively need to move away from it

While this could very well be true about IE9 and below, I'm afraid I don't share the same opinion when it comes to IE10 and IE11 as both are pretty decent browsers compared to Chrome and Firefox. The OP's issue sounds like something external is crashing the browser itself, be it an addon or perhaps some security software causing incompatibilities. Are you using anything like LastPass or RoboForm? Those can cause issues too.



#11 OP chrisj1968

chrisj1968

    copyrighted!! ©

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-June 08
  • Location: United States

Posted 15 March 2014 - 22:16

http://www.digitaltr...-honest/#!zTdnH

 

I'm of the mindset that IE sucks. MSFT has admitted it according to this article. IE used to be the standard but now can't even keep up. I'm going to have to use it for my college but I'll stick with my chrome as my main browser. I admire MSFT for admitting, albeit IE 10 sucks but it has carried over. It has some uses but it locks up websites and can't be shutdown by "x"ing out and can't close tabs still after turning on the software rendering.

 

depressing. :(

 

I have tried all the responses advice. I had no add-ons, I turned on software rendering. it seems like websites simply don't work well with IE11. Seriously. It is the same sites that have issues. But websites crash and have to let IE11 auto restart them. at first it was snappy, But somewhere websites crash. I don't expect websites to re-write their sites to work either. But websites are locking up and not responding which locks up the whole browser and I can click on another open app and the system runs fine so it can't be my system.

 

I'm getting a headache from this but it seems browser to website based.



#12 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 15 March 2014 - 23:03

I need to know about which GPU you have and which site makes this issue and also you can try this settings as well but it will reset all your changes done in IE to blank.

 

Ifvv6ug.png

 

If you can't tell site or GPU we can't reproduce and can't know the cause of the issue.

 

Hopefully, you will be little more patient, if none works, you should then file bug in Microsoft IE Connect feedback, if you does not want then I'll file it for you after all stuff goes in vain.

 

Make sure you have updated to recent Cumulative Security update as well... Showing IE 11.0.4...

 

In case you need Microsoft IE Connect Feedback URL: https://connect.micr...com/IE/Feedback