Jump to content



Photo

Ad block slowing down web browsing on os x?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:05

I know that adblocker is the red headed step child on neowin but I have an interesting question on it.  I use the standard ad blocker extension on both firefox and chrome on os x 10.9.2.  Both firefox and chrome are updated to the latest versions.  Now, if the extension is enabled, webpages take anywhere from 20-30 seconds to load...even neowin.  But, if I disable the extension, webpages load extremely fast.  I have a 25/5 connection speed.

 

Is this normal because of the extension and how it needs to first block ads before the page loads?

 

Extension I use on chrome: https://chrome.googl...cnamgkkbiglidom

 

Extension for firefox: https://addons.mozil...lus/?src=search




#2 Pupik

Pupik

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 09-December 05

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:09

Which ad blocker are you using exactly? Maybe try a different one (I recommend ghostery).

And I'd edit your message, removing the hint that you block ads on neowin.



#3 myxomatosis

myxomatosis

    Shrinking Universe

  • Joined: 21-January 04
  • Location: Montréal (Canada)

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:11

AdBlock extensions DO slow-down a little bit web browsing because it adds additional processing before the page is displayed, however it should be almost unoticeable on modern computers / fast connections.  20-30 seconds indicates there's clearly a problem with your configuration, the blocking lists you use, or something else.



#4 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:14

Can't comment on OSX, but under Windows I've never noticed any slowdowns. Just using the EasyList plus a few dozen custom rules, that still comes out to around 41K entries or so. ("Standard ad blocker"? There's a few of them.)

Could always try exporting your list if you have any custom entries, nuke the addon and reinstall. Or, as a test, make a new profile, install ABP and test it then, see if it still chokes. Something might have gotten borked either in ABP or your profile.

#5 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:17

Which ad blocker are you using exactly? Maybe try a different one (I recommend ghostery).

And I'd edit your message, removing the hint that you block ads on neowin.

 

I didn't say I block ads on here...just that the staff has this annoying habit of hating when it is talked about and thinking it is the plague.  What's interesting is that my mobile devices/roku/plex have no issues with the connection...fast as hell.  But my desktop pc (mac mini) and my macbook pro have this problem.


Can't comment on OSX, but under Windows I've never noticed any slowdowns. Just using the EasyList plus a few dozen custom rules, that still comes out to around 41K entries or so. ("Standard ad blocker"? There's a few of them.)

Could always try exporting your list if you have any custom entries, nuke the addon and reinstall. Or, as a test, make a new profile, install ABP and test it then, see if it still chokes. Something might have gotten borked either in ABP or your profile.

 

I use it also in my windows vm on my mbp and on my windows desktop at work and have no issues with it.

 

This is the extension I use on chrome: https://chrome.googl...cnamgkkbiglidom

 

On chrome I only use easylist.



#6 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:19

This is the extension I use on chrome: https://chrome.googl...cnamgkkbiglidom

Can't comment on that one, when I used to use Chrome I used ABP from the author's development branch, worked reasonably well minus Chrome's quirks of course. Firefox is the same, pure ABP, zero issues. But yea, if it's working on other systems, just for a larf try creating a temporary new profile and try it again, see if it still does it with a "clean" setup. Wouldn't be the first time a profile goes wonky after a while.

#7 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:23

What are the specs of the mac running this?
What other programs are running (or installed that'd be running things in the background)? How many other users logged in? What other tasks is it doing?



#8 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:29

What are the specs of the mac running this?
What other programs are running (or installed that'd be running things in the background)? How many other users logged in? What other tasks is it doing?

 

Mac mini:

dual core i7

16gb ram

256 gb hd

runs plex media center and occasional vm 

 

macbook pro

quad core i7

8gb ram

500 gb hd

standard apps.  various vm running but not when using the internet

 

All connected to the new airport extreme base station ac router.  I have a roku3 that streams over 802n without any issues.  My ipad/iphone have no issues.



#9 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:31

How many filter lists you are subscribed with?

Try to disable Acceptable Ads in Firefox variant Adblock Plus.

 

You should try developer version for Adblock Plus for Chrome and Firefox both:

https://adblockplus....s#installation 

 

Recent Startup improvements landed in Firefox Dev build of ABP:

 

Without Adblock Plus: 830-980 ms

Unchanged Adblock Plus: 1900-2000 ms
Adblock Plus with this change: ~860 ms
 
Also enable this flag under Chrome since few extensions like Adblock Plus sometime rely on experimental apis

 

chrome://flags/#extension-apis

 



#10 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:34

How many filter lists you are subscribed with?

Try to disable Acceptable Ads in Firefox variant Adblock Plus.

 

You should try developer version for Adblock Plus for Chrome and Firefox both:

https://adblockplus....s#installation 

 

Recent Startup improvements landed in Firefox Dev build of ABP:

 

I only subscribe to easylist...have never found a reason for any additional ones.



#11 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:36

I only subscribe to easylist...have never found a reason for any additional ones.

 

I edited above comment so you should reread it.

How old is your Firefox profile and chrome installation?



#12 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:42

I edited above comment so you should reread it.

How old is your Firefox profile and chrome installation?

 

I'll definitely take a look at the chrome setting later today.  My chrome profile on my mbp is about 1 year old and I have no idea on my mac mini.  My firefox one is a few months.



#13 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 17 March 2014 - 18:57

I'll definitely take a look at the chrome setting later today.  My chrome profile on my mbp is about 1 year old and I have no idea on my mac mini.  My firefox one is a few months.

 

Well, then you should definitely try dev builds of adblock plus. Remember on Chrome there are two adblockers, one is Adblock while other is Adblock Plus (Adblock Plus is IMO lighter on resources on Chrome).

 

I wish something similar to this was available on Mac OS X: http://singularlabs....hrome-versions/



#14 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 17 March 2014 - 19:58

Well, then you should definitely try dev builds of adblock plus. Remember on Chrome there are two adblockers, one is Adblock while other is Adblock Plus (Adblock Plus is IMO lighter on resources on Chrome).

 

I wish something similar to this was available on Mac OS X: http://singularlabs....hrome-versions/

'This tool is for Windows users only, however a similar app (by somebody else) for Mac OSX users can be found here.'

;)



#15 OP #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 19 March 2014 - 02:50

I switched over to adblock plus on both chrome and firefox.  It appears to be working much quicker.