Jump to content



Photo

Slow logon via wifi

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Renshaw

Renshaw

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England

Posted 18 March 2014 - 10:54

Hello, I don't think there anything that can be done but, 

In the office we are running a very small network of window server 2008 currently 3 computers on network.

will in future be set up as WAN to connected the other 4 units when internet speed is updated.

 

The question is, the computers connected to switch log on in say 20 seconds tops and they are using roaming profiles.

The one that has WiFi as we are unable to get a cable to it takes around 7-10 minutes to log on and the account isn't using roaming. Connection via wifi internally its says its running at 63mb so shouldn't really be to bad theoretically.

 

Once the computer is logged on its not slower then ones connected via Ethernet at accessing network drives etc its only the log on.

Is there anything that can be edited on said account policy to speed up log on or any suggestion at all?

Many Thanks Renshaw. 



Best Answer sc302 , 18 March 2014 - 15:43

reboot no errors accept one for profile loading, whats simple to fix just probably means folders in wrong location or accounts looking in wrong place :)

 

Excellent!!!!  Hybrid is default to confirm that .001% :p

 

You never answered, how are your boot up times?

Go to the full post



#2 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2014 - 13:40

signal strength (speed means very little if the signal strength is weak)...what are your ping times to your local server?  eventlog messages?  Those are a few places to start troubleshooting.  Remember, wired you are probably at a gig, so you have much more bandwidth than your 63mb.



#3 OP Renshaw

Renshaw

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:10

Ping is between 2ms and 1ms.. so that shows poor signal.

 

also all errors seems to be connected to server timing out when try to connect, I'll post them all as I don't really understand what they are saying, guidance's would be amazing. thanks.

 

This computer was not able to set up a secure session with a domain controller in domain REDCLIFFEHOUSE due to the following:
There are currently no logon servers available to service the logon request.

This may lead to authentication problems. Make sure that this computer is connected to the network. If the problem persists, please contact your domain administrator. 

 

 

Name resolution for the name ComCare220114.redcliffehouse.com timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded.

 

 

NtpClient was unable to set a domain peer to use as a time source because of discovery error. NtpClient will try again in 3473457 minutes and double the reattempt interval thereafter. The error was: The entry is not found. (0x800706E1)

 

 

The processing of Group Policy failed because of lack of network connectivity to a domain controller. This may be a transient condition. A success message would be generated once the machine gets connected to the domain controller and Group Policy has succesfully processed. If you do not see a success message for several hours, then contact your administrator.



#4 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:12

Please post the results of ipconfig/all
You can pm the actual results if you do not want them public.

#5 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:16

Ping is between 2ms and 1ms.. so that shows poor signal.
 

There are currently no logon servers available to service the logon request.


also all errors seems to be connected to server timing out when try to connect, I'll post them all as I don't really understand what they are saying, guidance's would be amazing. thanks.

Ive had this error on wired too.

It sounds like a DNS problem but other than that, I cant help you much further, sorry.

#6 OP Renshaw

Renshaw

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:23

On DNS if I set the computer to look at the servers IP or the router internet and network access still happens?
Although if I tell it to use the gateway as the server it losers internet access. Not sure if this is at all relevant but thought I'd share.

 

I'll slightly modify the set up once's it been resolved, so don't mind it being public ;)

 

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ComCare220114
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : redcliffehouse.com
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : redcliffehouse.com

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TP-LINK 300Mbps Wireless N Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 10-FE-ED-F6-92-1F
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e0fe:eeaa:9653:4f2%13(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.20.111(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.20.254
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 336658157
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-71-B7-55-1C-C1-DE-5D-3F-C

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.20.15
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-C1-DE-5D-3F-C4
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{96BE5E90-1A05-408E-B72F-548A3A93B6CC}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



#7 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:25

It is absolutely dns related which is why I asked for an IPconfig/all, I need to verify the internal ad servers are the only dns in there and if they are I will need to further troubleshoot the AD dns servers.  Baby steps....

 

do what I asked please, I want the info of an ipconfig/all within a command or cmd window.  This will help me recommend you the next course of action.


do a nslookup of redcliffhouse.com

 

It is not recommended to use a .com as your internal domain name. 

 

do the following:

 

nslookup redcliffhouse.com

 

nslookup 192.168.20.15

 

ping 192.168.20.15

 

Please post results.

 

Also how is your wireless security setup?  WPA2 radius, WPA2 PSK, open?



#8 OP Renshaw

Renshaw

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:29

Should DNS be coming from server or router? As no matter which IP I use its still get some form of connection.

 

iqkkkl.png



#9 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:31

Should DNS be coming from server or router? As no matter which IP I use its still get some form of connection.
 
iqkkkl.png

If Ive learned something from here, its this: The DNS should always be resolved thru the server.

BTW, the "redcliffehouse.com" can definitately be problematic.

#10 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:37

DNS should not be coming from the router.  AD servers only!!!!!!!

 

Generally the router only has external dns servers, external dns servers do not know how to resolve on your inside names.  Your internal Domain is inside, not outside.  You query the external DNS and you will get exactly what you are seeing in your event logs, it doesn't know how to get back to your inside or resolve your inside computer names. AD servers understand your inside domain and anything else to go to an external DNS to query against that.

 

Basically

computer > external dns  query for internal address > I don't know what that computer is

 

computer > internal dns server query for internal address > ok I know what that is here is the named internal ip address

 

computer > external dns query for www.google.com > ok I know what that is, here is the named external ip address

 

computer > internal dns server query for www.google.com > I don't know what that computer is, let me send this request on to a external dns server for you > external dns query for www.google.com > ok i know what that is, here is the named external ip address.

 

The bolded is the way it needs to work in an AD domain.



#11 OP Renshaw

Renshaw

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:47

That makes perfect sense now you've explained.

So everything is looking at the server for DNS, Server is looking at it self for DNS if that is correct?



#12 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:48

That is correct.



#13 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:48

sc302, have you checked out his domain name?

#14 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 18 March 2014 - 14:53

Yes it is a .com, that is his internal name though...not at all recommended to do, but that is the cards we have been dealt with.  The internal dns name is a much larger problem that should to be rectified. The issue at hand is that his computers are not communicating to the internal dns server for internal requests which is a much easier fix than renaming his internal domain, which requires a strategy and proper planning.



#15 OP Renshaw

Renshaw

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England

Posted 18 March 2014 - 15:03

Okays just logged on and off and now only error that are being shown are theses two (on a wired computer this is)

 

 

The server {995C996E-D918-4A8C-A302-45719A6F4EA7} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

 

 

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows attempted to read the file \\redcliffehouse.com\SysVol\redcliffehouse.com\Policies\{A0310E24-9C44-4BD5-AC91-69C66662A07E}\gpt.ini from a domain controller and was not successful. Group Policy settings may not be applied until this event is resolved. This issue may be transient and could be caused by one or more of the following: 

a) Name Resolution/Network Connectivity to the current domain controller. 
b) File Replication Service Latency (a file created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller). 
c) The Distributed File System (DFS) client has been disabled.

Computer with Wifi is now only getting one error. All DNS ones have now gone :)

 

 

The Group Policy Client Side Extension Folder Redirection was unable to apply one or more settings because the changes must be processed before system startup or user logon. The system will wait for Group Policy processing to finish completely before the next startup or logon for this user, and this may result in slow startup and boot performance.