Jump to content



Photo

Cron and Timings

cron

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 18 March 2014 - 11:54

Hey Guys

 

very simple for you lot i would think

 

Will this run at 6am every day?

 

cron.PNG




#2 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 18 March 2014 - 13:12

Yes, that will run at 6am every day, presuming of course that a blank fields translates to a "*" wildcard.

Out of curiosity, what GUI are you using to do that?

#3 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 18 March 2014 - 13:40

Thanks, i first set it with just the hour, without realising it would run every minute of that hour as i left minutes on ALL lol

 

I am using Webmin :)

 

http://www.webmin.com/



#4 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 18 March 2014 - 13:48

Out of curiosity, what GUI are you using to do that?

I am using Webmin :)
 
http://www.webmin.com/

Webmin is actually pretty nice :) Only downside (if it is a downside) is you lose a lot of experience with terminal.

BTW, its avaliable also for Windows but Ive never tried it.

#5 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 18 March 2014 - 13:53

I use terminal a lot with it being CLI only (can never decide is a non gui server and Headless is the same thing)

 

But i use webmin to make it easy for myself



#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 18 March 2014 - 21:54

If you want to run something everyday at 6am this would be your cron

0 6 * * * /usr/bin/run.sh >/dev/null 2>&1

 

so use the gui to create it for you sure - but then take a look via crontab -l



#7 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 18 March 2014 - 21:55

^definitely what budman recommended -- just verify it to make sure the GUI is behaving as intended.



#8 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 19 March 2014 - 07:47

Thanks Guys :)





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!