Jump to content



Photo

A ESXi box...again


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 March 2014 - 16:44

On the 19th of Jan, I made a decision to buy/make a ESXi box. On the 28th of Jan, I took the plunge and bought a HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 G1610T.

I ran it for a bit after I got it and it had a fan problem. Took them until last week, to pick it up and instead of the already established exchange, Im getting a refund for it.

Its stupid because it suppose to be for me buying the same box again but Ive rethought about it after having it for about a week and now getting my money back. Now, my other choice would be to go with the HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 but I just cant go with a AMD product. I guess its a hard headed personal thing :laugh: Ill even go far as calling it stupid but...

Another thing is that during this entire time, HP came out with their cutting support once the warranty expired which is IMO horrible.

So we are back at what I originally wanted: A whitebox.

I do have a problem with a whitebox (because of the Gen8): I have a KTL-TS313E/8G. The problem is that this is ECC RAM so a lot of motherboards and/or processors just went out the window :( I dont have time and/or patience/desire, to sell/ship and/or put it up on eBay...

So.....what are my options now for a 4 x 3.5" drive (plus 1 x 2.5" drive) ESXi box out there? Or since Im basically "commited" myself to the Gen8, should I go and get it still (from another retailer)


#2 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 19 March 2014 - 17:14

So you buy a server board...just about all will support ecc...then find a processor to match the board. 

 

Do a search on Server Mother Board.  then once you find the type you can then search for a cheap case to put it in.  I don't know who your vendor of choice is in spain or I would search for you and put up a few suggestions based on no budget.



#3 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 19 March 2014 - 17:17

So you buy a server board...just about all will support ecc...then find a processor to match the board.

The board/processor is problably the least of my worries; It would be a case that fits my needs!

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813182251 Something like this.

Put that with a Intel Xeon E3-1220 V2 is what seems to be ideal.

Supermicro is not on the VMWare HCL but Ive seen some whiteboxes with ESXi in mind that use a Supermicro motherboard...

#4 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 20 March 2014 - 08:31

Intel server boards are expensive; Only ones on the HCL though...



#5 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 20 March 2014 - 10:01

Only ones on the HCL though...

Want to clarify that its the only one Ive heard of; Dont know about the rest on the list :)

#6 +RedReddington

RedReddington

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 20 March 2014 - 10:13

I dont know how true it is but even if its not on the HCL it might still work. I am sure its not been tested with EVERYTHING. So give it ago. 



#7 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 20 March 2014 - 10:26

I dont know how true it is but even if its not on the HCL it might still work. I am sure its not been tested with EVERYTHING. So give it ago.

Yeah but Ive read there can be problems if it isnt on the HCL, more so being the motherboard.

Even though its up to the maker to send their product to be verified by VMWare I believe...

Ive read some last gen editions motherboard/Xeon that can also be used. Might be also a good idea.

#8 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 35
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 20 March 2014 - 15:18

This seems affordable, but perhaps out of your price range.

http://www.amazon.co...supermicro xeon



#9 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 20 March 2014 - 17:05

This seems affordable, but perhaps out of your price range.
http://www.amazon.co...supermicro xeon

This board with a few other from Supermicro are ones I looked at...

Another thing is that Ive looked a bit bigger alternatives: The Dell T20 and the HP ProLiant ML310e look great and their price range compare to the miniserver isn't all that bad either. But like that board, I think they are not on the HCL...

#10 Fezmid

Fezmid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-October 10
  • Location: Twin Cities, USA

Posted 21 March 2014 - 14:05

Why don't you want to get another Gen8?  I'm confused...



#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 21 March 2014 - 14:58

My understanding is he didn't like the noisy fan ;)  Is why he doesn't want another one.  And he doesn't want to use the older N40L or N54L because they are not intel.



#12 watkinsx2

watkinsx2

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-December 01
  • Location: Hertfordshire
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC One/Lumia 920

Posted 21 March 2014 - 15:06

Replacement fan = £10.



#13 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 21 March 2014 - 15:14

Just buy an N54L, it does not gloat that it has an AMD processor honest :)



#14 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 21 March 2014 - 19:36

Replacement fan = £10.

It does not have standard pins ;)  But like .2 seconds worth of google finds this

 

http://www.silentpcr...1193-page7.html

 

QUIET FAN SWAP FOR HP MICROSERVER



#15 OP riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 22 March 2014 - 08:59

It does not have standard pins ;)  But like .2 seconds worth of google finds this
 
http://www.silentpcr...1193-page7.html
 
QUIET FAN SWAP FOR HP MICROSERVER

I thought he was talking about the MicroS Gen8, which also they managed to make a fan swap mod for shortly after I got a refund.

I just dont feel that the microserver is for me (as strange and weird as it sounds, like some estrangled relationship) and Ive seen there are bigger minitowers out there that can cope with 4 or 5 drives which I feel are like more for me :)