Jump to content



Photo

When i visit some news pages..

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 26 March 2014 - 10:43

I get this message:

 

The website “ is requesting 50 MB of disk space to store “Circle Management” as a database on your disk.

 

Safari



Best Answer Redmak , 26 March 2014 - 14:38

fixed

Go to the full post



#2 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 76
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 26 March 2014 - 10:46

Hmm after a quick Google search I found this http://www.justanswe...eep-asking.html seems like an odd message though. Neowin pages are typically no more than a couple mb (including media) and that might include caching for YouTube videos, so 3rd party content too.



#3 OP goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 26 March 2014 - 11:38

Hmm after a quick Google search I found this http://www.justanswe...eep-asking.html seems like an odd message though. Neowin pages are typically no more than a couple mb (including media) and that might include caching for YouTube videos, so 3rd party content too.

 

At first I assumed it was a rogue advertisement or something but realised i can't see any advertisements as they are blocked automatically on the network i am behind.

 

Screenshot%202014-03-26%2011.38.57.png



#4 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 26 March 2014 - 11:47

If Steve's link is correct then it seems to be specific to Safari. Have you tried following the advice from that website?
 

To resolve the issue, open safari. Then Edit -> Preferences

On the preferences window increase the size for Default Database Storage


Do you still receive the error message afterwards, even when increasing the default database storage size to something like 100MB?

#5 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 76
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 26 March 2014 - 11:54

I have no idea what Circle Management is (I tried Googling it too).



#6 Farchord

Farchord

    Life is but a sum of your achievements

  • Joined: 06-November 01
  • Location: Shawinigan, Quebec, Canada
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:12

It seems to be related to the social javascript...

<script type="text/javascript">
(function() {
  var po = document.createElement('script'); po.type = 'text/javascript'; po.async = true;
  po.src = 'https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js?publisherid=105632438183429240691';
  var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(po, s);
})();
</script>
					<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jsapi/jsapi_helper.js"></script>
					<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jsapi/jsapi_abstract_database.js"></script>
					<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jsapi/jsapi_database.js"></script>
					<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/jsapi/jsapi_for_google_plus.js"></script>
					<script type="text/javascript">
					var ACTION_UPDATE_INTERVAL = 666;
					var INIT_RETRY_INTERVAL = 5 * 1000;
					var INIT_REPEAT_INTERVAL = 20 * 60 * 1000;

					var dbInit = false;

					// Set up the API
					var plus;
					var apis = {};
					var postTrackers = {};
					var identities = [];
					var sentPosts = {};
					var communityCache = {};

					var initTimeoutId;
					function initialize(opts) {
					  var newPlus = new GooglePlusAPI();
					  if (!plus) {
						plus = newPlus;
					  }
					  opts = opts || {};
					  window.clearTimeout(initTimeoutId);
					  try {
						if (opts.clearPrevious) {
						  newPlus._db.clearAll(c);
						  apis = {};
						}
						newPlus.init(function(response) {
						  if (response.status) {
							var uid = newPlus.getInfo().id;
							if (uid != localStorage['prev_uid']) {
							  oauth.clearTokens();
							}
							localStorage['prev_uid'] = uid;
							newPlus.getAllIdentitiesApis(function(result) {
							  console._error = console.error;
							  console.error = console.warn;
							  var count = result.length;
							  var newIdentities = [];
							  result.forEach(function(api) {
								function addApi() {
								  var identity = api.getInfo().id;
								  apis[identity] = api;
								  newIdentities.push(api.getInfo());
								  api.refreshCircles(function() {
									if (--count == 0) {
									  console.error = console._error;
									  identities = newIdentities;
									}
								  });
								  api.getCommunities(function(response) {
									if (response.status) {
									  communityCache[identity] = response.data;
									}
								  });
								  if (!postTrackers[api.getInfo().id]) {
									postTrackers[api.getInfo().id] = new PostTracker(api);
								  }
								}
								if (!(api.getInfo() && api.getInfo().id == uid)) {
								  if (opts.clearPrevious) {
									api._db.clearAll(c);
								  }
								  api.init(function() {
									addApi();
								  });
								} else {
								  plus = newPlus;
								  addApi();
								}
							  });
							});

							initTimeoutId = window.setTimeout(initialize, INIT_REPEAT_INTERVAL);
						  } else {
							initTimeoutId = window.setTimeout(initialize, INIT_RETRY_INTERVAL);
						  }
						});
					  } catch (e) {
						console.error(e, e.message);
						window.setTimeout(initialize, INIT_RETRY_INTERVAL);
					  }
					};

					// Initialize the API so we could get a new session if it exists we reuse it.
					initialize({clearPrevious: true});
					</script>
<!-- // Social JS -->

Seems this initiates a database to store social data.

 

Found in jsapi_database.js:

PlusDB.prototype.open = function() {
  // 10MB should fit around 100K otherwise would take time to expand array.
  var db_size = 10 * 1024 * 1024;
  this.db = openDatabase('Circle Management' + this.dbPostfix, '1.0', 'circle-manager', db_size);
  this.initializeEntities();
};


#7 OP goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:36

Ahh i get it now, Google Plus circles.. still annoying though.

Can't see any option to increase the database size in safari? Didn't expect anything less from justanswer.com, unless i'm going blind.



#8 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 76
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 26 March 2014 - 13:23

Ah this is something that Redmak is working on. Will make sure he's aware of this thread. (Y)



#9 Redmak

Redmak

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 39
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 26 March 2014 - 14:38   Best Answer

fixed