Jump to content



Photo

SpeedFan, Core Temp or HWMonitor?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 27 March 2014 - 16:39

... and why?




#2 PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Views expressed are not necessarily those of the management

  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Over there somewhere
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: LG Nexus 4

Posted 27 March 2014 - 17:08

I ended up using AIDA64 Extreme, it's easy to use with Rainmeter.

 

Here's my sensor bar I made with both of these (I've attached the skin, it's called Black Box) :

 

35bfh38.png

Attached Files



#3 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13

Posted 27 March 2014 - 17:09

CPUZ + CoreTemp + Intel Burn Mark v2

#4 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 27 March 2014 - 20:18

I ended up using AIDA64 Extreme, it's easy to use with Rainmeter.

 

Here's my sensor bar I made with both of these (I've attached the skin, it's called Black Box) :

 

35bfh38.png

 Very nice and clean will place on my WIndows Server boxes! (homelab)



#5 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 27 March 2014 - 20:24

For temp with Core intel cpu the best one imo is RealTemp.



#6 +riahc3

riahc3

    Neowin's most indecisive member

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 09-April 03
  • Location: Spain
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: HTC Desire Z

Posted 28 March 2014 - 09:06

This topic is way too vague to give a answer.

Its like:

Topic thread: "Windows, Linux or OS X?

First post: "... and why?"

What exactly do you want or want to know from the software you listed?

#7 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 12 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 28 March 2014 - 15:22

This topic is way too vague to give a answer.

Its like:

Topic thread: "Windows, Linux or OS X?

First post: "... and why?"

What exactly do you want or want to know from the software you listed?

I feel it may not be as vague as you think.

 

A friend told me Core Temp displays the actual core temperature whereas SpeedFan displays the less-accurate socket temperature.



#8 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 28 March 2014 - 17:57

^I don't think your friend is right about that because I recall it displaying the core temperatures last I used it



#9 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 28 March 2014 - 18:08

I feel it may not be as vague as you think.

 

A friend told me Core Temp displays the actual core temperature whereas SpeedFan displays the less-accurate socket temperature.

 

the core temp will stop being reported when you unlock the cpu, hence why speedfan will display socket temp.



#10 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13

Posted 28 March 2014 - 18:43

the core temp will stop being reported when you unlock the cpu, hence why speedfan will display socket temp.

what

#11 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 28 March 2014 - 19:11

what

you can unlock deactivated cores on certain cpus,and doing this stops the core temps being reported.



#12 +_Alexander

_Alexander

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-January 13

Posted 28 March 2014 - 19:19

you can unlock deactivated cores on certain cpus,and doing this stops the core temps being reported.

That should be a rare scenario though.
I thought you meant unlock as in the multiplier.

#13 mastercoms

mastercoms

    Stop the genocide. Start the peace. Gaza 2014.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 21-May 13
  • Location: Marietta, Georgia
  • OS: W8.1U1 + Debian 7
  • Phone: Lumia 928 + WP8.1

Posted 28 March 2014 - 19:55

I would recommend hwinfo because it provides a lot of information.
http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

#14 +snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

snaphat (Myles Landwehr)

    Electrical & Computer Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 29
  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • OS: Win/Lin/Bsd/Osx
  • Phone: dumb phone

Posted 28 March 2014 - 20:35

you can unlock deactivated cores on certain cpus,and doing this stops the core temps being reported.

After looking it up briefly, it appears to me that you are referring to unlocking the cores on newer AMD chips. Those don't have per-core temps, and only a single package sensor which evidently doesn't work if unlocked (it is readable, but just garbage). I don't see why hwinfo would be any different from speedfan in this case.

 

Is there some unlocked core case with Intel chips also (since they have per-core sensors)?





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!