Jump to content



Photo

Upgrade from on-board audio on a laptop?

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 13:59

Is there any way that I can upgrade from the on-board audio on my Toshiba laptop with a 1.0 Ghz AMD CPU? The sound is incredibly tinny and I want to be able to correct that without having to get a whole new laptop if possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 



Best Answer Mindovermaster , 14 April 2014 - 14:16

You're CPU does not matter. USB works on RAM.

 

It all depends on your budget. Me personally, though, would go with Creative.

Go to the full post



#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:02

All you would be able to do is through a PCMIA (IIRC) or USB.



#3 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:05

All you would be able to do is through a PCMIA (IIRC) or USB.

 

Ok, so is there a particular USB sound card that you can recommend that would run on my 1.0 Ghz CPU in that case?



#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:16   Best Answer

You're CPU does not matter. USB works on RAM.

 

It all depends on your budget. Me personally, though, would go with Creative.



#5 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:20

You're CPU does not matter. USB works on RAM.

 

It all depends on your budget. Me personally, though, would go with Creative.

 

Oh ok, That is awesome to hear! Thank you! I will go ahead and look at some Creative products. I have always enjoyed their internal cards with my desktop computers in the past.



#6 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:30

http://uk.creative.com/p/sound-blaster

Filter by "interface" to USB, any of the 3 cheaper ones will be fine unless you want 5.1

 

Then you just need to get a nice set of speakers to go with it, again creative is very good, Logitech is also not bad if you don't want to pay a premium.

 

Can I ask what your doing on a laptop so old its only got a 1GHz CPU that requires such good sound?



#7 Reverse Engineer

Reverse Engineer

    sausage supper

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: glasgow
  • OS: win7

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:31

just to be clear...the sound is tinny even when using external speakers?



#8 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:33

http://uk.creative.com/p/sound-blaster

Filter by "interface" to USB, any of the 3 cheaper ones will be fine unless you want 5.1

 

Then you just need to get a nice set of speakers to go with it, again creative is very good, Logitech is also not bad if you don't want to pay a premium.

 

Can I ask what your doing on a laptop so old its only got a 1GHz CPU that requires such good sound?

 

I have a laptop that has only 1.0 GHz because it was a cheap Toshiba that was bought at Kmart. It was the only one that I could really afford at this point. I need it to run a sound system (playing mp3 files using a mixer and virtual dj software).


just to be clear...the sound is tinny even when using external speakers?

 

yes, that is correct. It sounds very flat and a bit distorted. My mother commented that it sounded like a harpsichord. lol



#9 Reverse Engineer

Reverse Engineer

    sausage supper

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: glasgow
  • OS: win7

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:42

that's kinda odd.  even the cheapest sound chips generally sound 'fine' using headphones / external speakers.  nevertheless, the following might be good options, especially on a budget:

 

http://uk.creative.c...-blaster-play-2

 

http://uk.creative.c...ter-x-fi-go-pro

 

http://uk.creative.c...nd-blaster-play



#10 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:49

that's kinda odd.  even the cheapest sound chips generally sound 'fine' using headphones / external speakers.  nevertheless, the following might be good options, especially on a budget:

 

http://uk.creative.c...-blaster-play-2

 

http://uk.creative.c...ter-x-fi-go-pro

 

http://uk.creative.c...nd-blaster-play

 

Yeah, I thought that was odd as well honestly. I don't know what is going on there. I will look at the suggestions that you posted to see what they look like. Thank you.



#11 bithush

bithush

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-April 14

Posted 14 April 2014 - 14:51

Strange it sounds tinny on external speakers as well. My laptop (Dell) has pretty awful speakers in the laptop but using external speakers and it sounds pretty good. I had a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go Pro External USB Soundcard but in a blind test I could not tell the difference so I returned it. Make sure you are using decent external speakers (I have some M-Audio AV-40 which sound a lot nicer than the Logitech ones I had before) and that you are using line-out.



#12 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 15:00

Strange it sounds tinny on external speakers as well. My laptop (Dell) has pretty awful speakers in the laptop but using external speakers and it sounds pretty good. I had a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Go Pro External USB Soundcard but in a blind test I could not tell the difference so I returned it. Make sure you are using decent external speakers (I have some M-Audio AV-40 which sound a lot nicer than the Logitech ones I had before) and that you are using line-out.

 

The speakers that I am using are really good actually. On other laptops, I have been able to get great sound out of them. Could this be an issue with drivers maybe? It is baffling me.



#13 Reverse Engineer

Reverse Engineer

    sausage supper

  • Joined: 15-October 06
  • Location: glasgow
  • OS: win7

Posted 14 April 2014 - 15:06

one thing to do before anything else...remove, then reinstall the audio drivers (unless you have already done this, of course).

 

http://support.toshiba.com/drivers

 

no matter the software or hardware, many problems can be resolved simply by updating / reinstalling.

 

edit:  just noticed with your last post your mind is heading down that route by itself!



#14 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 14 April 2014 - 15:09

one thing to do before anything else...remove, then reinstall the audio drivers (unless you have already done this, of course).

 

http://support.toshiba.com/drivers

 

no matter the software or hardware, many problems can be resolved simply by updating / reinstalling.

 

edit:  just noticed with your last post your mind is heading down that route by itself!

 

Ok, thank you! I appreciate it. I will give that a try as well. I had updated the drivers recently, but I haven't uninstalled the old drivers first. I will try that.



#15 OP winlonghorn

winlonghorn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-March 05
  • Location: Erie, PA

Posted 15 April 2014 - 02:02

Update: The suggestion to uninstall and reinstall my audio driver worked like a charm! Thank you!