Jump to content



Photo

IE11 and Office 2013 applications not loading

Answered Go to the full post

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 23 April 2014 - 08:49

Bit of a weird one this. About 3 weeks ago IE stop loading; the process flashes up in Task Manager but then disappears. I removed the app, rebooted, re-installed, rebooted but the same symptoms were exhibited. There's only 1 page I use IE for which is my work Lotus Notes, which now apparently works in FF so IE isn't essential, but it bugs me when things don't work.

 

Today I've tried to open Excel and Word on the same machine, and have the same symptom; process appears in Task Manager but then disappears. I've run a repair, no dice. So I removed Office 2013 and installed Office 2010 which works fine... I then removed Office 2010 and put 2013 back on, and I'm back to where I was; Word, Excel etc.. won't load.

 

Yours,

Stumped.



Best Answer bitbucket , 23 April 2014 - 08:58

Do you have malwarebytes anti-exploit installed by chance?

Go to the full post



#2 bitbucket

bitbucket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-November 01

Posted 23 April 2014 - 08:58   Best Answer

Do you have malwarebytes anti-exploit installed by chance?



#3 OP spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 23 April 2014 - 09:00

Do you have malwarebytes anti-exploit installed by chance?

 

Yes, yes I do. Is that the cause? I've stopped the protection, and IE now loads. Just re-installing Office 2013 to see if that's fixed with anti-exploit disabled...



#4 OP spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 23 April 2014 - 09:11

I've updated to the version of Malwarebytes Anti-exploit mentioned in this post, and it's all working now. Thanks for the assist.



#5 tuckeratlarge

tuckeratlarge

    You can't polish a turd

  • Joined: 10-August 04
  • Location: the wasteland of mediocrity
  • OS: Win8.1Pro - iOS7 - WP8

Posted 23 April 2014 - 10:45

Why can't all questions on here be answered like this? No 'use chrome/firefox' fanboy rants, no 'google it' pointless answers.

 

It's very refreshing and long may it continue.



#6 bitbucket

bitbucket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-November 01

Posted 25 April 2014 - 10:58

I've updated to the version of Malwarebytes Anti-exploit mentioned in this post, and it's all working now. Thanks for the assist.

 

Happy to help mate!

 

Enjoy.



#7 OP spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 02 June 2014 - 10:21

Why can't all questions on here be answered like this? No 'use chrome/firefox' fanboy rants, no 'google it' pointless answers.

 

It's very refreshing and long may it continue.

 

Amen to that :iiam:





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!