Jump to content



Photo

Minispy duplicates


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 May 2014 - 19:18

has anyone else noticed the minispy displaying a reply multiple times over the span of several minutes?

 

it's really rather annoying, i go to click back into a thread expecting new replies just to see it's the same post i saw 10, 15 minutes ago sometimes times that reply is being posted to the minispy again after longer amounts of time than even that




#2 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 02 May 2014 - 19:28

Is that not caused by people editing their posts? Think I read that in a thread a while ago but I could be wrong. 



#3 OP +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 May 2014 - 19:29

can be but people don't edit their posts 8 times in the length of 20 minutes. plus there's been no visible change in the posts. i kept a tab open on a thread that was doing it to check that possibility

 

edit: another thing. it's doing it both while i'm at work & at home so it's not a browser or cookie thing
at work i'm on latest chrome on windows 7 while at home i'm on firefox beta on windows 8.1



#4 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 02 May 2014 - 19:34

Ahh yeah, if it's that amount/frequency then it's definitely something else :p I've not noticed it but I'll keep an eye out and report back if I see it happening to me as well.



#5 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 02 May 2014 - 19:39

You mean like this screenshot?   Then yes I do.

 

 

GxJk3KV.jpg



#6 OP +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 May 2014 - 21:18

and there it's doing it again.

 

George's post for this thread just popped up in the minispy again. that post was 4 hours ago



#7 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 02 May 2014 - 21:22

I think it may be a back up on the Servers -- it can't quite keep up with the busy flood of posts, at a given time.

Let's be glad Neowin works at all. ;)

#8 Raze

Raze

    Mentally Compromised

  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Location: Third Planet

Posted 02 May 2014 - 21:33

oops you said "mimispy".  I have seen it in the minispy also.



#9 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 07 May 2014 - 15:34

Is that not caused by people editing their posts? Think I read that in a thread a while ago but I could be wrong. 

Yup



#10 +LimeMaster

LimeMaster

    LippyZillaD Council ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 07 May 2014 - 16:16

I see that none of the admins or devs have acknowledged the issue yet! :o



#11 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 83
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 May 2014 - 08:57

There are a couple of reasons for duplicates:

 

a) the server is having a mini meltdown and is recovering (auto failsafes for that)

b) the time sync is too far apart between the webservers, resulting in duplicate entries

 

The spies will be updated when we eventually get around to updating the site, and the code for it will be checked and updated to compensate for the above (possible) issues.



#12 OP +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 19 May 2014 - 15:21

it seems to be doing it again with the "Anyone getting a Google Glass?" topic

 

just saw it pop up a couple times for a post from a few hours ago

 

Capture1.PNG

 

Capture2.PNG



#13 vanx

vanx

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 14 July 2014 - 11:37

It has also happened in the mini-spy recently as per below...

LV1rWCC.jpg
 



#14 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 83
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 17 July 2014 - 10:02

Confirmed.

 

SNAG-0013.png



#15 vanx

vanx

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 21 July 2014 - 15:53

Confirmed.

 

attachicon.gifSNAG-0013.png

 

Is that a "cool, I can see it too" confirmed or "wow, that really should not be happening and I am going to whip the devs into shape about it" confirmed?