Jump to content



Photo

New build PC, no picture on the monitor. Help?

no picture new build pc gpu

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:15

Hello everyone,

 

in need of a bit of assistance with a new build, and got everything in place with the spec in the image below parts.jpg

 

turned it on and everything runs as should, however, no image on the monitor at all, with DVI or VGA.

 

any help is appreciated.

 




#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:18

Do you have the power connectors hooked up to the video card?



#3 OP snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:22

yes, both fans are running on the GPU



#4 siah1214

siah1214

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-April 12

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:22

Can you try another monitor? The one you got may be DOA. 



#5 OP snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:24

Can you try another monitor? The one you got may be DOA. 

 

tried the monitor with a different pc, it works perfectly



#6 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:28

Simple things, but are the cables seated right? Is there power going to the monitor?



#7 +rr_dRock

rr_dRock

    Resident Magical Lion v1.2

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-June 06
  • Location: Time Warp, Canadian Arctic
  • OS: Windows 7 x64, Windows 8 x64, Windows Server 2012
  • Phone: Galaxy SIV (CM11), iPhone 4S

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:29

are the video adapters enabled in BIOS? disable the local (mobo) one and see if it works.

#8 OP snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:32

are the video adapters enabled in BIOS? disable the local one and see if it works.

 

monitor doesn't register anything, including the BIOS or POST start ups, also no on board GPU

 

Simple things, but are the cables seated right? Is there power going to the monitor?

 

Power in the monitor, and all cables are pretty seated.



#9 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:51

Have you tried plugging the video card into another slot on the MB?



#10 OP snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 14:57

Have you tried plugging the video card into another slot on the MB?

 unfortunately yes, no joy with that thus far.



#11 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 03 May 2014 - 15:07

Did you try the gfx in another computer?



#12 vcfan

vcfan

    POP POP RET

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 03 May 2014 - 15:14

try to clear uefi settings. for your board
 
1.) Turn OFF the computer and unplug the power cord.
2.) Move the jumper cap from pins 1-2 ( default ) to pins 2-3. Keep the cap on pins 2-3 for about 5-10 seconds, then move the cap back to pins 1-2.
failbios_en_01.png
3.) Plug in the power cord and turn ON the computer.
4.) Hold down the < Del > key during the boot process and enter BIOS setup to re-enter data.



#13 OP snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 15:22

try to clear uefi settings. for your board
 
1.) Turn OFF the computer and unplug the power cord.
2.) Move the jumper cap from pins 1-2 ( default ) to pins 2-3. Keep the cap on pins 2-3 for about 5-10 seconds, then move the cap back to pins 1-2.
failbios_en_01.png
3.) Plug in the power cord and turn ON the computer.
4.) Hold down the < Del > key during the boot process and enter BIOS setup to re-enter data.

 

just done that for a second attempt and still nothing.



#14 Neo003

Neo003

    Those who believe in telekinetics, raise my hand.

  • Joined: 12-June 03

Posted 03 May 2014 - 15:32

1.) Check DVI or VGA Cable Pins if any of them are bend.

2.) As Mindovermaster said Try the card in different motherboard.

 

If the card works on the other system then it's your MB and if it doesn't your card is DOA.



#15 OP snugglepuffle

snugglepuffle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 05
  • Location: Southern UK

Posted 03 May 2014 - 17:28

1.) Check DVI or VGA Cable Pins if any of them are bend.

2.) As Mindovermaster said Try the card in different motherboard.

 

If the card works on the other system then it's your MB and if it doesn't your card is DOA.

 

Did you try the gfx in another computer?

 

tried the GPU in a different PC, worked fine.

 

have however since resolved the issue by switching over a PSU cable to a different one in the box and re-placing the Ram in different slots and have since resolved everything. thanks for all the help guys, very much appreciated. Just rebuilt this computer to post and let everyone who has helped know its now resolved. Thanks again :)