Jump to content



Photo

Linksys WRT1900AC Thoughts?


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 03 May 2014 - 21:52

I am going to be buying a new router soon for my new place and I am not sure what I want.

 

I was going to go for a nice design, with still being fairly high end with the DIR-868L from D-Link, but of course the new WRT1900AC came out.

 

I am still using one of the old WRT54GL routers, and loved using it. I know it does not exactly have third party firmware yet, that's of no concern. It seems to have amazing specs, but, does anyone have experience?

 

I have read reviews, they are all fairly good, just wondering if anyone here has used it, bought it? Is it worth the higher price point, or will it be worth that price point.




#2 tbarnett

tbarnett

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-January 06
  • Location: North Carolina

Posted 03 May 2014 - 22:25

the WRT1900AC is just not worth that much money.  Wait for 802.11ac to be ratified before even thinking about buying one.  It's not like your devices are using it...

 

And consider buying a router you can use DD-WRT on.  I've flashed all my routers with DD-WRT for a much better experience.



#3 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 03 May 2014 - 22:35

It all depends on what you want out of a router, or basically what you want to do with it.

If it is just a firewall & a way to connect everything - than the high end isnt needed.

If you want the best consumer stuff - I can think of 3 that are @ the top:
1.) Asus' AC router
2.) Netgear Blackhawk
3.) The Linksys you mentioned

Of course these are all the most expensive of consumer routers.

The Linksys is open source, so there is a real good chance it will be ported to DD-WRT
But, as barnett mentioned - unless you have AC or plan on doing AC - then its kinda pointless in a way.

If you plan on tweaking every config, something already ported to DD-WRT might be necessary.

However, to say something is not worth it is not something others can tell you if it is or isnt.   Only you can answer that
If $250 is no big deal for a router - then its probably worth it.
But if you are going to connect your desktop, your phone, and maybe 1 tablet or laptop in a small area - it might be overkill if $250 is above your budget...

 



#4 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 03 May 2014 - 22:57

Thanks guys on your reason to get the router, but that is not what I asked.

I was seeing if anyone here has used it and what their thoughts are. I guess they can't tell me if it's worth it or not, but they can tell me what they think of it.

 

I have the Asus AC router, and it's a dud, basically does not work, I know it's probably just the one, but I now have a  bad feeling with it so I will not get another one.

 

:)



#5 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 03 May 2014 - 23:52

I pre-ordered the WRT1900AC and have had it for a few weeks now. It is a very nice router to begin with. However, I did have a couple problems with it. I had a very hard time getting my phone to connect via wireless AC. It seemed to keep trying to connect to the AC radio via 2.4GHz causing problems. I'm not sure which device is to blame as this marks the first time I connected my phone to an AC connection. Anyway, a few wipes of the router and phone later, everything works perfectly.

 

I was very bummed when I started reading about the lackluster "open source firmware compatibility." Since the WiFi chip is made by Marvell, Linksys, and in turn, the OpenWRT developers, are having a difficult time getting the source for the driver as Marvell is known not to release them. This is the main reason DD-WRT doesn't come to a lot of routers. If they aren't Broadcom, they aren't worth trying for them. However, Linksys claims to be working with Marvell on getting them to release the source for it, and if that happens, this thing will be perfect. There have been a few builds made using the binary blobs that Linksys have supplied, but they are having WiFi connection problems. See here.

 

The router itself is great, but it can really use some third party firmware. The stock firmware is just too limiting. I'm holding on to mine in hopes that things will eventually really start rocking for this thing.



#6 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 03 May 2014 - 23:56

Awesome thanks. That is what I was looking for.

So when you say "limiting" or the stock firmware, what exactly are you referring too?

 

As for the phone, I have used my phone on AC routers, and no issue, so it may be the device, but I'd say it's the phone.

 

 

I pre-ordered the WRT1900AC and have had it for a few weeks now. It is a very nice router to begin with. However, I did have a couple problems with it. I had a very hard time getting my phone to connect via wireless AC. It seemed to keep trying to connect to the AC radio via 2.4GHz causing problems. I'm not sure which device is to blame as this marks the first time I connected my phone to an AC connection. Anyway, a few wipes of the router and phone later, everything works perfectly.

 

I was very bummed when I started reading about the lackluster "open source firmware compatibility." Since the WiFi chip is made by Marvell, Linksys, and in turn, the OpenWRT developers, are having a difficult time getting the source for the driver as Marvell is known not to release them. This is the main reason DD-WRT doesn't come to a lot of routers. If they aren't Broadcom, they aren't worth trying for them. However, Linksys claims to be working with Marvell on getting them to release the source for it, and if that happens, this thing will be perfect. There have been a few builds made using the binary blobs that Linksys have supplied, but they are having WiFi connection problems. See here.

 

The router itself is great, but it can really use some third party firmware. The stock firmware is just too limiting. I'm holding on to mine in hopes that things will eventually really start rocking for this thing.



#7 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 04 May 2014 - 02:54

Awesome thanks. That is what I was looking for.

So when you say "limiting" or the stock firmware, what exactly are you referring too?

 

As for the phone, I have used my phone on AC routers, and no issue, so it may be the device, but I'd say it's the phone.

I'm talking about the stock firmware from Linksys that ships on the router. My main problem with it is the small number of port forwarding you can do. I have a lot of devices and services that I forward to the appropriate ports and I've had to shave off about half of the lesser used ones because of the limit they put on it.

 

There's also a lot less info you can learn on stock versus what I'm used to with dd-wrt. I can't even find out what connection all my devices are using. I just have to assume my phone is connecting to AC instead of N. By the way, there is no option to force the 5.0GHz radio to be AC only. Can only set it to be N only, A/N only, or mixed (the only way to even make AC an option). Same goes for setting channel bandwidth for the radio. Can't select just 80MHz for AC connections. Only 20, 40, or auto, with auto being the only way to get 80MHz for AC connection.

 

I'm sure there are other things I'm not mentioning that have irritated me, but that's all I can think of right now. Despite these problems, I still don't regret buying it.



#8 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 04 May 2014 - 03:13

Good to know, but interested in the exact amount of forwarded ports they allow. As for now, that would actually be my only requirement, at least in terms of anything that could be missing.

 

I need at least 4.

 

 

I'm talking about the stock firmware from Linksys that ships on the router. My main problem with it is the small number of port forwarding you can do. I have a lot of devices and services that I forward to the appropriate ports and I've had to shave off about half of the lesser used ones because of the limit they put on it.

 

There's also a lot less info you can learn on stock versus what I'm used to with dd-wrt. I can't even find out what connection all my devices are using. I just have to assume my phone is connecting to AC instead of N. By the way, there is no option to force the 5.0GHz radio to be AC only. Can only set it to be N only, A/N only, or mixed (the only way to even make AC an option). Same goes for setting channel bandwidth for the radio. Can't select just 80MHz for AC connections. Only 20, 40, or auto, with auto being the only way to get 80MHz for AC connection.

 

I'm sure there are other things I'm not mentioning that have irritated me, but that's all I can think of right now. Despite these problems, I still don't regret buying it.



#9 Jeston

Jeston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 07-July 05
  • Location: Las Cruces, NM, US

Posted 04 May 2014 - 04:05

Good to know, but interested in the exact amount of forwarded ports they allow. As for now, that would actually be my only requirement, at least in terms of anything that could be missing.

I need at least 4.


There's either 12 or 16, so you're covered there.

#10 JJ_

JJ_

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-July 05

Posted 05 May 2014 - 01:37

Wait for 802.11ac to be ratified before even thinking about buying one.


It already has been.. months ago

#11 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 05 May 2014 - 05:51

I wonder if Belkin managed to take the quality back along with the asthetic.



#12 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 05 May 2014 - 11:10

I wonder if Belkin managed to take the quality back along with the asthetic.

You mean Linksys ?



#13 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 05 May 2014 - 16:40

Stay far away from all linksys models. 

 

We have 4 of the ea6900 models and all of them suffer the same issue regardless if it is on dd-wrt or the standard linksys firmware....they stop passing traffic after about a day and require a reboot to send packets again.  Oh and the dd-wrt sometimes reverts back to the linksys firmware, that's fun.  The routers are junk, we have since gone to netgear nighthawks and have been solid we have 4 of them to replace the linksys garbage, believe me it was an utter disappointment that these were garbage. 

 

read the reviews on new egg about the ea6900...it really is a piece of crap

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833124505

 

Many others stating that this needs to be restarted constantly on dslreports and other forums.  I would stay far away from the ea6900 or the ea6500.

 

The old linksys stood for quality, the new linksys stands for garbage.   I have a ea6500 first gen that behaves the same way.

 

netgear nighthawk

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833122581

 

This is the largest soho router I have come across. 



#14 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 May 2014 - 16:44

Stay far away from all linksys models. 

 

We have 4 of the ea6900 models and all of them suffer the same issue regardless if it is on dd-wrt or the standard linksys firmware....they stop passing traffic after about a day and require a reboot to send packets again.  Oh and the dd-wrt sometimes reverts back to the linksys firmware, that's fun.  The routers are junk, we have since gone to netgear nighthawks and have been solid we have 4 of them to replace the linksys garbage, believe me it was an utter disappointment that these were garbage. 

 

read the reviews on new egg about the ea6900...it really is a piece of crap

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833124505

 

Many others stating that this needs to be restarted constantly on dslreports and other forums.  I would stay far away from the ea6900 or the ea6500.

 

The old linksys stood for quality, the new linksys stands for garbage.   I have a ea6500 first gen that behaves the same way.

you do realize that the wrt1900ac is the first new Linksys model since Belkin took control of Linksys from Cisco right?

 

basically saying none of those models you listed have any basis on this new router model

 

all those bad models were from when Cisco owned Linksys

 

You mean Linksys ?

Belkin bought Linksys from Cisco. that's what he's referring to. this is their first new model since the purchase



#15 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 05 May 2014 - 16:52

Is it still on preorder?  Would like to see linksys get their quality back. 

 

Based on the previous track history of their hardware/firmware I would still not bank on them releasing a quality product.  Different owner, same name does not always equate to a better product.  cisco, in the early linksys years, did a great job with the routers...when they went to their cloud based firmware it all went to hell, not everything belongs in the cloud.