Jump to content



Photo

Time a Warner Wideband faster now?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 07 May 2014 - 21:17

Ever since I signed up for TWC Wideband, they gave me a surfboard modem. While speed tests showed 50Mbps real world use was less than stellar.nthis morning I got up and my modem was online but not giving me internet. after talking to support, they had me exchange and it got an Ubee modem and the speed test instantly jumped to around 55 and upstream about 5-6. Real world use seems stellar, everything is instant as I thought Wideband was supposed to. As anyone else with Wideband service noticed Surfboard modems to suck? This Ubee seems to have really sped things up.


#2 T3X4S

T3X4S

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-October 13

Posted 10 May 2014 - 09:03

I used to have Time Warner's 75/5 and the Surfboard 6580 I believe.  As far as speeds - I would download a torrent @ 9MB/sec.  Speedtest would show a dl speed of around 80Mbps

I didnt have any issues.  But you can buy the new version Surfboard @ Best Buy and Wal-mart with DOCSIS 3.0, they have a modem only version too if you have a separate router.



#3 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 10 May 2014 - 11:26

"noticed Surfboard modems to suck?"

 

Talk about a blanket statement with no details at all..

 

What model was your surfboard?  Not like they don't have lots of them..

 

http://en.wikipedia....ts#Cable_modems

 

Over the years I have a few different models in this line, currently using the SB6120 and have not had issue one with it.  Currently get 57/11 with my comcast blast 50/10 so no issues there.  So I don't agree with your statement at all..  Maybe if you gave the specific model you had.. Maybe it was an old docsis 2, while 2 is rated for 50ish -- it only has 1 channel up and down, while current docsis 3 have say 4x4 or 8x4, newer stuff is 16x4 channels..



#4 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 10 May 2014 - 12:03

I have brighthouse but it basically the same. and have the surfboard modem

 

best work around I found for using the modem was to put it in bridge mode and used a router. ever sense then I haven't had problems.

 

 

 

 

the problem with these modems is the firmware and that the isp provider controls it and updates it when they want to.

 

 

 

some isp will give you hard time when buying your own modem, mostly because they wont be able to charge a lease fee for the modem or be able to control the firmware.

 

they disabled the wifi on the surfboard modem the gave me. so I just use my router wifi.

 

I tried resetting the modem and it shows the wifi is active until it connects with the isp and then the settings change.



#5 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 May 2014 - 12:40

Over here in NC, I get 55-60mbps on their fastest package available.



#6 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 May 2014 - 13:34

I think it was a 6580 but I'm not positive. Speedtest.net showed the proper speeds but websites still loaded slow and Youtube buffered a lot. With the Ubee, I've noticed consistent speed and videos from Youtube no longer buffer.

 

I didn't know TW had a 75/5 service though. I thought my 50/5 service was the fastest they offered..



#7 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 10 May 2014 - 13:46

So a SBG6580, that is not really a modem its a gateway. 

 

So this modem saw packets and said oh #### those are speedtest lets make those work, but hey these are to some random website - lets drop those?  Or is it more likely there was something else going on?  Its all very well possible that something was wrong with your device - not saying there wasn't..  But the blanket statement that the whole SB line sucks is a bit over the top is the point I am trying to make. 

 

Now if you worked in installing the devices, and you from experience saw that a large number of the ones you installed failed to preform to expectations, etc.  Then ok the SB6580 is not a very good gateway.. 

 

Be like buying a 2010 ford explorer and saying that every model and make by ford sucks going back to the model T or forward to their 2015 mustang.

 

That company and that brand is one of the top players in the market with millions of devices in the field.. But yeah guess they suck ;)



#8 +dsbig

dsbig

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 10 May 2014 - 14:02

does time warner use roadrunner?

 

roadrunners servers are bad sometimes. during weekends and holidays shopping they slow down causing website to load slowly or not at all.



#9 OP +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 May 2014 - 14:05

Yes it's roadrunner, at least right now. I thought I read that Comcast bought them out. My speed is really great but after Googling I see that they started rolling out 75 and 100 MBps speeds 2 years ago. I called and they insisted that 50 was the fastest in Buffalo, NY.



#10 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 10 May 2014 - 14:28

I can't stand how these services can't balance their services throughout the nation. We pay the same price as those on the West Coast, but they're twice as fast as us.



#11 Tews

Tews

    Professional Lurker

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-October 03
  • Location: Somewhere on a beach

Posted 10 May 2014 - 14:35

I have Brighthouse (Time Warner) 100/10 and always get 104/11 :)



#12 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 10 May 2014 - 14:42

Still stuck on their crap 20/2 service. It disconnects a lot (rain/wind/snow). I had their 50/5 service, and it was just as bad, so I downgraded to 20/2. They also raised the price this year, so I'm getting extremely annoyed - $55 for 20/2 (after taxes, modem rental). I bought a Zoom modem recently, still have to get that activated (waiting to move apartments before I do that).