Jump to content



Photo

Screen saver stopped after MoBo swap.

win7

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 XChrome

XChrome

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-August 01

Posted 08 May 2014 - 03:20

So I went from a QuadCore in an Intel DG965WH to a Intel Core i7-4930K CPU in a Gigabyte X79-UD3 with all the same except the Sound Card the built in was better than my old SBLive! So after using the cmd command to inject the drivers for the new MoBo and CPU and calling MS to get my Windows 7 to say it was once again activated everything worked fine except for one thing.........the screen saver. 

 

I tried 2D, 3D, even blank and none will start. I can click the file and start it that way and it will stay till I move the mouse but it will not start on its own.

 

I tried the powercfg cmd line that shows possible items causing the system to be active and then disabling anything "active" but to no avail. I tried running sysinternals autoruns to removed stuff but still no go for screen saver. 

 

Any ideas?




#2 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 08 May 2014 - 03:48

Sounds like drivers aren't correctly installed - perhaps graphics driver?

Also, if you didn't - make sure you uninstalled your old drivers first, especially everything for the SB Live card.



#3 OP XChrome

XChrome

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-August 01

Posted 10 May 2014 - 03:03

Yeah I cleaned up all the  old drivers and I have updated both the NVidia drivers & experience software and I always choose clean install is very weird especially with the powercfg cmd to see what is "active" and then giving the command to ignore anything active.



#4 Raa

Raa

    Resident president

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 10 May 2014 - 04:12

Any chance you got a new mouse?

I had this problem when Vista came out and it was found there was a bug in the wireless mouse driver that would poll the system and prevent the screensaver from activating. (Even powercfg wouldn't override it)

 

The fix (Vista & 7) was to get a new driver from WU - worth checking just in case. (Check the optional section)





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!