Jump to content



Photo

Internet Explorer 11 Error


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 CactusZac098

CactusZac098

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-July 04
  • Location: Ft. Riley, Kansas

Posted 10 May 2014 - 21:25

I open IE11, it flashes up for a minute, closes and brings up the view downloads box and has the homepage in it downloaded.

I cannot figure out what keeps causing this.




#2 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 10 May 2014 - 22:02

Open up Internet Options from the Control Panel, and try to restore the settings in the very last tab.



#3 OP CactusZac098

CactusZac098

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-July 04
  • Location: Ft. Riley, Kansas

Posted 10 May 2014 - 22:05

Already reset and restored setting....



#4 shadowgmo

shadowgmo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-October 04
  • Location: Costa Rica
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: iPhone 4

Posted 10 May 2014 - 22:20

I got this problem in a laptop at work, I tried:

 

+Registry fixes

+64 bit IE (enhanced protected mode)

+Disabled all plugins

+Fixed html/html file association and nothing fixed it.

+Ran sfscan and it detected corrupted files but couldn't fix them.

 

You can open up IE without add ons (dont remember the command) and it will stay open but you cannot access anything else.

 

The fix was (at least for me) reimage :( I wish I knew a fix for this).



#5 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 10 May 2014 - 22:22

If you are on Windows 7, uninstall IE 11 and reinstall it.



#6 OP CactusZac098

CactusZac098

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-July 04
  • Location: Ft. Riley, Kansas

Posted 10 May 2014 - 22:38

Just did. Fixed itself.

Piece of garbage. Dunno why stuff absolutely needs IE.



#7 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 20 May 2014 - 03:24

Just did. Fixed itself.

Piece of garbage. Dunno why stuff absolutely needs IE.

 

Lazy developers, and fanboys, yes IE has them, not sure why