Jump to content



Photo

eeePC 701 Blast from the past


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 20 May 2014 - 17:08

2014-05-20 17.55.26.jpg

 

Does anyone have or remember these??

 

I got one of the VERY first ones, It was good but I gave it to my dad two years ago for use in a workshop. Listening to online radio, Google and eBay etc. The EEEOS was brilliant for this. It came back because its now asking for a password and I cant for the life of remember me what it is.

 

So my question is two fold

 

a - Does anyone have the original EEEPC OS that I could grab a copy of? the ISO would be good. Its probably burried in the bowels of the ASUS FTP site although I have looked

b - If not, What OS should I install on it? 

 

Thoughts? 


This model...

 

2014-05-20 17.55.34.jpg




#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 20 May 2014 - 17:14

Sorry no.

 

Must the photos be so huge ?



#3 devn00b

devn00b

    Bong On

  • Joined: 28-September 03
  • Location: Temecula Valley

Posted 20 May 2014 - 17:16

http://liliputing.co...c-netbooks.html

 

according to that its puppy linux

 

more info here



#4 Fahim S.

Fahim S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-April 02
  • OS: Windows 8 - OG
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4 16GB by LG

Posted 20 May 2014 - 19:11

I had one of these, an absolutely incredible machine for the money.

It started a trend of small, light and almost disposable machines.



#5 OP +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 20 May 2014 - 19:22

I had one of these, an absolutely incredible machine for the money.

It started a trend of small, light and almost disposable machines.

 

Yeah that one I queued up for it. It was THE original netbook. 



#6 SoCalRox

SoCalRox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 05

Posted 20 May 2014 - 19:35

I have the disk, but finding it won't happen easily or quickly. I still use mine on rare occasion.



#7 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 20 May 2014 - 19:36

Haha yeah I got one off a friend for £30, he'd loaded a lightweight XP install onto it and then put programs onto an 8GB SD card that was permanently in the slot. Debated putting something else on it instead but to be honest I didn't like the ridiculously tiny screen and always wanted something a little larger.

 

A daft question, I wonder if Android would work on it?



#8 OP +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 20 May 2014 - 19:40

Ive been Googling around and apparently it would. I might email the Asus CEO haha. The EEEOS was ideal for novice users. 



#9 sean.ferguson

sean.ferguson

    Anonymous

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: GNU/Linux

Posted 21 May 2014 - 20:47

I still own and use regularly my eeePC 701 4G, i upgraded it to 2Gb RAM and it runs Archlinux with DWM. The original "EeeOS" was a modified Xandros install. Personally it was terrible, hence why i upgraded to Arch through USB media. I still have the orignal cd-rom's that were supplied with it somewhere but i suggest looking at other options.

 

There are plenty of resources online that have information regarding the 701, however most of which will be hard to find with the age of the machine. It has a 900MHz Celeron inside down-clocked to 633Mhz, 4G onboard SD Drive (which makes OS choice tricky nowadays) Atheros wireless chip which is great for pentesting. However the SDCard slot most probably wont work, as there were a tremendous amount of hardware issues with it.

 

jfOfnZl.jpg

A8Kx38G.jpg

 

:)



#10 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 22 May 2014 - 20:30

Are those Sata machines? How fast do they work with an SSD?



#11 OP +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 22 May 2014 - 21:52

Yeah they do but the trouble would be fitting an SSD in it. 



#12 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 22 May 2014 - 21:55

I had a Compaq (HP) Mini that I put an SSD in, and it was lightning fast.  It ran Creative Suite like a champ.



#13 sean.ferguson

sean.ferguson

    Anonymous

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: GNU/Linux

Posted 23 May 2014 - 18:42

@ChuckFinley, they have on board SSD. There was a limited model (701 SD) which had a slot under the access panel to add an additional SSD to up the storage but i was never able to find one so had to settle for the 4G.

 

As for the performance its hard to say, you have to remember that the processor only runs at 633MHz single core, and RAM makes a difference. However, there is a few Linux scripts available to allow overclocking of the processor but i found that the fan started having a fit when i did, which resulted in using another script to control the fan speed but once set at 100% the battery life went south very quickly.

 

If you really would like to use this machine, i would suggest reading up on Arch but only looking at DWM with dmenu, or an openbox setup (DWM if you have a fair bit of linux experience and command line / Openbox if you would prefer a application menu via right-click). Dont try to get too fancy with it, its an old piece of harware but it can be used for simple functions. I would check with the hardware however via a live distribution on USB to check and see if you have the 2Gb or 4Gb SSD version. I am using 1.9G (55%) with my limited but functional Arch install.

 

Otherwise, your choices will be limited to older out-of-date eeePC specific distros which will still be functional to an extent, but may be a little harder to find on the intarweb :)



#14 sean.ferguson

sean.ferguson

    Anonymous

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: GNU/Linux

Posted 23 May 2014 - 18:52

Sorry to flood, but @ChuckFinley you may want to look at this page :)



#15 OP +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 23 May 2014 - 21:27

I just came on here to post that, I googled it! I found it. There is a source forge project hosting it. I am going to make a torrent for anyone who wants to host it after me.