Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ShadowMajestic

Reinstall loses data

5 posts in this topic

Yesterday I had my Nvidia driver crash on me 3 times within an hour. (seriously last time I ever buy a Nvidia GPU)

I decided I wanted to update them to the latest beta drivers, which are 3 points ahead and seem to promise up to 60% increased performance on some games.

But of course, Nvidia crashed during install. breaking Windows. Windows won't start because winload.exe is missing/broken. Startup repair wont fix this. And somehow I was not able to access my secondary Windows install.

 

So I had to reinstall, tried Refresh. But got the notification "Can't refresh, please unlock hdd"... wtf?

It's not a floppy disk with a trigger that tells the system its writable or not :s

 

But anywho, I still have an USB with the Win8 setup laying around so no big worry, I'll go the old fashioned way.

 

"Previous Windows files wil be put in Windows.old" okay, sounds familiar, at least I keep my data..

 

WRONG

All windows 8 saves is users folder, program files and the windows folder get deleted.

I didn't know, and this is how Windows installs have worked since at least XP, now it changed without notice... nice.

 

 

TL;DR If you reinstall Windows 8 through the setup, you will lose everything except your user folder (and cusom folder), program files, windows etc are all deleted.

 

Be warned.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just restore from your backups. :pinch:

3 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

bsod or driver crash...if bsod you may want to try cleaning your video card, it could be failing because it is gunked up  with fur. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just restore from your backups. :pinch:

Whats this backup you refer to!?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

WRONG

All windows 8 saves is users folder, program files and the windows folder get deleted.

I didn't know, and this is how Windows installs have worked since at least XP, now it changed without notice... nice.

 

 

TL;DR If you reinstall Windows 8 through the setup, you will lose everything except your user folder (and cusom folder), program files, windows etc are all deleted.

 

Be warned.

 

No idea how that happened to you. I installed 8 on top of 8, and it basically kept everything in the Windows.OLD folder. Even after installing 8.1 afterwards, it still kept the old things in Windows.OLD. Perhaps you've hit a bug?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.