Jump to content



Photo

Intercom Phone System To Cellphone


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,737 posts
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 May 2014 - 03:56

I just moved into a new Condo and they have an intercom system for the door.

 

I asked them about it and sadly, it's not based on a number. So there is no way to give a cell number or similar.

 

It just requires a phone to be plugged into the landline. I am not sure what that kind of system is called.

 

So I am wondering if there are any devices, or anything I can do/get to allow it to go to my cellphone?

 

I really don't want to get a home phone, have one sitting around just for that. I hate having extra crap.

 

So, anyone know of any solutions? Maybe some kind of box/device that plugs into the phone outlet (like ontop, replaces the default outlet) and sends the signal to my phone? Your may now say, so you want a device plugged into the outlet that isn't a phone? No, my suggestion would basically be hidden, replacing what is there, instead of a phone sitting there. Does that make sense? I don't think there is such a thing, but thought I'd ask.

 

Any ideas?




#2 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 25 May 2014 - 04:26

I haven't actually used a system like this as none of my apartments have ever had it. I will guess that it works by placing a phone call to this phone and then you punch in a code? 

 

If so, I would guess something like this Cisco Gateway would accomplish the task. Allowing you to connect to a SIP gateway and then forward from that gateway onto your cell. A pretty complicated setup if you ask me, but I can't think of an overall simpler one (you can come up with different component mixes, but you still need to grab a simulated PSTN call then forward it onto a PSTN line without phone service in place to leverage)...

 

It would likely be a lot easier to just tell guests to call you when they arrive? And you can walk down and grab them or just pick up a cheap old school phone for a couple of bucks and let that be that...



#3 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,737 posts
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 May 2014 - 16:50

Wow,

 

That does seem complicated and not even sure that would work with this system. I don't know the details, all I know it needs a phone plugged in, no phoneline, just a phone for it to work.

 

Yea, I think I am going to have to just put up with having an extra device sitting around I don't want. It's fine for family and friends to message me when they are here, deliveries and other things are a bit more of a hassle.



#4 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • 7,358 posts
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 25 May 2014 - 17:46

Write your phone number on the front door.



#5 Crimson Rain

Crimson Rain

    Neowinian

  • 1,194 posts
  • Joined: 29-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Yellow

Posted 25 May 2014 - 17:47

Write your phone number on the front door.

:rofl:



#6 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • 8,366 posts
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 25 May 2014 - 17:52

Write your phone number on the front door.

 

LOL

 

 

 

Anyway, there are systems that allow you to use your app via smartphone which you can be notified by the intercom/doorbell.



#7 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,737 posts
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 25 May 2014 - 18:08

uh what? Examples?

 

 

LOL

 

 

 

Anyway, there are systems that allow you to use your app via smartphone which you can be notified by the intercom/doorbell.



#8 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • 8,366 posts
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 25 May 2014 - 18:44

It was mentioned on TV years ago.. but I couldn't remember the name of it.



#9 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • 62,532 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 25 May 2014 - 23:51

Get 2 megaphones ...?

#10 Crimson Rain

Crimson Rain

    Neowinian

  • 1,194 posts
  • Joined: 29-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Yellow

Posted 26 May 2014 - 04:30

It is possible with SIP phones and PBX so you will get "calls" to Skype...but overly complicated for this task.